We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can do better than this place”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Reviewed May 23, 2010

The room was just ok, white towels that were old and grey, non-smoking room with a blanket with cigarette burn, and the other blanet with a big hole in it. No hair dryer, no remote for TV, and no microwave as was advertised.
The contential breakfast was a joke, hope you like donuts for breakfast, when I asked if there was any cereal, then said No, its a contential breakfast, well I call that a coffee break and not a breakfast, look what other places offer, much more.
Anyway do yourselves a favorite, spend a few dollars more, and get a much nicer place.
Also the beds were very uncomfortable, well worn.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quest88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 234 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2010

Stopped for a night because of an acceptable rate. Bright and visible front made it easy to locate. Front desk service was fast and friendly. Key cards got messed up and had to go down to rescan. The room was decent but was a bit dark with full lighting on. Bathroom was clean but the carpet wasn't fully vacuumed. Furniture was arranged in a strange way (fridge, microwave, a couch - single piece, were in the opened cloth hanging area). Continental breakfast was a disaster - offered coffee and bread only.

Overall, a decent lodge with an acceptable rate. Forget continental breakfast since there are numerous fast food restaurants within the walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

I organized a group stay at the Econo Lodge in Orillia Nov 2009. Origianally the target Hotel for this team of 12 old boys was a hotel with a pool. Well, they were all booked up and we looked to the Econo Lodge Orillia. The staff couldn't have been more accomodating. or sweeter. They recognized the "special needs" of Hockey parents and kids and communicated calmly if their were any issues from the boys play. Not only was this hotel an economical choice but it was centrally located around family restaurants, bowling alley and movie theater. Rooms were basic but clean. Small fridge, Micowave and limited continental breakfast were a huge plus. It would not be my choice for that special weekend getaway. Towels were in short supply.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Team-Parent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Spend the extra $20, save yourself the grief and stay elsewhere...the list of deficiencies are too long to post here, but black mold, dirty bedding, carpets, bathrooms , mirrors, sums it all up!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GramsyNewLiskeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Dirty, horribly dirty. Ripped blankets, stained sheets, dirty towels and vomit stains on the ceiling are only some of the things you have to look forward to when staying at econo lodge motels. The cleaning staff, if they have one, does a terrible job, crumbs from breakfast one morning still appearing they next day after cleaning staff should have vacuumed. The front desk staff is hardly present taking 15 minutes to find a clerk to check out, It was a nightmare for my staff which was sent to Orillia for a seminar. Never will we use econo lodge again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnieclydeOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

The Hotel is older and has been updated on the cheap.

There is virtually no privacy if you are the first floor since there is only one layer of drapes. The rooms on the first floor have access from the interior hallway but also have key card swipe locks on an exterior door We stayed in room 135 which is on the back of the hotel at least and faces some trees and a residential back yard. As a plus we were able to park our car directly infront of our room.

We did not do anyting other than sleep in our room. The bed was comfortable but the fitted sheets were too tight for the mattress and came off complely as we slept.

We stayed here only because it was the hotel that our family had booked for us, along with other members of our family in town for a family event. We felt we would stay there again though, as the hotel is in close proximity to donut shops, conveience stores, a Mcdonalds a Burger King and a Pizza Hut and a Bowling Alley. All of which could be walked too.

A couple families had small dogs with them, the hotel is pet friendly

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alecandjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

this hotel was not very good at all...
the door to the outside parking lot only locked some of the time, so we couldn't use it as an exit... we had to walk through the hotel .
the room smelled terrible
the bed was hard as were the pillows.
the sheets were old and gray .
the bathroom wasnt too bad except for it had never been cleaned behind the door
the one good thing was the friendly service at the front desk

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orillia hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knights Inn Orillia
Knights Inn Orillia
#7 of 14 in Orillia
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
1.3 mi away
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
2.1 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 265 Memorial Ave, Orillia, Ontario L3V 5X8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Orillia
Price Range: $58 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Orillia
Econo Lodge Orillia, Ontario
Orillia Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing