We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never had a better trip.”
Review of Fern Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fern Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never had a better trip.”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have never been disappointed at The Fern, excellent family vacation or couples. We just spent our honeymoon there and could not have selected a better spot to go. We chose The Fern since we knew 100% that we would be entertained, have excellent food, know the staff, and enjoy every amenity they have to offer. There is always something to do - it is by far our favorite vacation destination. We would recommend The Fern to anyone looking to have a great time and have lots to do.

Room Tip: We have stayed in several of the different rooms available, our favourite is the Twin Fern, next wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpoonerTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    89
    38
    22
    5
See reviews for
182
23
Solo
0
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Better than expected and really friendly, hardworking staff. The food is very good, and the pool area is nice, but the real value here is the staff who really take pride in what they do and how they treat their guests.

For a family, there are activities from morning til night and complementary babysitting in the evening with an early request.

For business, we enjoyed the meeting room, with healthy snacks at breaks, and even karaoke at night. Great value here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelbeetoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. It is true our staff take great pride and ownership in their jobs as well as making our guests feel comfortable. Whether you are here on a vacation stay or meeting and conference stay, our staff are always more than hospitable. I am glad you found great value in your package and everyone had a good time!
Take Care
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, ON
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our extended family including grandparents, and two five year olds, stayed at Fern Resort on a July weekend. The weather was fantastic and this helped make our stay most enjoyable. My own family of four stayed in one of the semi-detatched cottages facing the lake. There was nothing wrong with it other than it seemed a little dated, but had a nice large porch with an excellent view of the lake. We pretty much just slept there so it was fine. Not that it mattered much, but the television gets very few channels although you can rent dvds or vhs videos to watch. The best things about Fern are the level of service from all the staff and the fabulous pool area and other facilities. The staff, whether they be at the front desk, the lifeguards, the children's program supervisors, or the wait staff in the restaurant are helpful and friendly. They are clearly well trained and appear to really enjoy working there. The pool area is large and has many deck chairs to sit in. It overlooks the lake and waterfront areas which includes a beach and a variety of boats to use. There are two large pools, one with a diving board and another with a waterslide. Our kids couldn't get enough of the diving board! There is also a smaller, very shallow pool for the little ones with a beach entry. Our children also really enjoyed the trampolines and the children's programs in the playvilliage. They had a lot of fun including taking a tractor ride. There are also programs for adults including scuba diving lessons, fishing cruises, bingo, and pool exercising. The food is very good overall. The best meal was the barbecue lunch. The selection at all the meals is excellent. The kids can take food from a buffet for them, and/or order child size portions from the adult menu. At breakfast you can take from the buffet and order individual dishes. The final thing for me to mention is that each night they have a show or other entertainment. We went to see the Fantasy Circus and it was fantastic! It was of much greater quality than I would have expected at a resort such as this. Now, Fern is very expensive, and you take your chances with the weather, but this is a great place for a family to enjoy a holiday!

Room Tip: You can park your vehicle right next to the cottages, which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budsfan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for posting your comments here on Tripadvisor. It certainly has been an ideal summer for resorting with all of these "hot hot" sunny days. It sounds like you were able to get a lot of activities in during your weekend and the children's program suited your family well. It is always great when 3 generations of a family come together to enjoy a holiday where there is something for everyone!
Thanks again and I hope to see you and your family again soon!
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed there over the long weekend in May for three nights. We stayed in the Hearthside hotel rooms facing the lake. These rooms are close to the pool and the main lodge and dining room although everything is within easy walking distance. It is a nice, well laid out resort with absolutely something to do for everyone of all ages. There is a 5 hole golf course which we played everyday. My boyfriend is a golfer so he enjoyed giving me lessons and it wasnt so difficult being only 5 holes. Dont expect a professional golf course with well maintained greens, it was often difficult to find the balls in the grass. It was fun though. There is tennis, archery lessons, horseshoes, bocci ball, mini putt, paddle boats etc. And then for a break from the heat, we went inside and played pool and table tennis. We had a great table in the dining room by the windows and the staff were excellent. It was amazing that with so many people in the dining room that the service was so well executed and no long waits. The food was very good, the portions large and we dont usually eat desserts on a regular basis but the desserts were delightful. They have a decent library of videos that you can rent cheaply at the front desk. The rooms are very clean well maintained. The beds were very comfortable. There is a fridge and coffee maker in the room for convenience. We used the fireplace on the first night more for ambience than the heat.The staff were very friendly and accomodating - From the front desk, to the dining room, to the entertainment and even the housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caro99Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thanks for posting your review here on Tripadvisor. We do have lots to do with the emphasis on something for everyone. I am glad you find so many things to do and we couldn't bet the weather for a Long Weekend!
Take care and we hope to see you again soon.
Cordially
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

An excellent location for family summer retreat. Food is amazing and having the kids eat earlier and attend kids club while the adults eat is the best idea!
A fantastic kids program - including pony rides!
Evening entertainment is also fun for the whole family.
I would recommend and the kids are begging to go back.

Room Tip: we rented a 1 bedroom cottage. We had a 7 year old and a 3 year old. the living room had a pull ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimthemomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for posting your comments here on Tripadvisor. I am glad you and your family had a Ferntastic time with us. The kids buffet is definitely a plus !!! We hope to see you back soon.
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is our 9th year at Fern Resort, which says it all. Apparently 60% of their guests are returning families. I do see the same people year after year, which is nice as you get to know them, the kids become friends. I am currently sitting outside, it is 6h30 am, facing the lake, listening to the birds sing. It is just beautiful! I got a coffee (free) from reception. In fact it is an all inclusive resort so all the food is free, you have to buy alcohol. We are staying in one of the Bayshore cottages for the 2nd year, my 16 year old nephew is with us, and with 14 and 11 year old boys as well, the Edgewater cottages were too small. The Bayshore cottages are nice because you can park your car right beside your cottage.

There is a ton of activity for all ages - a fenced PlayVillage for the little ones, and organized activities for the older ones, such as sandcastle building, trampoline jumping (a favorite activity of the teenagers as well), swimming. This year they introduced the Zorbs, which is way more difficult than you read on the internet! And a waterslide down a small hill, a plastic tarp they cover with water and soap to make it slippery. For my kids there is waterskiing, water weenie, basketball, tennis, paintball, and the extreme area where they can dare each other.

The food is excellent, there is a buffet for the kids, and an a la carte menu for the adults, offering vegetarian/ vegan, fish, pasta, chicken, each meal, then one other meat e.g. beef or lamb. Lots of choices. And the desserts! There is entertainment every night, a large clubhouse where you can hang out if it rains with pool tables, ping pong tables, X-box, and computers.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, the adults have been with the resort forever, the bartender told me he's been working here 30 years! The teenagers/ young adults who handle the kids programs are all very good, I see the younger kids running to them and wanting to hang out with them all the time.

As I said, this is our 9th year, and I think I may continue to come here when my kids move on just for the pleasure of sitting in front of the lake reading, while having someone else worry about everything else for me! And one day hopefully have my children and grandchildren with me, as I see many families do here...

Room Tip: If you can get one of the cottages, they all have patio doors facing the lake, it is a beautiful vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busymothertoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank for sharing your comments here on TripAdvisor and more importantly, thanks for the 9 years history with us! We certainly do appreciate that our loyal guests return year after year and rekindle the great friendships have made over the years. It feels like coming home.
Take Care !
Scott Collens - General Manager - Fern Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We decided to go to the Fern Resort for the Family Day Week-end to get away and do some winter activity. There was not much snow, but luckily the lake was frozen and there was enough snow to have fun. The resort is mature doesn't impress you when you drive up. However, it is comparable to the majority of Ontario Resorts. The room we had was fine, not luxury, but clean and warm. I don't know how anyone can fault the food at the Fern. It was truly gourmet and we had large portions at each and every meal. There was so much food that I contemplated skipping lunch as after our 3 night stay, by the time it came to meal time I was still full from the meal before. The food was also very high quality in my opinion. I really enjoy food and was pleased with all the selections. I also really loved that the children could eat off the menu, but they had a special buffet set up so the kids could help themselves and not have to wait to order and receive their meals. This contributed to many enjoyable meals with our family and no hungry kids waiting for the food to arrive.
They had great activities for the kids throughout the day and my kids truly enjoyed them all. The young people they had in to lead the activities were great and very engaging with the kids.
We enjoyed the dog sledding with our family and it was a highlight. We would have liked to have used the snowmoblie, but there was not much snow and the area in which to do it was limited.
A bit of a rant on my part but, Ontario resorts are very expensive for what you get. When we plan trips in Ontario the price far exceed other areas including going down to the islands. The Fern Resort is comparable to other similar resorts in appearance and price so if you just go with that expectation you will be fine.

What we got at the Fern resort was a short drive, fabulous food, a fun family getaway and 2 happy kids. We have already planned to return this summer to see what they have to offer in the warm weather. We will probably also return next winter as well. The Fern caters to families and we met many families who spend many week-ends throughout the year there. It gives you the cottage life with out the cost of owning a cottage in Ontario.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DyeKap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Great to hear you had a Ferntastic stay this past winter. Family Day weekend is a great time to spend up north. Skating on the lake, dog sledding, X country skiing you name it! It's great to just get out and be Canadian in the winter. I hope you and your family come up and see us this summer to experience another season at Fern. Tons of kids activity programs, nightly entertainment and great food are the cornerstone of family vacations here topped only by the beautiful lake side country setting. I am glad you and your family have committed to spending your vacation dollars here in Ontario. As you mention it is expensive compared to other countries. Unfortunately as proud Canadians we live in a great country that has a very high standard of living. To support that standard of living we pay higher wages than other countries and purchase Canadian goods and services which cost considerable more than the islands.
Thanks for sharing here on Tripadvisor and take care.
Scott Collens - General Manager - Fern Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
3.1 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
545 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn - Orillia
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
208 reviews
20.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Resort

Property: Fern Resort
Address: 4432 Fern Resort Rd, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern are located along the shores of Lake Couchiching in the city of Orillia. We offer all inclusive packages for both family vacation stays as well as meeting and conference stays. All meals, use of facilities and at specific times of the year, we offer activity programs for all ages, children supervision and nightly entertainment. Established in 1895, Fern has a long tradition of offering our guests with good olde fashion hospitality in a professional and friendly manner. Whether it's the traditional family vacation, a little getaway weekend or a sales meeting or corporate seminar, Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern should be your venue of choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Fern Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Hotel Orillia
Fern Orillia
Fern Resort Orillia, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing