We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation”
Review of Fern Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fern Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Fern resort is a great place for a family vacations. There are lots of activities for the young ones and most are done through a supervised program so mom and dad can get in some of their own fun as well such as kayaking or paddle boarding or just relax by the pool. The meals are very good and there is a children's buffet so little ones don't have to wait for meals to be served.
The rooms in the fireside building are very comfortable and quiet. Overall the resort is very nice although some of the buildings are older but well maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you for posting your comments and thank you for staying with us at Fern Resort. Kids of all ages genuinely love our supervised activity programs. These programs and traditional resort facilities used to be the cornerstone of the Ontario resort-vacation product. At one time the lakes and rivers of Northern Ontario where dotted with traditional resorts offering this type of product. Over time the landscape and the product offering has slowly changed and it has become hard to find this family friendly type of vacation in Ontario. Here at Fern, our all-inclusive packages with supervised activity programs, delicious meals, nightly entertainment and use of the facilities allow our guests to pay one upfront price and then simply enjoy their vacations. Whether you enjoy the climbing wall and extreme area with paintball, or go paddle boarding or canoeing on the waterfront, there is no additional charge. Golfing, tennis, mini putt, zip line, bikes and bike trails … the list of complimentary facilities goes on and on. Did I mention you don't pay for any of the above? Finding a vacation destination that truly has something for everyone at all ages is difficult in today's market. I guess this is why our guests loyally return summer after summer.

Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 308 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

Pioneer Craftsmen celebrated our 60th anniversary at the Fern and what a fantastic weekend! All forty of our staff and their families enjoyed great hospitality, great food, atmosphere and picturesque grounds. Many of us thought celebrating 60 years was an accomplishment, but for the Fern to be hosting families and friends since 1895 is truly amazing.
Our rooms were clean and bright and certainly paid tribute to the history of the Resort. The staff was enthusiastic about everything, and customer service was exceptional. The historical buildings and natural environment make Fern a great place to visit, but it was really the cheerful smiling staff who made our weekend so memorable. It was fun for all ages - lots to do for the kids and the adults! A great experience!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Congratulations Pioneer Craftsmen on your 60th anniversary, and thank you for allowing us to be a part of the celebration! Thank you for the wonderful comments and accolades in your review; they are truly humbling. Customer Service is the most important part of what we do and we are fortunate enough to have a management team that has a true desire to have fun and create an atmosphere that is fun and friendly for our guests. Our staff are always willing to go the extra mile in the name of customer service as well. It's something that is in the culture of Fern Resort and permeates into the excellent staff we hire. It takes the entire team to create and maintain an atmosphere that is fun, friendly, comfortable, safe and professional.
Thanks again for your comments and I hope to see the great people from Pioneer Craftsmen again for the next milestone!

Coridally,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We enjoyed the Fern Resort very much! It had everything we needed! The service and hospitality was awesome - small town and personal. The outdoor activities were a plenty and they had something for everyone! Can't wait to plan another work function at The Fern Resort!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you for staying with us here at Fern Resort. Off-site business meetings and Fern Resort are the perfect mix of business and pleasure! Glad you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to the next work function at Fern Resort. We look forward to having you back again soon.

Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The Fern was a great place to have our 3 day business meeting & team building event. The hotel staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The activities we planned were wonderful, Mike took great care of us. I would come back with my family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us for the meeting and conference side of the business! Fern Resort, along with the Conference Centre at Fern, has been providing exceptional value for small and medium sized groups, associations and companies alike that want to come together for a very results-oriented, off-site meeting. Fern provides an atmosphere that is very conducive to bringing a team to the next level and allowing them to know one another's strengths and challenges. Similar to our rate structure for leisure guests, packages for meeting or group stays include all the meals, meeting rooms, meeting snacks, activities and accommodations in order to make the planner’s job that much easier.
Whether you’re here leisure or business, you are closer at Fern.

Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have spent our week end at Fern Resort and we have had a fabulous time with our grand daughter. The grounds are impeccably kept, our rooms were clean and neat, the food at the restaurant excellent. The staff is helpful and very friendly. Our grand daughter had lots of fun as the resort offers a variety of choices for activities, from kid friendly swimming pools to paddle boating , trampoline and zip line, just to name few. I have to add to all of this the picturesque situation of this resort on the lake. Not very far from Toronto, with first class services, decent prices this is a place not to be missed all year around. We will come back. We promise.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank anaanca2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for your comments from your recent stay with us here at Fern Resort. Getting away with a young one can be a challenge and difficult to kept them entertained and busy. Here at Fern we do pride ourselves on providing a getaway that will have something for everyone. Whether you are here in the summer season with our extensive activity programs, kids clubs and full resort facilities, pre or post summer, and even in the winter, Fern is the perfect spot for a family getaway. Our dining room offers a great selection of entrees and menus that change each day. Whether it's prime rib, vegetarian meals, or even gluten free, we can accommodate you.
Thanks again for your comments here on TripAdvisor and thanks for coming up to see us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Coridally,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have stayed at the Fern several times over the years and have found it to be a very relaxing, friendly and even pampering experience. this is a resort that dates back many years and it has matured well and benefits from the experience of making guests feel special and part of the family. For many it has been a family tradition and a home away from home.
Some of the rooms are a bit dated but always clean and comfortable. There are a variety of cabins that appear inviting and a real sense of community in the common spaces - pools, decks, lounges and even the dining room.
The drive up the tree-lined drive sets just the right welcoming tone. Situated on a point of land in the narrows between Lake Simcoe and Lake Couchiching provides plenty of access to the water, scenic views that include lots of wildlife. While relaxing one of several hammocks near docks, enjoying the breeze from the water, I was pleasantly surprised by a huge heron that landed on a dock and strolled past me less than 3 meters away while he fished for dinner.
Speaking of dinner, the food is fantastic. Several of us remarked that it is every bit as good as on the cruise ship with many savoury and sweet selections to chose from. It is all inclusive so you can try a variety of interesting dishes, morning, noon and evening. The serving staff are very professional and attentive and very friendly. They add to the homey feeling and go out of their way to make you feel welcome.
There is lots to do at the Fern in the water, on the water or just around the water or on the other hand it is a great place to do nothing. There do not appear to be any poor spots as far as location in the resort or rooms to avoid. It all seems to work well so find something that suits your style. If it is the winter, most cabins and rooms have a working fireplace!
Tip: If you are looking for a club, group or corporate venue for a conference or event put the Fern high on your list. They go out of their way to look after you and to accommodate your needs at no extra cost. They are a class act.

Room Tip: Rooms and cabins along the water are the most scenic and not a big issue with noise and foot traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelOshawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for posting your comments here on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed the resort so much. Fern Resort is the ideal spot for groups, clubs, reunions, etc as you mentioned. We strive to go above and beyond to make it a memorable experience for all the attendees. The lake side setting, the staff, and the food certainly make it a great choice.
Thanks again for your wonderful comments!
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This past weekend we joined our British Car Club for a weekend at the Fern Resort. This property is at least 100 years old, but you sure wouldn't know it. The place is spotless and our room looked like it had just been carefully redone (we were impressed). The young staff are enthusiastic, cheerful and obviously well schooled in customer service. Our weekend was a "package" deal with dinner both Friday and Saturday night and a full breakfast on Saturday and Sunday. The food was very good, but not gourmet. I'm pretty sure we received a special group rate, but at $415 all-in it was an excellent two night value. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get a water side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful comments and observations from your resent stay with us here at Fern. We take great pride in our property and more importantly our staff. Our staff our committed, 100% in offering our guests a truly unique and genuine experience that is second to none. Updating and renovating our rooms and our property are always high on the priority list even when it seems unfeasible. There is true desire to offer the most in facilities, accommodations, and experiences by the family ownership and management of the resort.
Thanks again and we hope to see you and the car club again soon.
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
3.1 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
595 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn - Orillia
2.8 mi away
The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection
20.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Resort

Address: 4432 Fern Resort Rd, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Orillia
Price Range: $370 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern are located along the shores of Lake Couchiching in the city of Orillia. We offer all inclusive packages for both family vacation stays as well as meeting and conference stays. All meals, use of facilities and at specific times of the year, we offer activity programs for all ages, children supervision and nightly entertainment. Established in 1895, Fern has a long tradition of offering our guests with good olde fashion hospitality in a professional and friendly manner. Whether it's the traditional family vacation, a little getaway weekend or a sales meeting or corporate seminar, Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern should be your venue of choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Fern Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Hotel Orillia
Fern Orillia
Fern Resort Orillia, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing