We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe food excellent and staff superb”

Restaurant La Maison-Pecheur
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Perce
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
221 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Cafe food excellent and staff superb”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

This was a great experience in a busy cafe on the lower level. Crowded and noisy as it should be with unique whale fin stools at the bar and lots of nautical kitsch. The staff were excellent from start to finish.
The food was great. My halibut steak was nicely done with a lime garlic oil sauce. The moule frits were as you would find in France.

Helpful?
Thank Shiffer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    157
    63
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fishing Perfection”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Great fish preparations. Fresh, tasty in a wonderful surrrounding with helpful (English speaking) servers.A wonderful dining experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank franee0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
258 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“good food....very slow service”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We went here with friends from Canada. They picked this place as locals told them it was excellent. I later found out it was rated number 1 here on Advisor. Ok here we go, the location was great with water views and really nice decor inside. Our service experience was really slow. After reading all the reviews I realize it was just an off night or off server. They had a very nice selection of wine and the prices were reasonable. It was better to order by the bottle as glass selection was small and very pricey. Ok and now to the food, the menu was good with a prix fixe section that we decided to all order from. A note, there were no dinner salads, just side salads. One in our party spoke French which turned out to be very important. The fish was delicious and portions were perfect. I ordered the Trident and the portions were very small. It was three types of seafood, all of which were delicious but again very small. The dessert was good and we had a coffee that was also good. I found the whole experience to be good, not great with the food taste being the strong point.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shefra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best place in Percé”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The atmosphere is always good. You get a great view of the Percé rock from the restaurant. Everything on the menu is good, from seafood to pizza (wooden oven). The staff is always very friendly and helpful. If you go in Percé, you have to go there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boubou418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Lambert, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“High class,tasty food with excellent service.”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We sat in this restaurant looking out at Arthur pounding the coast while we were served by a great friendly waitress that explained everything to us and answered all our questions related to the menu. Their chowder was delicious as well as their fish soup. The main meal also was fantastic, I had the scallops and my lovely wife had the Trident which we both enjoyed. This is the place to eat if you're in this area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MauriceLBurlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Maison-Pecheur also viewed

 
 
Perce, Gaspesie Region
Perce, Gaspesie Region
 

Been to Restaurant La Maison-Pecheur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing