We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, friendly staff, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights here in May 2014 as part of a longer holiday touring through Ontario and Quebec. We really enjoyed our time here and found the staff to be very friendly, the room to be large and comfortable (we were fortunate to be upgraded to a suite - I always appreciate this when travelling) and the location to be perfect for visiting the area. There's plenty of parking and the restaurant / bar next door (Cousins on King Bar & Grill) is fine for an evening meal if you don't fancy driving anywhere. There were a few coach parties coming and going whilst we were there but that wasn't an issue, and generally things were very quiet - we did decide to visit Tim Horton's for breakfast to avoid any potential crowds in the morning but that was our choice (there's one just down the road - turn left out of the drive and it's on your left after a few hundred yards). It's a very pleasant place to stay and represented good value for money - we'd certainly consider returning here whenever we're in the area again. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_EX_GAN_GM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We hope to see you again if you are ever back in Canada.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 489 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

Our room was immaculate, comfortable, and very attractive. The hotel was situated on the outskirts of town and very close to restaurants and other attractions; close enough to 401 for easy access but far enough away for a peaceful night. Breakfast was great, staff very friendly - we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamont1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_EX_GAN_GM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and thank you for your comments. Our housekeepers do a terrific job ensuring the rooms are very clean. We hope to see you again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hotel is clean and well situated in its proximity to the 401. The staff are friendly and the grounds well kept. It is also within walking distance to the casino and some local eateries. The only negative is the price which is slightly elevated, but the hotel is more appealing than the surrounding hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jays201517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed at this property because of its location which is basically the midpoint of the freeway between Toronto and Montreal. When an extra time window opened up for me, I was able to squeeze a sidetrip into the Canadian capital of Ottawa which was only 90 mins drive away. In general, this hotel is very well maintained one. Clean, comfortable room augmented by friendly and prompt service. The free wifi and hot breakfast completes the value proposition. Will stay here again if I happen to be in the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoniWDenpasar_Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I recently stayed in this property for 3 nights and it was a great property. I am a travel agent and I stay in a lot of hotels/motels and this property was so clean and the staff was especially friendly and helpful.............

I was checking the area out for a possible tour in 2015 and it was a very enjoyable time.....

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyndeetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_EX_GAN_GM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express, Gananoque located in the beautiful Thousand Islands.

We hope it is possible for your tour company to make our location a part of your tour in 2015.

Thank you,
Phil Brons
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

When we checked in on a Friday afternoon and we were put in a room on the first floor right down the hall from the pool and breakfast area. At first I thought, oh no this is going to be a noisy stay. To my surprise, it was a nice, quiet night once we settled in. The room was nice, warm and clean. The next morning the breakfast was good and the pool was nice. I warmed up in the sauna after taking a dip in the pool. The casino paid for our night stay that night and we only live an hour drive away but if we ever feel like we need a night away we may think of this hotel. The lady that worked that breakfast area was great. She checked things frequently while my family and I were in the area eating and reading the paper.

Room Tip: I think that the room we had was a good room and it was right down the hall from the pool and breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tlutz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_EX_GAN_GM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

The staff here at the Holiday Inn Express are glad you enjoyed your stay and congrats on your luck at the casino. We hope to have the pleasure of accommodating you again.

Thank you
Phil Brons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

for a small trip to the beautiful Thousand Islands on the Ontario side. perfect Lodging with everything you may need, or for what we just needed. all Rooms are clean with a microwave empty fridge to cool your personal food, good heat or A/C, spacious, right size pool and Sauna, just the right Continental breakfast. Good service, its newish.

Room Tip: lathough you may book in advance, if they have availability they may give you the best they can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChanyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_EX_GAN_GM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you can stay with us in the near future.

Thank you,
Phil Brons
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
1.0 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 10 in Gananoque
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque

Address: 777 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range: $102 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few Hotels in Gananoque Can Match Our Features The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 1000 Islands - Gananoque, one of the newest Gananoque, Ontario hotels, is situated in the heart of the Thousand Islands. Our hotel's location is just off Hwy 2 and close to Hwy 401. Leisure guests enjoy the convenience of our St. Lawrence River hotel's location, which is close to historic Gananoque and the Gananoque Boat Line. Day trips to Boldt Castle, scenic cruises, sport fishing and Fort Henry are easily accessible from here. You can test your luck at the 1000 Islands OLG Casino, just 0.5 km away from us. Few hotels in Gananoque, Ontario offer corporate guests a better location than we do. We're halfway between Ottawa & Syracuse and Montreal & Toronto. There are three meeting rooms that can handle up to 200 guests, with catering, video conferencing and A/V equipment for the perfect business event. Naturally, there is high-speed Internet access to keep you connect during your stay in the Thousand Islands. Our hotel's upscale amenities will delight every guest. You can start your day with a visit to the free hot breakfast buffet and relax at the end of it in the indoor pool or sauna. The bright and airy Fitness Centre offers a large TV to make workouts fly by. Our rooms feature a microwave and fridge for added value. Our award-winning Gananoque hotel's location and amenities will make your 1000 Islands visit just about perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque Hotel Gananoque
Holiday Inn Express Gananoque
Holiday Inn Gananoque
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing