We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“probably the best hotel in Percé”
Review of Hotel La Normandie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Normandie
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Perce
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Simple and clean, with definitely the best view in town. Litterally on the beach, maybe too much so. Excellent service from very polite staff. Great location. Good prices.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jflafond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 284 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2010

La Normandie is located close to the south end of hotels in the Pierce hotel district and offers a stunning view of Pierce Rock and Bonaventura Island.

Check in was smooth and efficient with clerks who commanded a good grasp of the English language – a nice surprise in a region of the world where French is the prevalent language spoken. Our room, while comfortable, was not excessive in size but did offer enough space to accommodate our 3 nights comfortably. Extra needs, such as an extra towel request, were handled well by the front desk without problem or complaint.

The hotel does offer a nice public sitting area up a small set of stairs from the main lobby. In season, it appears that there is also an adjoining bar to this room – which was closed during our time there. The hotel also features a nice garden area on the back – waterfront side – of the hotel which connects to the village boardwalk

The hotel does not offer air conditioning but did provide a fan in the room for such needs. During our visit heating was actually the needed amenity and that worked well. You should be aware that the hotel is a 100% non smoking hotel. This was not an issue for us as we are non smokers but may be a concern if you do in fact smoke.

The hotel does sit in the village of Pierce and as such there are many dining options nearby in addition to the hotel restaurant. The hotel also does serve a breakfast “buffet” which consists of fruit, quiche, toast and muffins, cheese, pate, cereals and bacon.

The hotel offers free parking which was ample for the time we were there but I could see how it might be a bit tight for those visiting during the “peak” season. Also you should be aware that this hotel does not have any elevators. Therefore, you should be prepared to use the stairs to get between floors and to carry your luggage up and down.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelnrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

The view is absolutely fabulous and the grounds are lovely. We walked right out of our room on to the boardwalk and down to the sea. You can walk anywhere in the town. The dining room has a nice menu but we didn't think it was anything special. The dessert was great. Not one staff member was friendly--from our waiter to the receptionist. Also, as we were leaving the room, the maids were in the hallway. When I came back to pick up the last of our things to take to the car, they were already in the room stripping the beds. Couldn't kick us out soon enough. Beds weren't great.
You can get a great view from any hotel in the town.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank edaerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

I booked La Normandie on the strength of other positive Tripadvisor reviews and CAA rating.
Although the staff were friendly, the room clean and the location superb, it did not make up for the fact that this was an old tired bed, hard and uncomfortable, old baffed-out pillows, and a cheap blanket. For these prices, I have stayed in much better motels at half the cost.
I had never considered what a mistake it was not to have A/C in the room. There was a fan supplied in the room which we needed, but it meant I could not close the blinds in order to get outside air into the room. It was hot (by Gaspe standards). Not a good nights sleep.
Were we too fussy? Other reviewers loved the place. Sometimes I wonder what they stayed at before.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YukonRoadKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Exceptional views of Perce Rock and Bonaventure Island. Tastefully decorated rooms that are very well maintained. Perfect location in the town, within walking distance of everything. This hotel exceeded my expectations and then some. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, wish that we had stayed longer than 2 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

All hotels could take a lesson from Hotel Normandie. Front Desk staff pleasant and knowledgable. Our room rate for three adults was $121 plus taxes but they were offering a rate of $315 for a three course dinner and breakfast buffet including taxes and tips. Because we had a late lunch, we passed on this offer. We were not pushed to go with the package. We made a booking for dinner at 7:30 and would normally complain about the slow (another word would be leisurely) service as the view and the atmosphere was perfect. We all had something different: flank steak with maple and shallot sauce; linguine with shrimp and sun dried tomatoes in a cream sauce; and chicken with a citrus cream cheese sauce on a salad bed. We all raved and tasted each others' entrees (except one who didn't want to share because it was so good). Total cost for dinner with two glasses of wine and tip and taxes: $70.00. Breakfast the next day is a buffet. Ours was bacon, quiche, various pastries and breads, cereal and fruits, juice and coffee for $10.50 per person. Our room was on the ground floor with two double beds and a walk out overlooking the boardwalk, beach and the most perfect view of Perce Rock. I'd go back in a minute.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MasterNavigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

This hotel is definitely above average, and even though we had a 1st floor room, the view was spectacular of the Perce rock and the bay. The gardens at the hotel are well maintained and add to the very pleasant ambiance and waterviews. We could walk out a sliding glass door directly to the gardens and boardwalk along the water (leading to restaurants and shops as well). We enjoyed seeing a harbor seal and whales swimming in the bay. The room was a comfortable size, as was the bathroom, and there were AAA 3-diamond creature comforts. There was no A/C so the room was a bit warm and we used the fan provided in the room, but most of the time, that would not be an issue. We ate breakfast in the restaurant which also had spectacular views, and it was an above-average experience, as well. The only negative, and an unusual surprise in this day and age, was a lack of (or malfunctioning) anti-scald valve to the shower--when the toilet was flushed, the water in the shower became scalding hot, which I mentioned to the front desk. I was told that the problem was supposed to have been fixed, but apparently not. It was a real safety hazard. Overall, we would have stayed longer there if we had had the time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perce
1.2 mi away
Perce Au Pic de l'Aurore
0.1 mi away
Riotel Perce
Riotel Perce
#4 of 16 in Perce
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Mirage
Le Mirage
#3 of 16 in Perce
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Auberge sous les Arbres
0.1 mi away
Hotel Motel Manoir de Perce
38.5 mi away
Hotel La Cote Surprise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Normandie

Address: 221 Rte. 132 Ouest | C.p. 129, Perce, Quebec G0C 2L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Perce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Perce
Price Range: $204 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Normandie 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Normandie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel La Normandie
Hotel La Normandie Perce, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing