We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you can try your beer before you buy it!”
Review of Old English Pub

Old English Pub
Ranked #10 of 49 Restaurants in Gananoque
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“you can try your beer before you buy it!”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Classic English entrees, draught beers and scotches.

I had the Buffalo Pie (a must for meat pie lovers) and my girl friend had the Liver and Onions .... excellent crust on the liver. The crowd was mostly from Quebec, the staff was warm and welcoming. One of the best pubs in Canada!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Al-Awan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    102
    41
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent value for your buck!”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The food is really good pub fare. You will NOT be disappointed, especially after you've eaten in other Canada restaurants. Relative to other places the food here was very inexpensive, portions were large and the beer was cold and cheap, too. The mini-yorkies were a great start and the burger hit the spot afterwards. They eve know how to make chips (french fries) correctly from fresh potatoes! Most places single fry which is completely wrong and you can easily tell. Seemed like a family run restaurant and is showed they cared a lot.

One other important note, being used to US restaurants, where most food comes out in 10 min for apps and 20-30 min for mains, we could not help but notice most restaurants in Canada take their time, which is fine, but just didn't work for our schedule. This place was FAST and GOOD and bucked the Canadian trend. Cheers to the Old English pub.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zigsym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarks summit
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Piece of Ireland in 1000 Islands”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We visited Gananoque with friends for a week of fishing. I must admit I almost spent as much time in The Old English Pub as i did on the river! We loved the service staff and cleanliness of the pub. The food was excellent as can be attested to by the large crowds every time we were there. We especially enjoyed the Halibut fish-and-chips which is far superior to normal fish-and-chips. We have only had Halibut fish-and-chips before in Banff and Salt Lake City. The selection of draft beers was superb, our favorite being Smithwick's Irish Ale. We would strongly recommend this pub!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Shared a selection of the appetizers (pork sliders, wellington puddings with roast beef and fries, along with very tasty micro brew.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank cvcOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The best basic dining option in Gananoque”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Fun, old-fashioned pub atmosphere. Gets busy, so try coming early or late. Better food than we expected - if you go for fish and chips, the halibut is worth the extra splurge. Lots of good beer choices - ask for help if some are unknown. Friendly and efficient service.

Basically, Gananoque is not a great food town, and apart from a couple higher-end choices (which we decided to avoid and save our food $ for all the delicious food in Quebec), I think is simply the best option in town.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom-and-Irina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old English Pub also viewed

 

Been to Old English Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing