We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro
Ranked #6 of 163 Restaurants in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian, Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Went with a group for a Christmas celebration and was sadly disappointed. Food was average, service was slow and it wasn't busy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AEM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigMusil, General Manager at Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We appreciate it when customers make us aware of their perception of the manner in which they were treated while in our establishment. Please accept our sincerest apology for any trouble or inconveience we have caused you. Again, we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. We value you as a customer and hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 198 of 242 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were visiting the area from the states and just did a random search on the nav system. This restaurant came up and we decided to give it a try. When we saw it was inside of a Best Western we got a little nervous but when we walked in the decor was nice. Our meal was fantastic and the service was very good. The chef absolutely knows what he is doing. Comparable to any restaurant I have eaten at anywhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank osceola84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigMusil, General Manager at Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for trying our restaurant I'm glad you were pleasantly surprised about your experience. Please do come visit us again if you are back in the Orillia area. I hope your trip to Canada was an enjoyable one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We are new to Orillia, and yesterday, we went to this restaurant for the first time. It is difficult for me to eat out at the best of times because I have an extensive food intolerance list. We called in advance to ask for recommendations from the menu that could be "tweeked" so I could eat them and they offered us several options. When we arrived, the table was already set up for us, and both the chef and head waitress came to greet us. The chef looked at my allergy list, and said no problem! And so it was...I had a real salad, with many fine and tasty ingredients and a divine dressing freshly made. It was as if I had made it at home, and it certainly was not just lettuce, It came with a huge piece of salmon, grilled to perfection. I highly recommend this place if you have food allergies. The chef was super. It gets my rave review and I'll definitely return here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NatureNewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigMusil, General Manager at Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for writing about your experience on Trip Advisor. It sounds like the Chef and Head Waitress took very good care of you and I couldn't be more happier about your comments. Thank you so much for letting us and potential guests know about the wonderful service you experienced. It means a lot to me and my staff. We hope to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Hurray! There's a new chef at Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro, and the food has vastly improved since the last time I dined there. At that time, I panned the bistro. Now I am happy to report that the new chef knows how to cook: lightly flavoured soups, stuffed chicken breasts and lovely pastry and fruit desserts. Congratulations. The bad news is that the old chef is still in Orillia, and I've heard unflattering things about the food at his new venue on Front Street. Tant pis.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rae F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigMusil, General Manager at Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for giving us another chance and writing about it on Trip Advisor! We are very pleased to win back a customer. Thank you for taking the time to share. We appreciate your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Once again, visiting from UK and this was top of our list from last time. Totally awesome brunch, lovely friendly staff - do not miss this one its great. Our bill for 3 plus chocolate milks x4, coffees and juice just $67!!! Will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigMusil, General Manager at Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Oh wow you travelled a long way to have our brunch! ha ha. Thank you very much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing