We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very positive experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Vaughan, Canada
1 review
“A very positive experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2014

We (a family of 4: 2 kids, 1 six year, one 1-yer old) stayed there August 31-September 2 2014. We had a generally very positive experience. Perhaps the most remarkable aspect of our stay was the quality hot breakfast: really high quality, and staff in charge was most helpful. Other staffs too were friendly. The hotel itself straddles Lakes Simcoe and Couchiching, and is located within walking distance from one of the beaches. The only negatives were that I found the internet connect slow, and when we had a complain about one of the beds in our rooms and reported to front desk, nothing was done. The gym, though small is in very great condition. If I am in the neighborhood, I will strongly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you Ala A for your response. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for letting us know about the other bed in your room. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    138
    58
    14
    4
See reviews for
80
186
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
waterloo
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2014

The hotel is right by a nice park and beach, great for walks!
Check in was interesting as they could not initially find the reservation and recommended checking the other Best Western in town. Eventually, the reservation was found.
The room was well appointed with a kitchen bar and fireplace. Shower head left a little to be desired, breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edulinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you Don D for your review. We appreciate the feedback. I would be curious to know what was wrong with the shower head? We have brand new showerheads with 3 different settings. I am glad that we were able to find your reservation....sometimes names can be reversed and we do own another Best Western Hotel in town and quite often guests show up at the wrong hotel. We look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed at this Best Western as we were going to see Bill Cosby at Casino Rama. Location is great, just a short drive from the casino. Lots of parking, although parking lot could be better lit at night. Front desk staff was very welcoming and helpful with directions. Room was updated, spacious, quiet and had everything we needed. Breakfast was fine, not overly crowded as we had expected since it was a long weekend. The only problem we encountered was that when we pulled back the comforter on one of the beds, we found the bottom sheet was badly stained. Not sure how this was overlooked by the housekeeping staff. It was late, after midnight, so we didn't feel like we could have called the front desk to request clean sheets. Luckily there were 2 queen beds and the other was fine. Lesson learned - we should have checked upon arrival.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djfan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you djfan88 for your review. We always welcome the feedback. We certainly are very sorry about your stained sheet experience. We would have taken care of it right away if you would have given us the opportunity...thank you for letting me know. I will inform the Executive housekeeper and discuss it in our next staff meeting later this week. We look forward to seeing you back in Orillia soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2014

overall very satisfied with this hotel. close to casino rama, just 5 minutes away. facilities were clean and functional. we'd reccomend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. extra parking would be nice as it was tight at the end of the night to find a space.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank you Terry H for your review. We are glad that you were satisfied with your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed in 2-store section there on Aug 21st night for Deep Purple concert at casino parks, etc - it was our 1st stay in Orillia. They provide mini-bus to casino Rama for $7/person rouRama. Parking is included. You'll get internet access code when checking in; check-in was fast and girls are very pleasant and helpful - we had some question as where to go for lunch/beers, nearest parks, etc. They provide a mini-bus for $7 roundtrip to Rama, so you may enjoy drinks and feel safe. The interiors look dated, but we kinda like these types of hotels as far as they clean, and all is in working order. Our room was clean, quiet, plenty of towels, beds ARE very comfortable, mini-fridge, safe box, MW oven, coffeemaker (4 Starbacks coffee packs supplied). Bathroom is clean, shampoo/soap dispensers. Some drawbacks worth mentioning, as these can be easily fixed by hotel management :TV works channels are limited - mostly shopping channels, only one 450 ml bottle of drinking water in the fridge, I'd expect at least 2 as there are 2 beds in the room, AC unit works fine BUT there is some yaky looking stuff keeps shooting out of it - looks like flakes of old dust accumulated on the inside filter/grill, not very pleasant with your bed staying next to that 'fountain'.
Continental breakfast served 7-10 am - is very decent, we didn't see any line-ups and the staff ladies are very friendly; we made waffles for ourselves on this ancient waffle machine there - delicious and funny experience too. Recommended for kids.
Overall - we'd definitely stay there again(coming in Oct for the PinkFloyd show) even thou I feel the pricing's being at least half-star over. But we'd look for something else if we plan to stay longer than 1 night.

Additional notes, not related to the hotel: WildWing is 10 min pleasant walk along the landings; we went to Narrows after dinner and it was beautiful. There is a nice park nearby with paved trails and lots of people jogging and rollerblading there. To Orillia downtown it's just 10 min drive; they have plenty of free parking available close to docs (Front St & Mississauga St intersection) , boat cruise runs once a day at 2:30 pm and the line starts building up from 10 am. Farmer's market on weekend, nice walking trails further along the lake.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is quiet at the end of the corridor (toward Narrows)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passedforgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank you passedforgal for your review. Sounds like you were able to enjoy the amenities of the hotel, Casino Rama, nearby park, and downtown Orillia. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you back in October!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Hotel itslef is the better of th two BW properties in Orillia. I is a little out of the way if you wish to use the downtown core shops. The parking lot needs repair as there are big potholes and puddles. Parking is limited by the access doors. The room itself was comfortable but the channel selection provided did not match the channels advertised on the room card. I asked at front desk but was told they knew that and were sorry.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank you Andrew C for your review and for letting me know about the pot holes in the parking lot at the restaurant next door...I will let them know. Also, we are in the process of changing our cable over to a new system. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Orillia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed two nights during a baseball tournament. Always love a hotel with buffet breakfast incl plus fridge in room. Lots of food and selection at breakfast and super nice staff. Lots of families with kids on a summer weekend so not your place if you want quiet. Close to awesome public park and waterfront plus quaint downtown. Only downside was cost - almost $200 per night!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheGoMama5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank you OnTheGoMama5 for your review of the hotel. We are glad that you and your baseball team enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Yes, Tudhope Park right next door is a beautiful park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
2.7 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
529 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
202 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Days Inn - Orillia
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#12 of 14 in Orillia
222 reviews
3.2 mi away
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
Address: 440 Couchiching Point Road, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6P8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Couchiching Hotel Orillia
Best Western Orillia
Orillia Best Western
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing