We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely couple!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riverwalk Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 12 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Tanis and Ken worked hard to make sure our stay was a pleasant one. The room we stayed in was a bit small, but it's unusual to find large bedrooms in a B&B. The bed was comfortable and the house is in a quiet neighborhood. As others have said, it's a short walk to the Boatline and you MUST take a boat tour of the 1000 Islands. Their recommendation for dinner was spot on.

Room Tip: Not sure, but think the room we had is the only one that has windows that open to the street which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanis W, Owner at Riverwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for sending in your review. It has been guests like yourselves that have made this year so much fun and such a big success for us. Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 71 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Spent two fabulous nights at this lovely B&B. The home has been newly renovated to update it's amenities while carefully maintaining it's old fashioned charm. Exceptionally clean and comfortable! Located within walking distance of EVERYTHING and hosts, Tanis and Ken, can direct you to all the sights and cool local spots. Apparently, this is Ken and Tanis "retirement" career. Suites them to a tee. They are both warm, friendly and easy to talk to. Also, soooo obliging and helpful. The food is to die for!!! Tanis is an amazing cook! You simply can't come to Gan (as they lovingly call it) not stay here. I've paid a lot more to stay at other B&Bs, but never got the same feeling of warmth and welcome that I got here. Three thumbs up!

Room Tip: I stayed in River View. Loved the jacuzzi!! Bed was very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanis W, Owner at Riverwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you so very much for the "glowing" review. Please know how much Ken and I appreciate the time it took and all the kind words. We try our best to make staying here a pleasant experience and one that you would like to repeat!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you are planning a trip into the 1000 Island Region- there is a place YOU MUST STAY: The Riverwalk B&B!!!! Walking Distance to everything- especially to the Boatline.
The rooms are all cosy, tranquil and clean. The rooms are nearly new renovated..
You also find a living room, were you can have a nice evening- talking to Tanis and Ken. Their both are the best. You feel really like home away from home...
Tanis baked a fresh triple Choclate-Cake for us as desert in the evening and fresh muffins for breakfast. The Frech Toast made from a Croissants was also a delicious experience...
We missed our 3 cats - so we was allowed to borrow Angel - their lovely cat :-(
The kitchen is Tanis favourite spot....and this is a great fortune for all the guests!
We can really recommend this B&B!!!

Room Tip: Go to their homepage and chosse a room....2 have a Queen Bed and one two Twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naplesmaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanis W, Owner at Riverwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

You guys were so much fun. We enjoyed hearing about your travels and hosting your stay here in Gananoque. I know its a long way but we hope someday you will find your way back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

A lot of people describe their B&B stays as 'Home away from Home' I'd say Riverwalk is like
coming home! From the moment we stepped in the front door we felt like we were with family(in a good way)
There are three beautiful, comfortably furnished rooms. Can't speak for the other two, but our bed was very comfortable, done up with lovely linens, a relaxing respite after a day of driving and touring. The entire house was well organized and clean. The inn is conveniently located w/in walking distance of the water, good restaurants and shops. There are no TV's in the rooms, but one in a common area. We asked about a particular program that was on that night they checked the time of broadcast and made sure the TV was on to the right channel for us to watch. A small thing, but it just made our night a little nicer. Breakfast was delicious... conversation was comfortable and fun, we even learned how to pronounce Gananoque - no minor task!!
You only have to speak with Tanis on the phone to know that Tanis and Ken have certainly chosen their second careers well, running a B&B is a perfect fit for their warm eager personalities...you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanis W, Owner at Riverwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Hard to believe but I finally learned how to reply on Trip Advisor. Thank you so much for a great review. It was a lot of fun having you stay with us and we expect a return visit anytime! We have a new front porch and it will be perfect for morning coffee and a muffin as soon as the weather turns around. It's a little nippy at the moment :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My friend and I stayed here in July 2013. Tanis and Ken are great hosts. Our room was immaculate and the beds were super comfy. I would definitely recommend this B&B and hope to return someday. It is within walking distance of down town, boat cruises, live theatre, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomagerOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanis W, Owner at Riverwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

I'm sorry this so late but I have just learned how to respond. Please know how much we appreciated your stay with us and all your kind words. Please come and visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My mom came to visit me from Germany and we drove for a one night stay to Gananoque and stayed at the Riverwalk Bed and Breakfast.
Tanis and Ken were super friendly and made us feel at home! The whole Bed&Breakfast is nice furnished with a wonderful taste. The breakfast Tanis made for us was rich and delicious with home made food. You can walk to all the boat tours and the lovely old city of Gananoque. I can highly recommend to stay with Tanis and Ken!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anni_MTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanis W, Owner at Riverwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to respond on Trip Advisor. It was lovely meeting your Mom and we are so glad you enjoyed your time away together. I hope you can make a return visit someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We went to Gananoque for a show at the Playhouse and an overnight stay and chose Riverwalk. The location is great --we parked the car and walked everywhere. Tanis and Ken made us feel like we were visiting family. Everything is super clean and the rooms are beautifully decorated. Breakfast is always our favourite part of a B & B visit and we were not disappointed. We would definitely stay here again!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mlynnottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanis W, Owner at Riverwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Well a very long overdue "Thank you" for staying with us. I'm a whole lot better at making muffins that using the computer but promise to get better!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
6.8 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 10 in Gananoque
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.1 mi away
Seaway Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverwalk Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwalk Bed and Breakfast

Address: 146 John St, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range: $85 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverwalk Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverwalk is located in the Town of Gananoque, gateway to the 1000 islands,and is just a short walk from the mighty St. Lawrence river and so much more. Your hosts, Tanis and Ken Wilson, are waiting to welcome you into their newly renovated home. Riverwalk B&B has 3 clean and comfortable rooms to choose from. All 3 bedrooms offer en suites and come with a fresh and delicious homemade breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Riverwalk Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverwalk Bed And Breakfast Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing