We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Squire Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Family Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2006

A great place to stay in Gananoque. No other hotel can compete with the Country Squire. In a time where large prison-like, bricks and mortar hotels seem to be the trend as hoteliers find it increasingly hard to compete in a business environment that is so demanding, the Country Squire offers a unique stay made pleasent by friendly staff, beautiful grounds, and amenities like indoor/outdoor pools, weight and cardio rooms, and ofcourse, the wonderful Tranquility Spa. You also come to appreciate the family environment made so evident by the long-time family run operation.
Great place, have been and will continue to go back for many years!

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner/Operators at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2006
We would like to thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us. As we strive to meet our guests' expectations, every comment is taken seriously. Again thank you and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    155
    140
    60
    45
See reviews for
209
212
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2006

We stayed overnight in one of the Jacuzzi rooms. We found the room to be clean. We liked the outdoor pool. The air conditioner was especially noisy. It was one of the small units installed in the wall (could go in a window) types. We did express our concern the next morning and the desk clerk acknowledged our concern but with a smile as if to say yes we are aware of the old and noisy air conditioners. I told her I hoped that they plan to replace them with more modern quiet machines soon.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gananoque hotels

Burnaby, BC - Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2006

My sister and I - middle-aged women who live on opposite sides of the country - don't see each other that often, and so had booked a stay at the Country Squire for two nights at the end of Sept/2005 as a part of a 4-day tour we planned to spend together. After checking all the possibilities (B&B's, other hotels, etc.), we had decided to reserve a so-called "deluxe" room at the Best Western Country Squire, advertized as having a Hot Tub, a king-sized bed and a fire-place. We intended to do some serious antique hunting in Gananoque and Kingston and wanted a room in which we could really relax after all our walking about.

What a disappointment to find that only two of the jets in the Hot Tub worked - and the fireplace, not at all. The only restaurant in the hotel, was Good Time Charlie's Bar & Grill - and breakfast and lunch were served there. You can imagine the smell from the activities of the night before, AND - the wait staff seemed not to be that well-trained in food services. Each item we'd ordered for breakfast was brought to us singly, on a drinks tray.

For instance, after an almost 15-minute wait for service, we'd ordered scrambled eggs, sausages, toast and coffee - and water. We were brought our two glasses of water on a tray. Five minutes later, we were brought our coffee on a tray - but no cream, sugar, or teaspoons. The waitress had to make a second trip for those items, and by the time we were able to catch the attention of one of the wait staff to request those items, the coffee was almost cold. And they seemed to be busying themselves swiping at the bar as thay chatted amongst themselves - almost as if they were seeing how long they could out-face each other before one would finally attend to the customers.

By the time our eggs and sausages and toast arrived, the coffee was stone cold - and the meal was only lukewarm.

Also, the first evening we were there, what sounded like a bowling contest was occuring on the floor above ours - 'til almost midnight !!! And NO one did anything to put a stop to it. Needless to say, we did not get much sleep that night, and our 3-hr boat cruise of the 1000 Islands next day was hugely accompanied by many yawns.

When one is paying what we paid for this room - though at the end of the season, it was still the seasonal rate - one expects a little more in the way of peace and quiet - and service. One also expects a restaurant in which to have breakfast and lunch that has a more upscale ambience than a room that is used as a bar from the afternoon onward. And one certainly expects better-trained staff who know how to serve meals . . . these women were bar staff, not restaurant staff - and knowing how to do one, does NOT imply that one knows how to do the other.

We will most definitely not be back.

WCM
Burnaby, BC

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 329wandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2006
I am writing in response to the review titled "Not impressed", dated April 23, 2006. Although we would like to thank this viewer for their response, we cannot fix problems unless they are brought to our immediate attention. My staff and I take every constructive criticism very seriously and do our best to improve and strive to exceed our guests expectations but with that being said unfortuntely cannot please everyone.
After reading this review we checked not only the fireplace but also the jets in the whirlppol and found both to be working. We only ask that if our guests do run into a problem they bring it to our attention immeditely as we are open 24 hours a day, so that we can ammend it as quickly as possible. We are a family owned and operated business with over 30 years experience in the hotel and restaurant business and although we apologize for your disatisfaction of your stay with us can attest to the thousands of extremely pleased guests we do have that come back time and time again.
We hope you will return to the majestic Candian 1000 Islandsand hope you will return to us and see why we pride ourselves on being the "best" and largest year-round full serivce resort in Gananoque, Ontario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2006

We stayed at the Best Western Country Squire Resort last weekend. It was great. We were part of a hockey team booked in and the people at the front desk were awesome!!! They were quite willing to do whatever they could to accommodate our large group who needed to stay at the hotel late due to the ongoing tournament which we won! The resturant staff were excellent also. They handled our group excellently when all seventeen rooms ended up at the resturant for meals at the same time! The rooms were comfortable and clean and had everything we needed.
KUDOS to the staff at the Best Western Country Squire Resort in Gan....!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2005

Stayed for one night as part of boat cruise package. Stayed in a larger room, this room could have been cleaner - sofa was particlarly dirty. Furniture was very worn. Suspect it made have had bed bugs - yes, I got a couple mysterious bites that weekend and my partner got tsome when we went home (the bed bugs went home with us?). Don't know for certain but passing on my experience. Resturant - had meal package so no choice, otherwise stick to the basics like sandwiches and burgers. Breakfast was good. Staff was friendly.


  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2005

After looking at several sites to hold a conference, I came upon the Best Western Country Squire Resort. Looking back that had to be my lucky day!
I’d like to bring special attention to the Group Sales manager Betty Ann Desharnais. Betty Ann went above and beyond my expectations as far as accommodating all of my requests and then some. She showed particular attention to the details necessary to make us feel comfortable and ensure our stay at the Best Western was unforgettable.
The conference took over the whole resort including the restaurant for 2 days and the participants feedback for the conference accomodations was 99% fully satisfied. It is hard to please 80 people all at once but Country Squire Resort did that. The rooms were clean and bright. The staff were wonderful and the food was delicious. Any request or concern that I had was taken care of without a 'but'. Thank You Country Squire Resort for making the 2005 Bell Canada Conference a success!

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2005

This was my second time staying at this hotel and I loved every minute! The staff was super friendly and accomodating! The pool was very clean (both indoor and outdoor) and the grounds were maintained very well. I loved the atmosphere and very much enjoyed Charlie's Pub and Grill restaurant attached directly to the hotel. The bathroom was beautiful and the whole room was kept very clean. I felt extremely comfortable being in such a neat and clean environment. The only negative thing I could say; the hot tub was kept a little too hot!... but thankfully we were able to turn it down!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1.0 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
1.7 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#6 of 11 in Gananoque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Squire Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Squire Resort & Spa

Property: Country Squire Resort & Spa
Address: 715 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada (Formerly Best Western Country Squire Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Squire Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Gananoque hotel and enjoy a host of convenient amenities while traveling in Ontario, Canada. Country Squire Resort & Spa is conveniently located to Highway 401, Highway 2, and Thousand Islands Parkway with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Visitors will be just a short drive from OLG 1000 Islands Casino, Thousand Islands Playhouse, Boldt Castle and scenic boat tours of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Country Squire Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Squire Hotel Gananoque
Best Western Gananoque
Gananoque Best Western
Country Squire Resort & Spa Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing