We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ferntastic Wine Week-end”
Review of Fern Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fern Resort
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed Fern's Wine, Food & Friends Week-end. Unique foods [kangaroo] paired with Colio Wines -- who could ask for more! We learned about the tasteful wines from the Niagara Region as we enjoyed 7 course meals. A light dusting of snow further enhanced the exclusive atmosphere. We met new friends and are hoping this becomes an annual event. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: New, firm mattresses in Hearthside made for a luxurious night's sleep. All rooms recently updat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuffaloTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hi and thank you for posting your comments here on TripAdvisor. Our fall Food & Wine Weekend was certainly a new experience for our guests. Much different than the "Inclusive" packages for families we generally host, this weekend is a different attraction but is still true to our comfortable, friendly, and casual atmosphere. The Food and Wine Weekend is an opportunity for our Chefs to really have fun with the menu and get out in front of our guests and show off a bit. Hope to see you again in the fall of 2014. Chef Jed and Aaron along with the good people from the Colio Winery are already talking about it. Thanks again for your comments.
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 312 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

The room was very nice, if a little dated, with a couch and fireplace. The setting is beautiful. Meals were excellent and staff were pleasant and helpful. Weather prevented most outdoor activities but there are plenty of options to suit most.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank JFH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for posting your comments here on TripAdvisor after your recent visit for a business meeting. Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern have been hosting meetings, conferences, and group travel for many years. We are a great spot for companies to get the most from a meeting, due in large part to the exclusive feel you get at Fern. Your group is together for not only the meeting portion of your stay but also for meals and social time. A Resort setting offers so much more for groups than a standard hotel can.
Thanks again for posting your comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I have been to the Fern both for meals, events and for overnight conferences. I highly recommend this long time family-owned resort. It is polished - they really know what they're doing. The food is always delicious (their buns are actually famous, they're so good); the service is top-notch. I really like the cabins on the water. The conference facilities are very professional yet have a warm décor. A quality facility.

Room Tip: I like the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

A Gem indeed. Thank you for your wonderful comments about Fern Resort. There is some great charm and warmth to a family-owned resort and I believe you truly can feel that here at Fern. Whether you experience the resort for your companies Christmas celebration, an out-of-office meeting or as a vacationing guest, you always get good old hospitality and a staff with a genuine desire to serve. Rolls are still at the cornerstone of the food experience and a tradition here at Fern Resort. We have been enjoying Bertyls Roll recipe since 1927 and now you can order a dozen to go when you stay with us.
Thanks again for your comments.
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have used Fern Resort for many years for our fall conference. As an event organizer I could not ask for better support from our conference convener, Sarah, as well as each and every one of the staff from the dining room to housecleaners to the conference staff; their level of customer service is very high.
Fern is an old-fashioned resort and our delegates enjoy the retreat atmosphere and careful customer service.
Christine Ball
Executive Director

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank directorchrissyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for posting your comments here on Trip advisor. Conferences, and more importantly organizing conferences can be a stressful undertaking. The staff and management work with the organizers to ensure their goals are met and expectations exceeded. Whether you are booking a group of 10 or 300, the staff at Fern are always going to give 100%. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to hosting many more of your fall conferences.
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our organization has held annual events at Fern Resort in Orillia. And we have always been pleased with the extremely friendly service and their outstanding meals. We go there for work, but it feels more like a retreat! And as a meeting organizer, it is always great to have all your meeting room equipment and supplies included in the price.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a a lakeside view. It's the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for posting your comments here on Tripadvisor from a business travellers experience. Fern Resort, being know primarily as family vacation destination resort here in Ontario, also services the meeting and conference business. With roots and tradition deep in hospitality, we host meetings and conferences with the same gracious, hospitable approach we take when hosting the family resort market. Our all-inclusive options for meetings takes a lot of stress away from the meeting organizer. Combine this with the exclusiveness you get from our location, and it makes Fern a great option for companies looking for more that just a board room.
I am glad we have been able to take care of your groups needs annually and look forward to many more.
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

What I mean by saying "traditional" is my grandfather went to Fern, my Dad and Mom took us to Fern when we were kids and now I am taking my kids to Fern. This should tell you how great Fern Resort is for families.
Yes, it is looking old but there is a certain charm to it and they are fixing it up as time goes by. The real charm of the place is how they treat their guests. They have a lot of activities for every age and you can be as busy as you want or not at all. My kids loved the activities they set up and the directors who ran the programs. We participated in the adult activities and had a blast.
Yes, it is on the expensive side for resorts but when you consider that almost all of the activities are included in the price it is a bargain compared to some other places we have stayed.
I had to laugh at one reviewer's comments who said, "Who goes to magic shows?" If it is any indication, the whole resort showed up for the magic show. In fact, most nights when they had entertainment that is where you find most of the families and having a great time.
We stayed the second last week of August and some of the servers were getting ready to leave for University but they were still doing their best to serve us. One of the servers told us she was sad to be leaving. My kids cried when we had to leave.
The only unfortunate part I found this time was the soup. I tried a couple of them but they were bland, having said that the rest of the meals were fantastic.
If you are looking for the ultimate over-the-top, "gotta have it all", then try somewhere else.
To sum it all up, if you want to have a fantastic family vacation this is the place to go.

Room Tip: If you stay in the Main Inn, rooms 401 - 405 have balconies and look over the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pademo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for posting your comments here on Tripadvisor and I am happy to hear Fern Resort has been a family tradition for 3 generations and running in your family! It is great to hear that you and your family enjoy the hospitality and the product that us truly unique to a family run resort here in Ontario and that you find good value in the product. We will be keep working on those soups and I look forward to seeing you again in 2014 as we keep the family tradition alive!
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fern has great activities for kids. We stayed in a bayshore cottage and it needed serious refurbishing. Really dirty carpet and very ugly bed spread. It was greenish, brownish. Real turn off. This should be fixed right away as it takes away from an otherwise great experience. Terrific staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chantal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Hi Chantal, thank you for posting your comments here on Trip Advisor. Glad your kids enjoy the activity programs and the you rate the staff as Terrific! Our staff have a genuine desire to serve and enjoy a positive interaction with our guests. This interaction with kids and parents forges a friendship or bond that makes guest feel at home and makes returning to Fern, feel like they have come home! We are also getting our accommodations back up to snuff after a busy summer season. Carpet cleaning, touching up paint and a general attention to detail have been the focus over the past couple of weeks.
Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you and your family again soon.
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
3.1 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
598 reviews
16.3 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#6 of 19 in Barrie
1,088 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn - Orillia
2.8 mi away
The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Resort

Address: 4432 Fern Resort Rd, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Orillia
Price Range: $350 - $740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern are located along the shores of Lake Couchiching in the city of Orillia. We offer all inclusive packages for both family vacation stays as well as meeting and conference stays. All meals, use of facilities and at specific times of the year, we offer activity programs for all ages, children supervision and nightly entertainment. Established in 1895, Fern has a long tradition of offering our guests with good olde fashion hospitality in a professional and friendly manner. Whether it's the traditional family vacation, a little getaway weekend or a sales meeting or corporate seminar, Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern should be your venue of choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fern Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Hotel Orillia
Fern Orillia
Fern Resort Orillia, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing