We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order the RIB STEAK”

Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro
Ranked #8 of 151 Restaurants in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian, Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Order the RIB STEAK”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were here several weeks ago - we ordered the Escargot, Rib steak and a tenderloin steak.

The Escargot - This was not what we are used to but great for someone that is trying escargot for the first time. It was served with a pile of melted cheese on top which made it hard to even taste the escargot.

The Rib Steak - Was excellent with the wine reduction sauce, definatly a must have again and again!

The Tenderloin- Was good if you didn't try the Rib Steak first lol Definatly didn't live up to the Rib Steak.

Grape and Olive is always great we are frequent diners here. We were a little upset that they did change the duck on their menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 19kimberly86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigMusil, General Manager at Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you 19Kimberly86 for your review. Glad that you were bale to try a new dish for the first time. Yes, we do make a few changes to our regular menu once a year in the Spring and offer many theme menus throughout the year. We look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    54
    12
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waubaushene, Canada
2 reviews
“Amazing food, great service and a beautiful atmosphere!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is one of the finest in the area! I recommend to all of you! The food is absolutely amazing, the servers are great and the dining room sets the mood for anything! Husbands, boyfriends, bring your ladies here!!!

Helpful?
Thank cody z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigMusil, General Manager at Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you Cookz13 for your feedback on our food and service. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Here for a performance at Casinorama. Food is high quality / chef grade. Katelyn made me a special martini of her invention (banana cream pie) - not usually into martini's, loved it. I would come here again the next time there is a show in town.

Helpful?
Thank Slimmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigMusil, Manager at Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you Simmonkey for your nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed yourself and that you will be back to see us again soon....looking forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Food good, service okay.”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We went back for a second time because my husband really enjoyed the burger we had at the bar one time. The waitress was okay, not great. After trying to upsell us on the wine deal, which we didn't want, she basically lost interest in us. Brought me the wrong salad (a much bigger and twice as expensive one) I ordered a side and got a regular sized one. Someone else delivered our bread, water refills, appetizers and meals. Our waitress did come and ask my husband if he wanted ketchup, but didn't ask us how our meals were. We saw her next when she brought the bill. I felt like I was at a car dealership, hearing the prices of everything - if this restaurant is trying to be fine dining it falls really short. The food is decent, but the atmosphere and the service are more on par with a diner or bar.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CorinneOrillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigMusil, Manager at Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you CorinneOrillia for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your food and hope that you give us the opportunity again to improve on service. I have brought your concern to the Dining Room manager's attention. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the Best in the Area”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Yes, we went during the area's restaurant promotion so the dinner was priced lower than what would normally be expected but we find this restaurant one of our favourites during these times. It has sufficient choice, well presented, tasty, somewhat unique for the area eateries. The portions were very good considering it was a special, not always found at other area restaurants during these promotions. When asked how everything was and we commented on the bread pudding being a little hard, the waitress was most appreciative of our feedback and offered us an alternative which we did not considered necessary. The service has been very good on the different occassions we have been there but it has not been overly busy at those times. The ambience was pleasant. At times there has been live music. Overall a lovely evening out dinning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doniwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigMusil, General Manager at Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your dinning experience. We really appreciate the time it takes to write a review. Your feedback is very valuable to us because it helps us improve our services and amenities. Thank you again and please come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing