We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good restaurant”

Restaurant La Maison-Pecheur
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in Perce
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Milano
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“very good restaurant”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Very good restaurant where "local" lobster are served at reasonable price.
Even it's quite big, you really need to reserve in advance to avoid waiting in line.
Attached to the wharf, it has a very good meal quality and service.
Give it a try if you're in Percè!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LB_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    157
    63
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very good restaurant. Cozy place. I had the lobster and my parents took the cod and the salmon. All very good, and big portions. You get your money's worth. Of course the service was slow, like any restaurant in Gaspésie, it's just the way they work, no hurry, but the wait was worth it. I recommend it if you want a special dinner, relax and wine.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank louispjoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Long service for a group, overrated, and very expensive but good atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We reserved at 7h30 pm for a group of 8 persons. We were seated only at 7h45. By the time we order it was 8h10 and got served at 9h15. No bread was given during our waiting time. One of the group ordered a ray wing "aile de raie" and it was not fresh at all. The taste was toxic-like and it was 23$. But I returned the dish without problem. (first time ever).

The "assiette du pêcheur" is the best value and quality/quantity, to be shared for 2 persons for 68$. Tons to eat. The petoncle "scallop" (29$) were good and the "tartar de saumon" (14$) too.

Beers were not expensive for a restaurant (5$) for a glass of Pit-Caribou local beer very good.

The service: We felt that the waiter were not really used to serve as if they were seasonal workers.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simtine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A great meal in a lovely location.”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had no trouble getting a table as we happened by at about 4 pm and were all hungry after visiting l'Ile Bonaventure.
My husband had planned to have some type of seafood but went with a steak instead and was quite happy with it. I had a seafood pasta covered in cheese - very yummy. Both kids chose from the kids menu. My son can be hard to please but really like the pizza.
This restaurant is right at the docks and I could admire Le Rocher Perce throughout my meal.
If you are just passing through as we were, I would suggest making a reservation for after your visit to the island.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onvoyage_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best restaurant of the whole region”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is by far the best restaurant in Percé, and even in the whole Gaspésie region. Unlike other places that makes you wait 30 minutes for your reserved table (Restaurant Mathilde, i'm looking at you), they managed to squeeze us in and get us a table, with no reservations at all, in under 5 minutes. I strongly advise you reserve otherwise you might not be so lucky

It's a superb place with a nice ocean view, the only bad thing to say is that it is VERY HOT inside, due to their pizza oven which is more like a giant fireplace.

The service was super, the waiter was very prompt and professional, came to refill wine and water with no delays, and offered us alcoholic drinks when he felt we were waiting too long (the place was packed so we expected delays).

the food was out of this world. I understand now why this place is always packed. i had the Trident plate (tablet d'hote), and it was just perfect, perfect cooking, perfect temperature, perfect seasoning. their wine selection is also fantastic as they have wines unavailable in SAQ stores.

80$ per person with wine and tip and everything, more or less.

highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silvermotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Maison-Pecheur also viewed

 
Perce, Gaspesie Region
 

Been to Restaurant La Maison-Pecheur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing