We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and funky lunch spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Purple House Cafe

The Purple House Cafe
Ranked #2 of 49 Restaurants in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, Pizza, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are closed for the season. Thankyou all for a great season! See you in May.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun and funky lunch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

I took my sister-in-law, a local, for a birthday lunch. She had never been and I had read such favorable reviews I had to give it a try. Our paninis were wonderful--grilled perfectly and served on the patio hot off the grill with the goat cheese creamy and gooie, and the portobello firm and really flavorful.

The interior has a fun retro vibe and the outdoor patio is really charming with lots of reclaimed and upcycled doors, etc., and the garden is charming and well maintained. I can't wait to go back in the evening for the pizza.

There is a really cute little gift shop just in front of the cafe, owned by a clay artist, that has some fun and well priced little gifts that is worth going to when you are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    57
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“QUIRKY BACK TO NATURE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Owner / Operator is delightful and a mistress of making HER place YOUR place for the time you are there.
The atmosphere is delightfully "DIFFERENT", the service attentive and the food enjoyable with a strong influence of "NATURAL" & "LOCAL"

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PATRICK D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

The pizza was fantastic. The atmosphere is low-key and relaxing. It was fun to sit outside and watch the chef do his thing at the outdoor oven. The folks running the cafe are super friendly. It's right near the boat dock, so it's a great place to go before or after a cruise. Best meal and service we had in three days in Gananoque.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Qiyili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Tasty food, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had a delicious panini. The menu options are limited, so some family members brought food from elsewhere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stopped here for a light lunch while waiting for a cruise. Firstly this place had great coffee, (and that's sometimes a struggle in some places) and served very tasty paninis. But I also have to say the service was warm and friendly. Sitting outside in the garden to the side was very relaxing. Well worth a stop while travelling through.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Purple House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing