We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colonial Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque(Gananoque)(Great Value!)
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gananoque Inn and Spa(Gananoque)(Great Value!)
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$49
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Motel(Gananoque)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveler rating
51
88
51
36
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
88
51
36
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolnightly entertainmentbus tripserenity gardenmassage roomgames roombus loadset asidesteam roomtennis courtscontinental breakfastfrom franceyogurtcouples massagehot tubquiet roombit dated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 249 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our seniors group have been taking an annual trip to the resort for the past five years. We always have a terrific time every year as we go someplace a little different each year for our short day trips.. The price is right.. All the staff are wonderful, always helpfull. The resort is kept clean and tidy. The food is home cooked and good. The entertainment is top notch. There is something for everybody. The ones that go like the idea that there is more than one thing to do, and you do not have to go on the day trips if you prefer to go elsewhere, or just enjoy the inside and outdoor pools, hot tub or sauna, and well as massages and the walking trails at the resort itself..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abcgeogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our seniors group travel to Colonial Resort every year in June for 5 days. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is an outdoor pool and indoor pool, hot tub, sauna . You can book massages or book to get your hair done at the front desk. The rooms are comfortable and clean and include a small fridge, a coffee machine and a hair dryer. There is nightly entertainment. When you come on a group trip there is also an excursion every day, or a trip to the casino. The food is good and the dining rooms are kept in great shape. There is a dart board, computer, shuffleboard , checkers and other games available for the guests. It is an easy walk into Gananoque. I love going there, I find it a really relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

While on a bus trip to Ottowa we stayed at Colonial Resort for 3 nights. The facility was lovely for the price. It was exceptionally clean and cared for. The entertainment the first night was informative and the second night was really good. The third night was really disappointing. Had the entertainer stuck to the music and not tried to be funny, it might have been better. Our only complaint was the food. It was never hot. That includes both breakfast and dinner. We had three breakfasts and two dinners so it's not that we just had one bad day. The breakfast meats were cold and undercooked. The French Toast and pancakes were tough. All the food comes out at once so I'm sure it's kept warm in a microwave which toughens any bread. The wait staff and office staff and housekeeping were outstanding in friendliness and willingness to please. With a major revamp in the kitchen it could become a five star resort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemarie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Ok, For the money we all know that this is not the Ritz. We stopped on the way back from Kingston bacause it had a pool and the weather wwas hot. To our surpise it had a spa and an opening for my wife to get a massage.

The rooms were average. The hot water was a bit of an issue for showers. However, for the price it is wahat you would expect.

The pool was clean and enjoyable, the breakfast was a buffet and included with the room. They had a cute tranquility room and an indoor pool as well. My wife's massage was great!

Over all, it is to be recommended for the cost. We had just spent a fortune at the Waring House and this was the perfect last day of our trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar. We took the king size bed.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Very old rooms. Bed is so hard, you cant sleep whole night on it, you need to stretch half way the night. Realy need to change the matrasses.
Friendly staff.
The mentioned WiFi in every room, its NOT true. No connection in your room, and poor WiFi quality in the main building.
Breakfast is fine.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irma_en_edwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews