We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with delicious breakfast!”
Review of Gite Le Presbytere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gite Le Presbytere
Ranked #1 of 14 Perce B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leefdaal, Belgium
Level Contributor
209 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great place with delicious breakfast!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The location of the B & B is perfect, just a few minutes from the restaurants, cruises and shops.
The building itself is beautiful, an old priest residence, nicely decorated. We had the so called Family room, with a shared bathroom. There is a large bathroom, a toilet, and a separate shower, so there is little chance that you will get into trouble with other guests.

The room itself was far too big for us, but the original room we booked was no longer free due to a change in our travel plans. In the first room stood a double and a single bed, in a second another double bed (and okay, double beds are less comfortabel than queen beds…). Moreover, we had a balcony, which must certainly be very pleasant in the summer.

The breakfasts at Au Presbytère are memorable, between the best we have had! A huge variety, definitely something for everyone. Bread to toast, sweet and savory, fruit, an egg dish (the first morning we had a delicious poached egg). Everything is very tasty, you have to stay a few days if you like to have tried everything! Moreover, it is served at a large table, where guests can sit together.

Michel is very friendly, and gives a very good explanation of what you can do, and where you can eat (and where you should not eat!). He also did some laundry for us, without problems (and without fees!), which was very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyvD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perce-gite, Owner at Gite Le Presbytere, responded to this review, January 13, 2016
Your comments on our bed and breakfast
were deliciously appreciated...but never testified.
It is never too late to say thanks. Have a nice
year of 2016 and be happy.
Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
72
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mont Tremblant, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Le Presbytere, Perce, the first week of October 2012 while we were traveling around the Gaspe. We were so fortunate to have been able to find a room in Le Presbytere as we were so pleasantly surprised to find a lodging that was comfortable, clean and cozy. The church artifacts are quite interesting and make this a unique accommodation. The owner/host is a lovely person who took the time to make sure that we were comfortable and also to recommend some good restaurants. He also gave us some historical background on the area which we found very fascinating. The breakfast was a gourmet experience as Michel prepares a wonderful medley of cheeses, compotes, jams, cured meat, great bread, fruit, yogurt and the best scrambled eggs I have ever had! Delish!!

I must also mention that we accidentally left our iPad at Le Presbytere after we had departed and had been on the road for a few hours. We called Michel and he was so obliging in offering to send the iPad by priority post the next morning. We received our iPad within a few days and we were so appreciative of Michel's "beyond the call of duty" gesture. Merci! Merci!

Highly recommend this Gite in a beautiful location on the Gaspe Peninsula!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perce-gite, Owner at Gite Le Presbytere, responded to this review, January 13, 2016
October 2012. We should be ashamed for not having
sent you our immediate appreciation. But who said
it was never too late to appology? Merci. Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at this lovely B & B in September, 2012. The house is extraordinaire. The rooms were comfortable (we stayed in the downstairs room). The porch area with the computers was a nice addition to the lovely sitting room downstairs as well. The morning breakfast was unbelievable- better than any we've had all around the world. Michel takes pride in his special hot dish and features many special extras as well. We highly recommend this B &B - worth a stop in the cute town of Perce. We were two couples traveling together and all agreed this B & B was a great find!

Room Tip: The room downstairs has a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieL44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perce-gite, Owner at Gite Le Presbytere, responded to this review, January 13, 2016
We are very very late in sending you
our appreciation for your nice comments
on your bed and breakfast. Happy that you loved it
and hopefully you will accept ou appologies
for the delay in being back to you.
Best souvenirs from Carole and Myself (Michel)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My parents are in their mid-80s and don't use the Internet, so I'm passing on their comments. Michel (bilingual) was a great host and a fantastic chef, making delicious and filling hot breakfasts, featuring wild game and a different egg dish each day, cereals, breads, fresh fruits, juices, etc. He had roughly 10 guests each night and all were amazed at the wonderful breakfast. Their bed and room were clean and comfortable. Michel took them for an nice drive and showed them local sights and the view from the top of the mountain. They were celebrating their 65th wedding anniversary and stayed for 4 nights. They were completely happy with their stay here and with the kind hospitality (and cooking!) of Michel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perce-gite, Owner at Gite Le Presbytere, responded to this review, January 13, 2016
Gret comments and although we had read them,
we cannot go any longer without thanking you.
Please thank your parents for their appreciation.
We are still here. Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This B&B was a perfect choice for our family trip to Gaspé. We stayed three nights which was about right to get a sense of the area. The house is immaculate, the rooms are very comfortable. We stayed in the mini-suite which was well-suited to our family of 4. The rooms were small but we could gather on the porch or elsewhere in the house. Most, but not all, of the rooms share bathrooms. There are three however so sharing was never a problem.

Michel was very welcoming. He provided us with lots of information about where to eat, options for walks/hikes of varying lengths, a nice drive, where to find the local smoked salmon he served for breakfast etc. He arranged a spot for us to play cards in the evenings. There are plenty of places to sit and relax. The pièce de resistance, however, is breakfast. Whatever your tastes are, Michel is bound to have considered them. He will satisfy your expectations as well as provide you with ample opportunity to stretch a little by trying something new (we tried sanglier, which is wild boar). There is an abundance of fruit, jam, bread, pâté, cereal, juices, etc as his particular egg creation every day. Often breakfast at a B&B is a sugar-laden affair, but Michel understands what it takes to get the day started right! It served my family of diverse tastes (read picky eaters) well and set us up each day for whale-watching and hiking. In addition, there is friendly conversation (in three languages one morning) as guests compare advice about what to see and where to go.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perce-gite, Owner at Gite Le Presbytere, responded to this review, January 13, 2016
Google Translation
Que de belles remarques, que nous lisons avec une grande attention
même si cela fait 3 ans sans retour de nous. Merci Merci Merci.
Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at this Gite (B & B) for one night on July 9, 2012. This was our 3rd. stay at this B & B. The greeting by the owner was very friendly as he showed us to our room (the largest with a double bed and private bath room) and gave us some information on Perce and his B & B. The room was very clean and comfortable and the most private of the five rooms in the establishment. When we arrived back that evening from visiting around Perce our bed was turned down and as a surpise to us two small glasses of Port and some chocolates were on the night table (a nice touch). Breakfast was delicious with eggs benedict, ham, homemade jams, toast, juice, fruit and coffee among others. We met a couple form Mexico as well as others from Quebec. Generally a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Bood the biggest room which is the only one with a private bath facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2togo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perce-gite, Owner at Gite Le Presbytere, responded to this review, January 13, 2016
Google Translation
Vous nous avez accordé 5 étoiles en 2012.
Quel bonheur vous nous aviez donné. Mais
après 3 ans, on ne peut attendre pour vous
dire Merci, un gros Merci. Au plaisir d'une nouvelle visite.
Michel, et les autres qui m'appuient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt County, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This B&B had been recommended to us by friends who had stayed there several years before; and they were right! When we arrived, I told our host Michel I needed a small screwdriver to fix my glasses, and as soon as we had settled in, he brought a kit with several dozen. Problem solved.

The B&B itself is located at the end of a road next to a magnificent church and its cemetery. It is well situated there. It is very quiet and it is a short distance from a dirt road which soon forks, one way leading to a Grotto and the other the top of Monte Ste-Anne. Depending on your preference, you can either drive or hike to these places. The host Michel is very knowledgeable and bilingual which helped us as limited French speakers. At breakfast he was able to speak to us and the French guests as well as be an interpreter so we could converse between ourselves. He had even helped us over the phone before we had started our trip to confirm a reservation we had made at another B&B in the Gaspe' region where the host understood little English. The room was clean and well done despite the age of the property and the breakfasts were excellent with his collection of 200 or so blue decorated plates lining the walls providing a topic of conversation. However, if you really need a TV, there is only one in the common area, but not in the room. But there are 2 computers located in the entry porch that were available 24/7 to access the internet if you so desired.

If I might add, there are 2 things you might want to do when visiting the Perce' area. The Crevasse, a deeply eroded fissure in the ground just outside town, makes an interesting destination for a hike. And the boat tour and ride to Bonaventure Island is also well worth it, especially if you are able to hike across the island to see the vast colony of gannets that roost there.

Room Tip: We chose the downstairs room with the private bath which is located off a common area. Because it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perce-gite, Owner at Gite Le Presbytere, responded to this review, January 13, 2016
The souvenir that you note in your comments
brings us back to some 3 years....but I remember it
as if it was yesterday. Thankk you and our appologies
for having waited so long to testify of our appreciation.
Have a nice year of 2016. Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perce
0.7 mi away
Perce Au Pic de l'Aurore
0.6 mi away
Riotel Perce
Riotel Perce
#4 of 16 in Perce
222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Motel Manoir de Perce
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Mirage
Le Mirage
#3 of 16 in Perce
228 reviews
24.4 mi away
Auberge sous les Arbres
22.9 mi away
Motel du Haut Phare
Motel du Haut Phare
#3 of 12 in Gaspe
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gite Le Presbytere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gite Le Presbytere

Property: Gite Le Presbytere
Address: 47, rue de l'Eglise, C.P. 178, Perce, Quebec G0C 2L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Perce
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Perce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A century-old historic presbytery, living-rooms and rest areas, large sunny veranda, an outside terrace, comfortable and bright rooms, excellent service, an inventive and somptuous breakfast, a view of Perce Rock, repeated awards of excellence! All of this...a spet away from the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gite Le Presbytere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gite Le Presbytere Perce, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing