We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Perce Au Pic de l'Aurore
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Perce
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were in for 2 nights and we can assure anyone this is the place to be in Percé.
We had a room in the building next to the main building and we had a fantastic view of the Roc and of the village as well. The room was grand with 2 large beds, balcony, a fireplace.
The owner is absolutely second to none. He is very knowledgeable in any questions that you may have on whales, the village, the tours, the region, etc. The room was very clean and we had free wood so we could sit fireside every night. As for the breakfast, it consists of croissants, chocolate croissants or carrots muffins (if I remember well). I had the carrots muffins and I can tell that these were the best I have ever had !!!. All the pastries are cooked early in the morning on the premises.

We would go back anytime. This is the place to be withour hesitation. Hats off to the owner who works long hours to make sure the guests feel at home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Watchermontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    86
    25
    3
    1
See reviews for
83
129
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paternoster
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Staying in Perce for three nights we decided to stay at a place with a view over the whole area. Right on your left hand side just before entering Perce you will find this hotel and chalets.
The chalets are comfortable with great views in a very peaceful position. Staff is very helpful and attentive. Instead of one night we decided to stay two more nights. Absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankieboy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed in the hotel part, not in one of the individual chalets (which would be very cool I'm sure!). But, it was excellent nonetheless. The hotel is 2 min. north of town up the highway. It is quite rustic, but it provided us with two beds and a very large sitting area with sofa, TV and view of Perce Rock! Wifi is excellent. Very impressed and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Live_to_Travel_125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Enjoyed three nights -- two in a king bed "motel" room with ktchennette and one in chalet. Very comfortable, good beds, great views of Perce Rock, Bonaventure Island and the town. Balcony/porch provide comfortable outside place to sit, read, relax. Very modest continental breakfast -- was good with wonderful views from dining area. A delightful place to which we would return. Very peaceful.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit more if necessary for accomodations with a view of the rock and town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coinchanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was the first time to this area of Quebec. We picked this spot as they had Chalets and was on top of the hill. We took one of the Chalets on top of the hill which gave us the perfect view. I wished this place had a full service restaurant and a pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrankyGayMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here at the end of August. This was our first motel/hotel stay on a late summer Gaspe region tour; We had camped for the first few days in New Brunswick prior to reaching Perce.

As stated in practically every other review, the view from the motel grounds is spectacular and we were lucky enough to have a clear sunny day to enjoy it during our brief stay. There were a number of nice seating areas to sit and enjoy the views.

Since we would be arriving late and only staying the one night, we opted for the motel room rather than the cabin. We booked the room with the two double beds. The room did have a shared balcony overlooking the town/rock, but the room looked like it had been extended to include the sitting room at some point. The sitting area was fine -- definitely more modern than the bed/bathroom area -- although a bit sparse. The “log cabin” type furnishings were a bit out of place, I thought, but serviceable and clean. The older bed/bathroom part had a slight “old and musty motel” smell when you walked through the door -- not a great welcome to people with asthma! The bathroom was tiny containing only the shower and toilet and the door swung open by itself into the bedroom area unless you latched it. The wash basin was outside the bathroom between the beds and the sitting area/living room.

The beds were basic and clean with firm mattresses.

Other than the woods-y furnishings, the oddest amenity choice was the coffee maker, for which there was neither coffee NOR filters! “Bring Your Own Coffee”, I guess!

As a side note: the owner did warn us NOT to drink the tap water at the hotel or anywhere in Perce as they were in the process or building new water supply lines (as witnessed on the way into town from the Bonaventure side) to deal with naturally-occurring contamination from runoff water. We weren’t sure how “bad” the water actually was or how long this had been in effect, but we weren’t going to risk it. Nobody else in Perce, including the Tourist Office, mentioned the drinking water issue.

The motel is in a great location for views, but should in no way be considered “in town” as it is at least a kilometer outside the town proper and at the top of a very steep grade.

The breakfast is referred to as “Continental”, but it is really one croissant (plain or chocolate), muffin (small variety) or toast, a glass of juice and a cup of coffee (not sure about tea as it wasn’t offered) for each person. That’s it. You must order this the night before, as they only prepare what is ordered. If you want another muffin or croissant, you must order it at a cost of $1.50 per item the night before.

The owner mans the desk until about 9pm, so you must let them know beforehand if you are arriving late. If you use their website to reserve, I believe there is a place to mention this. I’m not sure what happens if no one is there when you get there.

The owner was genial, but not particularly welcoming. In the morning, when I politely asked what breakfast consisted of, he replied “You get what you ordered.” OK then. He also annoyed us slightly by asking three times if we were taking the boat tour around the rock.

Room Tip: Stay here for the view, not to be close to town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyAndMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
261 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Au Pic de l'Aurore in a beautiful environment overlooking Rock Percè.
We choose the motel solution with very large room (sleeping and sitting area) with private balcony just in front of Rock Percè.
The furniture was quite basic, but with all the necessary stuff. We missed not having an internal fridge to keep our stuff fresh.
Bathroom area can be improved: some refurbishing needed.
Au Pic de l'aurore is just out of Percè village (you need the car to go there) where restaurants and shops are located.
The manager is very helpful: you can book everything through him saving some money and time.
Breakfast is continental "basic", but you eat it overlooking Rock Percè and, for sure, it can compensate the not homecooked breakfast

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LB_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaletperce, Owner at Perce Au Pic de l'Aurore, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
First I would like to thank you for sharing your comments. Your comment concerning the fridge was very helpful and convinced me that it was time to place a fridge in our regular room category. I'm happy to confirm that starting in 2013, all of our units will offer a refrigerator. As for the free continental-breakfast, we try to keep our cost of operation as low as possible to offer the best price/quality ratio to the savvy travellers visiting us during the low season. One precision, the croissants and muffins are prepared by me every morning and always served fresh of the day with our excellent coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perce
1.2 mi away
Riotel Perce
Riotel Perce
#4 of 16 in Perce
222 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Motel Manoir de Perce
1.3 mi away
Le Mirage
Le Mirage
#3 of 16 in Perce
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Auberge sous les Arbres
22.3 mi away
Motel du Haut Phare
Motel du Haut Phare
#3 of 12 in Gaspe
182 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Cote Surprise
Hotel La Cote Surprise
#11 of 16 in Perce
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perce Au Pic de l'Aurore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perce Au Pic de l'Aurore

Property: Perce Au Pic de l'Aurore
Address: 1 Rd 132 W | CP 339, Perce, Quebec G0C 2L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Perce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Perce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Perce Au Pic de l'Aurore 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the experience of an authentic Perce! Our proposition: an unforgettable view on Perce and his Rock and a haven of tranquility away from downtown Perce. Cosy chalets, fully equipped with fireplace, kitchenette and living room area. Also available a 5 bedrooms house, a 2 bedroom apartment, a studio and several motel accommodation. Location by the week or the day. You will have the choice between several activities: boat cruises, kayak, scuba diving or simply a trek through the 45 KM of trails in the area. No pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Perce Au Pic de l'Aurore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perce Au Pic De L'Aurore Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing