We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Non-typical roadside motel"”
Review of Kings Inn Orillia

Kings Inn Orillia
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Inn Orillia
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Non-typical roadside motel"”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This motel is really showing it's age. Needs an update in the worse way. Pillows are smaller than average. The bath tub is chipped. Toilet handle needs to be replaced. Bedding was clean, but old. Would have liked to have at least a coffee maker in the room. The room was clean which is about all I can say. You get what you pay for, but at $79.00 per night (tax included) this room was over priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    5
    5
    7
See reviews for
7
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

You want a swimming pool, free breakfast, a gym, friendly people, luxury rooms. . . fugetaboutit, you won’t find it here but. . . I’ve stayed in a bunch of these and this is nicer than most. I heard this was a well kept up place and it seemed to be. Fridge, microwave, internet, decent TV, clean enough, super comfy bed in my opinion, heat was fine and it was a cold night. Service is non-existent but what do you expect. Everything was. . .OK for a very inexpensive hotel; lots of use of caulking, etc. Here’s the thing; if you are not traveling with a bunch of kids, stay here and have breakfast next door, it’s literally almost attached and pretty good, granted neither the restaurant nor the hotel have probably changed much in 30 years but the food was great. Now, for not a lot of money, you get a hotel and a really good breakfast. One irritant was that there was no shade on the bathroom window. It’s high up and there’s nothing out there but a yard, but still... I guess I was in the exhibitionist room. Anyway, ya could cover it easily with a towel.

Room Tip: They all look about the same and face the same road. I'd say pick you lucky number between one a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCNDWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

While driving up to Algonquin Park we decided to stop for the night in Orillia as it was rather late and get a fresh start in the morning. I had found the Kings Inn on Expedia before the trip, but had not reserved a room as we were not sure if we would make it that far.

We got to the motel around 11pm and entered the office. The desk clerk/owner looked quite tired; however, he was very friendly. As it was so late and we were leaving so early we were able to negotiate a $15 discount off the room.

The room wasn't anything special, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The only real issue I had with the room was that it was almost impossible to completely turn off the bathroom sink faucet, and it was dripping slowly throughout the night. I put a cloth under it and was able to get to sleep.

All in all it was a great stay for the price. We were able to get a good nights sleep before our early start in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for something in the back and you will be facing away from the highway for a quieter nights slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chab009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We needed a room for the night, so checked in to the Kings Inn Orillia because it was inexpensive. The owner got us in quickly and gave us a room that was clean, large and bright. After checking in, we went sightseeing and to the Casino for supper and a show. Arriving back at the motel, we saw that the place was fully booked, but there was no noise or unruliness, and we had a good sleep on comfortable beds. The fridge and coffee maker in the room were much appreciated. We'll stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was amazed at the space we had in our room. Clean, comfortable and the price was considerably less than what I usually pay at other hotels.
My group booked 2 rooms at the Kings Inn in Orillia and we all had the same reaction, we will definitely stay here again when in the Orillia area.
We were greeted with a friendly face when we first arrived and the same as we left.
Some went for breakfast and raved about that as well, so this place is a definite keeper :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englehart, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stay in this hotel everytime we go to Toronto. It is very afforadable and in a good location. Small but very clean. It is in walking distance of a 24 hour grocery store and the beach. Also walking distance from TIm Hortons.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam-Englehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2012

this hotel was over-priced. The room is in desperate need of a reno, slept with clothes on, lights on and shoes off the floor. I was surprised I even was able to sleep. A/C made so much noise when on high but it was a hot day so we had to leave the fan on eventually - rooms should not be smoking rooms for the convenience of how the rooms are all on the 1st floor. The only good things were the mini fridge, microwave and TV will lots of channels. For a few more dollars I would have preferred to choose a 3 star hotel. I would not return. Some advice to owners, clean up the rooms. Upgrade your furniture and install proper outlets (not just using a power bar screwed into the wall).

Room Tip: use caution when booking at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fkfkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orillia hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orillia hotels
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#13 of 14 in Orillia
229 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
208 reviews
1.9 mi away
Knights Inn Orillia
Knights Inn Orillia
#6 of 14 in Orillia
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
545 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
1.8 mi away
Bayview Inn
Bayview Inn
#9 of 14 in Orillia
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn Orillia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn Orillia

Property: Kings Inn Orillia
Address: 370 Laclie St, Orillia, Ontario L3V 4P3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kings Inn Orillia 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kings Inn Orillia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Inn Orillia Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing