We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Motel(Gananoque)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (624)
Filter reviews
624 results
Traveler rating
189
164
153
67
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
164
153
67
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tuboutdoor poolwestern countrybest western hotelsausagebasket ball courtsteam roomwafflesget awayfree breakfastrooms were very cleansquashcasinocarolpatiotenniscereal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
543 - 548 of 624 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2005

Stayed overnight en route from Toronto to Montreal. This place is an average motel with an indoor and outdoor pool and gym facilities. The room was clean with two double beds and aircon and the restaurant served good food. The surroundings were somewhat dilapidated but this did not take away from the nice welcome provided by all staff. The location is on a strip leading into Gananoque, too far out to do anything without a car, but why would you be in a motel otherwise?
Next time round I would book the Gananoque Inn for its location and ambience, but the Best Western was definitely great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank benceltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2005

In 1990, after a week camping in upstate New York, we were driving home to Burlington along the 401 when we saw a sign for the Squire. We made a snap decision to stay for one night, to end our trip in relative luxury (compared to a tent). Being slow that time of year, we were offered a deal to upgrade to one of the deluxe jacuzzi rooms. We just loved it. Recently, we decided to get away midweek for a few days, and remembered the Squire (how did 15 yrs go by so fast?). We booked a two-night package, including meals, a round of golf, a boat cruise, etc. We added on a massage at the Tranquility Spa as well. Driving there, we wondered if it would be as good as remembered. Well, we weren't disappointed. There may have been some small details lacking (pop machine empty, etc) but the rooms were clean, the staff is great, and we love the facilities there...2 pools, exercise equipment, hot tub, steam room. Also, we found the food at Charly's very good (esp the Eggs Benedict). I have heartily recommended it to people since we returned. Gananoque itself is a great little town as well. We will definitely be back, and it won't be another 15 years!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mellie3498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto, ON
12
Reviewed June 18, 2005

Sometimes when you make an overnight stop in a small touristy town you get lucky. Which is definitely the case with the Country Squire. A couple of kilometers off the 401, it was one of the 3 or 4 motels you first see. It's nothing special from the outside, but we stopped, the rates sounded good and the desk staff were friendly, so we booked for the night.

We honestly felt as though we were staying at a friend's cottage for the night. Clean and comfortable rooms which open to a beautifully landscaped courtyard behind the motel, which is like being in the country. Loads of amenities and activities, charming staff (whether at the front desk or the maids or the guy who mows the grass). Complimentary breakfast during the week, and we found the in-house restaurant (kind of a country-style place) superb. Really REALLY good food!

We were honestly sorry to leave in the morning and will definitely be making a point of going to the Thousand Islands later this summer for a long weekend and will DEFINITELY be staying at the Country Squire.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2005

Talk about your hidden treasures! From the street, this is just another in a string of unremarkable motels. But step inside and you are in for a treat! We have now stayed at the Country Squire for the past four Victoria Day weekends; what started as a one-shot weekend in the 1000 Islands has now turned into one of our family traditions. Aside from the nearby attractions, what does this motel have to offer? Welcoming staff (EVERYONE is obliging & friendly, from the front desk to the room maids to the groundskeepers!); a lovely choice of rooms (we have now tried four rooms--- one with screened-in porch, one with patio and two with sun-decks); absolutely spotless rooms & bathrooms; very reasonable room rates; beautifully landscaped & maintained grounds; a great family-style restaurant; complimentary breakfasts; loads of amenities (spa, indoor & outdoor pools, squash, basketball, trampoline etc.); walking distance to all kinds of restaurants and the casino; loads of parking; and a quiet, welcoming environment. Who knew all this was behind such an ordinary exterior? Two special notes: (1) our family dog has always been welcomed, and enjoys his stay with easy access to the beautiful grounds, and (2) on our second trip there, I realized I had forgotten my toothbrush and called down to the front desk to see if I could buy one. Before I could even get my shoes on, a new toothbrush was hand-delivered to our door. Amazing! We have stayed at much fancier (and more expensive) hotels where we have not experienced such a welcome. We cannot recommend the Country Squire highly enough & look forward to our stay this coming Victoria Day weekend! Bravo!

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank PoloRalphLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2005

What a surprise. We stayed at the Country Squire at the end of Novmber for one night, I must say that I was not impressed by the outside, do not judge a book by the cover! Once Inside the front door it is a differnt story, The scent from the spa is fantastic and everything is so clean, the rooms are very big and nicely decoratated, and I'm sure the grounds are very nice, but it is hard to tell in November. The staff were very friendly and the food was good, the only thing that I would change in the restuarant is that they should use place mats on the tables.

  • Stayed: November 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ann Harding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews