We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unplanned Awesomeness”
Review of Thai Plate

Thai Plate
Ranked #7 of 156 Restaurants in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: "New in Orillia, has a parent restaurant in Dundas or Toronto".
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unplanned Awesomeness”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

My husband and I were spending our anniversary weekend up in Orillia and stumbled upon Thai Plate. It's very no frills, however the food (which matters most) was incredible! My husband ordered a meat dish and I ordered vegetarian and both thoroughly enjoyed our dishes. I would absolutely return!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happygirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    60
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredible!!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Service is phenomenal! The waiters/waitresses are so helpful, polite and kind.
Spring rolls are the best Ive tasted! The buffet is totally worth it.
Will go back again and again!

Helpful?
Thank FroYoAddiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiny, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous Thai Food!!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

My wife and I LOVE Thai Plate, we've been there a number of times for the Friday lunch buffet. I recommend getting there as early as possible, it's not a huge restaurant, and it fills up quickly for the buffet.
The Mango Salad is excellent, and the Spring Rolls are probably the best I've ever had! Let's see, what else? Oh, the Cashew Chicken, and there are a few curry dishes. Really, you can't go too far wrong with anything on that buffet! We will definitely be making that part of our visits to Orillia.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy Thai in Orillia”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food, very good food and good portions. The washrooms could be cleaner though.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Thai!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I didn't realize that we had such a good Thai restaurant in Orillia. Having tried most of the best Thai in Toronto, I was very happy to have found Thai Plate. The food was excellent and the Thai staff very pleasant. I mostly stick to ordering the Pad Thai and either the Green Coconut Curry Chicken or Panang Chicken. Check it out, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusty157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thai Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing