We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved my stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here while visiting the area for the first time from the States. I found the staff to be extremely welcoming and helpful. The parking lot and general area were well-lit and safe. I received a room on the second floor right off of the lobby. I was told there was no elevator for this section. You just had one short flight of stairs-and no waiting for elevators. Which was fine with me as I only had one bag. There was a little community room at the top of the stairs, a few doors down from my room with a desktop computer. It was very convenient for me since I was travelling without my laptop. The room was spotless, had a fridge, coffeemaker and very comfortable bed. The decor was attractive and the housekeeping did a great job keeping it clean and stocked. The free breakfast was excellent! Lots of hot and cold choices, make your own waffles and Starbucks coffee! The bkfst area was very comfy and the woman running it took real pride in her work and keeping us happy. Very comfortable stay and quiet night's sleep. I would recommend it and would return. Wish they could all be like this!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryBCNortheastPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigMusil, General Manager at Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a complimentary review.

I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts.

It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I am very grateful you took the time to let us know of your satisfaction.

Please come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 458 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have never been inclined to wrtie a review for a hotel, but after my experience with Craig Musil (General Manager) at the Best Western Couchiching Inn I felt compeled to do so. For the past 10 years anytime I have visited Orillia I have almost always stayed at this hotel. On my last trip, I encountered an employee who was beyond rude - this is not meant to be a reflection of the hotel staff or the individual (everyone has bad days). I spoke with Craig and explained my negative encounter with the employee. He provided a very sincere apology and also gave me two free rooms whenever I would like them - I am using them this weekend, which was also very nice of him to accomodate as I'm sure the March Break is a very busy time for the hotel. I cannot say enough about Craig Musil - he is a genuine, honest and kind business man who sincerely cares about the quality of service his guests receive at his hotel. The hotel itself is extremely nice as the decor, rooms, facilities, staff and location are all wonderful. To anyone who is thinking of going to Casino Rama or the Orillia area I would reccomend this hotel and no other. I have stayed once at the Casino Hotel and the Days Inn across from it - both of which I regret. The Days Inn does not compare to the Best Western Couchiching and the Casino hotel is not worth the money it costs to stay there. Thanks again Craig - it's nice to know there are still people of integrity that truly care about their customers in the business world today.

Sincerely, Ben from Brampton, ON

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigMusil, General Manager at Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words on Trip Advisor. I hope your stay this past weekend was an enjoyable one. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in Orillia. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CraigMusil, General Manager at Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

A good night's sleep and friendly staff made for a positive review. Our non smoking floor had an odor of cigarette smoke which was surprising. The breakfast buffet was pretty good! Great orange juice and Starbucks coffee. Bed was very comfortable! But the noise from the hallway was sometimes loud. Overall, we would stay there again :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktravel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigMusil, General Manager at Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review about our property. We appreciate the time it takes to write about your experience. I'm glad your had a great time and the service was great! Thank you for your feedback it helps us improve our services. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went to Orillia with Family for A weekend.Had never been this far up in Northern Ontario,before.

Did not know what to expect from the property and it was nothing special about this hotel.

Had a major problem with the Room as we could not adjust the settings in the room.The fan ran all night and could not turn the the temperature.Room was hot and dry.we had a horrible night sleep.
The Bistro staff was very pleasant.Breakfast staff was truly amazing.if it was not for the Breakfast staff Jessica and Kevin,it would of been a Horrible experience.
Breakfast is ok. One challenge we had was coffee and tea was included,hot chocolate was an additional cost for the children.

Staff was extremely friendly!

Room Tip: Make sure thermostat is working properly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuroraAurora_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigMusil, General Manager at Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay! Your feedback is always valuable to us to improve our services. I apologise that you had some difficulty with the Thermostat. Please be sure to give front desk a call if you have any questions about using any equipment in the room.

Thank you for letting me know about the great service from Kevin and Jessica in the breakfast area! It is always great to hear about staff going above and beyond.

We really appreciate your feedback thanks again for taking the time to let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Wanted to get away for the weekend, not too far from home and went to this hotel. The staff and customer service is outstanding!!!! There is a shuttle bus to and from the casino at a very minimal price. Nice sized rooms, clean and also included a fireplace, fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The breakfast was really great too-eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit etc. which is also very much appreciated since we didn't really want to go out of the hotel for breakfast. Always enjoy Best Western Hotels!!!!!

Room Tip: Not sure of pool or spa, since we were there for one night and didn't have the interest in one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishlady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigMusil, General Manager at Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you very much for writing about your recent stay! Sounds like you had an excellent time! The spa area is very nice and relaxing so maybe next time you will have the time to enjoy. Just so you know there is no pool. Thanks again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We found the room to be very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. We did not eat there, this trip, so I can't really comment on the Restaurant. However, we have eaten there in the past (about 5 years ago)and it was very good. We only stayed the one night, but would have not had a problem staying longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigMusil, General Manager at Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

We appreciate your kind comments. Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor. Please do come stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
2.7 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
592 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection
2.9 mi away
Days Inn - Orillia
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#13 of 14 in Orillia
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel

Address: 440 Couchiching Point Rd, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6P8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range: $123 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Couchiching Hotel Orillia
Best Western Orillia
Orillia Best Western
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing