We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most enjoyable dining experience.”
Review of Sixteen Front - CLOSED

Sixteen Front
Price range: $9 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Sixteen Front is an elegant restaurant with a casual atmosphere. Executive Chef Ian Thompson, with his distinctive style, creates an array of innovative entrées.Sixteen Front prides itself in using only the finest ingredients including Certified Black Angus beef and the freshest seafood's. Our extensive assortment of international and VQA wines compliment your dining pleasure.Our lounge offers lively entertainment around the baby grand piano on Friday and Saturday evenings. Also offering charming patio dining.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable dining experience.”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have enjoyed lunch with a few friends and dinner with a group of 16 people in a private room. Both events were most enjoyable. The atmosphere was pleasant and relaxing, the food was delicious and the service was excellent... most attentive to our needs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    35
    26
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome! Food and service was great! Marilou was was amazing! She made us feel like we where at home having donner with friends ”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Everything recommended from the wine to food met our expectations plus! If you are Orilla then you have to go there!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Service and Value”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Half price Tursday on the lounge menu can't be beat! Live music is great. Service has always been fantastic (love Natasha) on each of the more then 12 times we have been to 16 Front. Entres are very good. Prices are not cheep, but the food is of good quality.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Storage11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesOrillia, Owner at Sixteen Front, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write, and for visiting Sixteen Front 12 times!!! We will be sure to let Natasha know of your kind words. Chef Marcel and the staff of Sixteen Front look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kindest Regards,

Maureen Way
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seriously?”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure where all these good reviews are coming from, I assume the staff are told to write them, it's pretty obvious given the constant "praise chef marcel".

We ordered a few appetizers when we were in on a Thursday night. Although being half price, I still feel like we got ripped off. Portions were tiny...I had better calamari at moose winooskies with triple the amount for half the price. We chose a few apps from the app menu and all of them were overpriced and the portions were unbelievably small. The not so flat "flat bread" contained more dough then asking for double the dough at Pizza Hut.

After our less then desirable meal we went elsewhere for some actual food.

Only thing good about this place was the decor.

Absolutely mind boggling how this place is still open.

Helpful?
1 Thank Foody8386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesOrillia, Owner at Sixteen Front, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience, I'm terribly sorry to hear you were disspointed with your experience. While we accept that our menu will not appeal to everyone, and that at times, we will make staffing miscalucations, and not provide the best service possible, I would like to speak to one point that is not accurate. We DO NOT encourage or allow our staff to write reviews on any guest review site, in fact we have spent considerable time educating our staff in the reasons this is not a good practice and not good for our restaurant in the long run. Trust is a very important component with our guests, and we appreciate that they write reviews, and we do want to know when we've let them down. Marcel takes considerable time getting to know our guests when time allows him to, often visiting tables and checking in on a guests experience. He has become a very recognizable figure, and because of this does receive guest feedback with reference to him directly. I promise you the reviews you see are legitimate. I would would be happy to discuss this further, and talk more about the speific items that were a disppointment to you and would also love to welcome you back to try us again. I can be reached at maureen@elitehospitality.ca or by calling 705-326-1953 ext 102. Thank you again for taking the time to write, and I do hope to hear from you.
Maureen Way
Managing Director
Sixteen Front, Casual Fine Dining & Lounge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice; Excellent Chef Marcel”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Had dinner there yesterday. Excellent as always; lamb done to perfection. An added touch if you like Foi Gras was given to us. Special Requests for French Food can be accomodated if you let Marcel know in advance . Highly recommend this Restaurant; friendly staff who greet repeat clients by name.
I travel from Aurora Ontario to eat at this establishment.
Heather

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sixteen Front also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing