We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Sunday brunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro

Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro
Ranked #8 of 152 Restaurants in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Canadian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Brilliant Sunday brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Visited Feb 12th 2012 with husband and son, brilliant brunch. Had a real feast of sausages scrambled eggs and bacon, followed by smoked slamon, large prawns (shrimp to those of you on this side of the ocean) and salads, moved onto pastries and finished with strawberries dipped in chocolate with waffles and cream - absolutely excelelnt! Would heartily recommend. I think we paid around $16.95 and found to our immnse surprise that this appeared to include our drinks of coffee and chocolate milks too!
Had a freshly cooked area which did crepes and omlettes (even could have had them flamed in brandy) and also a hot roast beef and vegteable section too.
Do yourself a favour and go.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven O, Manager at Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments on our brunch. You made me hungry reading it. I will definately pass along the compliments to our kitchen and service staff. I'm glad your family had such a wonderful experience and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    53
    11
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

During a recent stay in Orillia, we stopped by the Grape and Olive for dinner. When we walked in, we were pleasantly surprised by the decor, not what you usually expect from tired 'hotel' restaurants. Our party of six was quckly greeted and seated at a wonderful table. From the food, quality, price and exceptional service, you would have thought we were at a fine dining establishment in downtown Toronto.

It is worth the drive to Orillia to dine at the Grape and Olive and we will definately be back!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lolainthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven O, Manager at Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at the Grape & Olive. We will be posting your wonderful comments for all of our staff to see. Our dedicated staff appreciates your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant at Average Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

I recently stayed at the Best Western Mariposa Inn in Orillia, and was pleasantly surprised to find such an upscale restaurant attached.

At the time the Barrielicious festival was on, and the restaurant had an extra menu for that event that looked wonderful. There was a choice of appetizer, main, and dessert, all for $25. The choices were mouthwatering, which made my decision all the more difficult, as the regular menu included rack of lamb, one of my favourites.

I chose the lamb, and I was not disappointed. It was exquisite! It came with vegetables and potato croquettes, which were divine. Their wine list was also very good, and I was able to get a glass of a very good rosé, which many restaurants don't stock.

The service was excellent, and when I explained my food dilemma to the server she immediately understood as she had sampled the lamb herself and knew that it was delicious, as were the Barrielicious specials. A server should sample the menu items for this very reason.

Overall, an excellent restaurant, and if I lived in Orillia I would be a frequent patron.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank LadyoftheCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven O, Manager at Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for your recent review for The Grape & Olive Wine & Martini Bistro. We are very happy you had such a great experience and will share your positive comments with our service and kitchen staff. Barrielious was such a great success and we plan on contributing to it each year. Thanks again for your kind words we appreciate the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“probably a good chief!!! nice atmosphere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

wait staff seem preoccupied or just plain slow lack enthusiam

Helpful?
Thank kellyz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven O, Manager at Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We do appreciate all feedback and will share your comments with our staff. We do apologize that we did not exceed your expectations of our establishment. Please know that we do take your comments to heart and will be investigating the issue at hand. Thanks again we appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orillia
1 review
“Sastifying”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

The Bar was very well equiped , the choices for Martini's were excellant and the bar person was extremely pleasant

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank william c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven O, Manager at Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you so much for you comments! We are very happy you enjoyed your martini's at the Grape & Olive. Our dedicated staff appreciates your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Grape and Olive Wine and Martini Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing