We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lack of food handling training”

Webers Charcoal Barbecued Hamburgers
Ranked #11 of 151 Restaurants in Orillia
Price range: $9 - $14
Cuisines: American, Fast Food, Barbecue, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Lack of food handling training”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Staff not wearing gloves while putting topping on burgers. Cook touching raw burgers then grabbing buns. Girl puts onions on burger, realized she made a mistake and brushed them off with her hand. Much more can be pointed out but will stop there. Could improve in the food handling area. Food handling Training is a must. Will not go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sassfras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    119
    93
    50
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If only the people at work were this efficient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The food was perfectly acceptable but nothing special. The burgers taste much as you'd imagine a perfectly decent burger to taste like. The organisation of the place was truly awesome and I think it's worth stopping by just to watch the employees at work.
We arrived at what looked to be like a half an hour wait, but came out in five minutes food in hand. The waitresses were extremely friendly and charming, one had my change ready before I had taken the notes out of my wallet. The waitress making our burgers had a flair to her work, while she made them as quickly as was humanly possible. I only wish that one day we could find a technician as efficient as her.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleOblongSpheroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's all about the experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The food is average (burger and fries) but the restaurant runs like a well-oiled machine. The choice of picnic area or eating in a railcar adds to the atmosphere of this well located stop on the way to cottage country.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great service, food could improve”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have such fond memories of stopping at Webers for a burger, fries and a shake years ago on the way to a friend's cottage, so when I found myself northbound on Hwy. 11 last weekend, nostalgia pulled me off of the highway once again. As usual, there was a line up spilling out into the parking lot, but this wasn't a problem as some fresh, pleasant kids were there to take our orders and speed them through the grill. Unfortunately, the burger, poutine and shake meal really wasn't as memorable this time. Seems like a bit of a case of resting on one's laurels. It was OK, I was just expecting so much more.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“The Way Meat should be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Up north just past Orillia on Highway 11 is Webers. A roadside hamburger joint and a Ontario tradition. It is a tradition because it serves quality burgers made from their own patties. The patties are made in their own small scale plant in town. They are beefy in flavour and the texture feels like; very little, if any, fillers are added. When I bite into one I think this is the way meat should be.

Great food, but one of the girls managed to put my burger onto my tray, and the burgers of the construction workers inline before me, with a contemptuous gesture. Thick skin, bounced off my chin.

You can expect a line up at meal times, but the line up moves fast. Seating is indoors in old railroad cars or outdoors and the area is set up like a park. The washrooms were clean and another staff asked how we were doing. There is extra parking across the highway

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Webers Charcoal Barbecued Hamburgers also viewed

 

Been to Webers Charcoal Barbecued Hamburgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing