We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist Rip-off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Belleville
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tourist Rip-off”
Reviewed August 30, 2006

This place looked nice on their website, although expensive. When we got there, it was nothing more than a motel at hotel prices. The room was damp and smelled of mildew. The "courtyard" outside our room was mostly overgrown weeds. The porch was too hot to use, as the air conditioner vented directly onto the porch. All this for only $175 per night! A terrible tourist rip-off.

  • Liked — Nice pool.
  • Disliked — Way too expensive.
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jubejube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupsalesGananoque, Front Office Manager at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Country Squire Resort.
We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to provide the best experience possible for each and every guest. As a testament to our strive for perfection, we have taken steps to ensure that this will never happen again. You deserve the best service, and our night staff failed to provide you with that service. Upon check out our apologies were verbally transpired to your wife and management comped your room due to the inconvenience you had experienced. It was an unfortunate turn of events , especially with the weather and the night staff out clearing the walk ways and ice ensuring that our guests were looked after. Once again our apologies.
Harry Randav/Owner
Arlene/Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    158
    145
    60
    47
See reviews for
212
219
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minden, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2006

The Best Western Country Squire Inn was a real pleasure to stay at. The rooms were neat and clean, the facilities were well kept and the staff were friendly and very helpful. We would stay there again without hesitation.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Skye3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2006

We usually spend our vacations at the cottage, but decided to try something different this year. We booked hotels through the internet relying on the pictures on their web sites. When we pulled up in front of the Best Western Country Squire Inn, it looked okay, nothing special really. When I went inside to check us in, there was a real homey feel to the place. We changed our booking from one night, one room, to two nights, two rooms and let the kids have their own room. Eddie looked after us, meeting every one of our needs. He showed us all the styles of rooms that were available and gave us the grand tour. This resort met all my families needs. Two pools, one indoor, one outdoor, tennis courts, squash courts, basketball nets, indoor and out, restaurant (great food), spa, gift shop contenintal breakfast, night watch on the parking lot, the amenity list can go on and on, but what I liked the most was the "family" feeling we got staying there. I would recommed if you are passing through the area you give them a try, you will not be disappointed. I have already given the name and number to several friends. Country Squire Resort you should be proud.....especially of your staff, they we all truly amazing.

Helpful?
2 Thank Eus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 14, 2006

My wife and I were looking for somewhere to go this weekend to get out of the excessive heat. We agreed on Gananoque, just a short drive from Ottawa. I read the reviews, called a couple of hotels in Gan, and then called the Best Western Country Squire. I spoke with Eddie in reservations, who quickly convinced me that this was the place to stay in Gananoque.
We arrived on Friday and were greeted by Eddie, on duty at the Front desk. A quick check-in and we were in our room, changed and ready to hit the pool. We decided to have dinner @ the hotel on the patio. Another good choice. Next it was off to the Casino, about a 1 minute drive, where my wife was able to win a few dollars. Check out was simple and quick. All in all a very relaxing and enjoyable time, clean rooms, good food and excellent service.

Eddie, you and the rest of the staff, keep up the great work.

We will be back soon and I'll definately recommend the Best Western Country Squire Inn to all my friends and co-workers.

Thaks very much for an excellent time

Gord & Gail Campbell
Ottawa ON

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheatfield, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2006

July 10, 2006
We have just returned from the Best Western Country Squire Resort in Gananoque. We had a wonderful time. The staff were very friendly, courteous, and there to please, especially one in particular named Eddie. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay at a family oriented Hotel. There is many things for everyone of all ages to do. Indoor pool, outdoor pool, which is very well cared for. They have an exercise room and cardio room, which is great also. We stayed in the Penthouse suite, which was very clean and comfortable. We had a chance to see other rooms, and they were all nicely decorated and very clean, making it enjoyable to stay there.
There was a great restaurant on the premises which had good food and entertainment. The hotel is located in a location which is easy to get around town, and not too far from any of the attractions that are part of the town.
The staff were all very eager to please making it a very enjoyable stay for my husband and I, and our children, ages 9 and 11.
I would recommend this hotel highly to anyone visiting this part of Canada. Besides being in a beautiful area, the hotel makes it an even more enjoyable stay.

Helpful?
3 Thank kathy1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2006

My husband & I got away last weekend and stayed at this resort. We've had problems with Best Western before, but this one was much better than any resorts that had BW with it. The room was clean and the staff was really nice. The major problem we had was that our neighbors next door had a dog that was barking all day. The resort was completely booked, so wecouldn't move anywhere else. We were in and out of the room, but my husband complained to the management. Somehow in the evening we never heard the dog again, so I don't know what the staff did, but whatever they did, it worked!
The pools were nice and clean and it was one of the better pool areas I've hung around.
The resort isn't really near the water-you have to drive, if that's a problem. There is breakfast included, but only your standard coffee, cold cereal, pastries, toast and juice.-with paper plates. Go somewhere else if you're looking for a really nice breakfast.
Overall, for the money, a good place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvie.mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 16, 2006

A great place to stay in Gananoque. No other hotel can compete with the Country Squire. In a time where large prison-like, bricks and mortar hotels seem to be the trend as hoteliers find it increasingly hard to compete in a business environment that is so demanding, the Country Squire offers a unique stay made pleasent by friendly staff, beautiful grounds, and amenities like indoor/outdoor pools, weight and cardio rooms, and ofcourse, the wonderful Tranquility Spa. You also come to appreciate the family environment made so evident by the long-time family run operation.
Great place, have been and will continue to go back for many years!

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner/Operators at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2006
We would like to thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us. As we strive to meet our guests' expectations, every comment is taken seriously. Again thank you and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1.0 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
1.6 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#6 of 11 in Gananoque
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Squire Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Squire Resort & Spa

Property: Country Squire Resort & Spa
Address: 715 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada (Formerly Best Western Country Squire Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Squire Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Gananoque hotel and enjoy a host of convenient amenities while traveling in Ontario, Canada. Country Squire Resort & Spa is conveniently located to Highway 401, Highway 2, and Thousand Islands Parkway with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Visitors will be just a short drive from OLG 1000 Islands Casino, Thousand Islands Playhouse, Boldt Castle and scenic boat tours of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Squire Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Squire Hotel Gananoque
Best Western Gananoque
Gananoque Best Western
Country Squire Resort & Spa Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing