We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful 1800's home-well cared for and loved. A chance to share” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 12 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful 1800's home-well cared for and loved. A chance to share”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed one night-I wish it had been a week. Marion and Don love their home and are so very accomodating to share it with strangers. They are very hard workers-share in the all around duties. Don recommended three wonderful restaurants-one of which we would probably not have tried tried on our own. The food was wonderful and made to order at this establishment so if you go give yourself enough time. we were going to a play and had ten minutes to spare. Back to Sleepy Hollow-Ben asked for ketchup for his sausage and Marion found the cutest little pitcher to serve the condiment in. Lovely fresh breads and jams. All sorts of precious items to look at and enjoy. Don't miss the Eden Room-so light and garden-like with little animal pictures. We don't have black squirrels in Western NY so I was thrilled and a chatty brown squirrel. I understand through Marion that they also have a blonde squirrel who arrives about 8:30 am. I missed it but hope to see it another time. The only thing I could be hyper critical about was that the towels were a little rough(I bet it is because they are environmentally conscious and that is very ok with me) and a waste basket in the room as well as in the bathroom would be convenient. That helped to keep my waistline in check so why am I complaining? I'm not. You can walk to everything. Marion and Don are very friendly and have great advice. Exceptionally clean. Go visit Don and Marion. If you are disappointed, you probably wouldn't be happy anywhere or with anything. I myself, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    46
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
154
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in August. Room was excellent, breakfasts were superb and Don provided valuable advice on local dining.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twinkieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

My wife and I just finished our stay there last Sunday. We were there for 4 days. Let me tell you it was incredible! The food was amazing with 6 choices for breakfast everyday. The rooms were very clean and spacious. Plus because of the location, you can walk anywhere in town! I would highly recommend this B and B to anyone. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We loved the top floor. It is a bit of a trek up the stairs upon arrival. However, once you make t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

The B&B is located walking distance from the Marina and Town Center. Sleepy Hollow is beyond the boring branded hotel and motel chains. You enter a world of really nice people doing what they do best, meeting and greeting guests. Making you part of their world, giving you sound advice about the local area. It doesn't matter whether you want to eat out, sightsee or just potter around, they know where to find just what you're looking for.

The breakfast reminded me of the Colonial era and the garden at the back has an amazing vibe. I would definitely recommend this B&B over the others I saw on Church / King street.

I stayed in the Provence Room (Third Floor) with my girlfriend on the weekend of September 3rd 2011.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al-Awan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

My wife and I arranged to stay here 2 nights. When checking in, we were provided with an access code for the side door which worked without incident the 1st night. In the morning, we had a fairly good breakfast and departed for day of activities. Upon returning 930pm on the 2nd night, we were unable to get back into the building as the door code had been changed. The owners were out and no answer on the phone. We waited for 2.5h then gave up and had to get a room at a nearby hotel instead.

The owners were quite apologetic and refunded the cost of our entire stay - minimally acceptable.

Aside from the terrible experience above, the B & B was quaint but a bit tired.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BATT149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Our host and hostess were very cooperative with our group "wine & cheese" on the porch even though some of the group were staying elsewhere. The house and rooms maintain the local historic flavour but enjoy modern amenities. Clean and comfy. Breakfast was delicious too.
P.S. if your bathroom habits require total privacy, be sure to ask for a room with walls between the bed/sitting area and the bathroom, rather than a curtain.

Room Tip: Wide variety of rooms -- express your needs clearly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We are a young couple and we spent 1 night in this B&B during our honey moon. First of all its location is just the ideal base for a tour of the 1000 Islands; Gananoque is a nice little town on the river.
The B&B is exquisite; we stayed in the Avonlea Room and everything was spotless clean. The whole house is beautiful and well furnished.
We regret not to have had more days to spend reading in the patio or in the beautiful reading room.
Our breakfast was huge and delicious, served in a fine china set and we also had a wide range of choices in terms of breakfast time and food.
We definitely recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_elisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
0.4 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
7.0 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast
Address: 95 King St W | in Ontario Canada, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Kingston and Brockville with the Thousand Islands on our doorstep, come discover Gananoque's Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast. Built in 1905, Sleepy Hollow is a three-story mansion, complete with a turret and wraparound porch a perfect place to escape, relax, or arrange a special get together....like a wedding! Your hosts, Don and Marion, specialize in making your stay in our home a pleasant and memorable experience. We have restored this romantic home to its original splendour. Breakfast is included, after all, we are a BED and BREAKFAST. Great restaurants a short walk away for lunches and dinners that will also be memorable. Gananoque has a Micro Brewery, Gananoque Brewing Company again just a short walk from Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing