We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated Rooms” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Squire Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
“Dated Rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel should be priced in the $90/night range; not good value for the money. Rooms & common areas dated and not very clean. Cracked tiles, ripped wallpaper, laminate flooring, very old dresser, drawers did not open well. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good. Tv had a HORRIBLE picture.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bernita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupsalesGananoque, Front Desk Supervisor at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Bernita M,

First and foremost, I would like to sincerely apologize for your recent experience at the Best Western Country Squire Resort. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations, as we strive to ensure that our guests are happy and satisfied with each and every stay.
As the winter months approach us, we wish to upgrade and update the hotel. We have informed maintenance about your comments and hope to resolve these issues immediately. We would like to extend to you and your family an invitation to stay with us in the future, and we will make sure that we exceed your expectations.

I look forward to hearing from you and having you back as a future guest!

Sincerely,

Bridgit Mangan
Front Desk Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    155
    140
    60
    45
See reviews for
209
212
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a good tourist-grade location. It looks like it started off as a small hotel and kept expanding. Rooms were nice and tidy with a clear country look. Great pool and hot tub. Staff were very nice; nice breakfast room

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxx06_10_2014DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupsalesGananoque, Front Desk Supervisor at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear TheZimm,

Thank you for your review regarding you recent stay with us at the Best Western Country Squire Resort. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to improve and provide the best experience possible for each guest. We are happy to hear your enjoyed your visit in Gananoque.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Bridgit Mangan
Front Desk Respresentative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Often stay at this Hotel; it may not have the rooms like the Holiday Inn next to it, but they are clean and comfortable and the staff is courteous and helpful. This Hotel is reasonable priced and the hot breakfast is the best I have had in all the Hotels I have stayed in the Gananoque area.( Holiday Inn, Comfort Inn, Quality Inn) The staff that looks after the Breakfast room maintains a quality hot breakfast with tables with actual condiments not ones in packages.

I highly recommend this Hotel.

Keith Morley

Room Tip: Most rooms are the same; that I have stayed in, but at the end of the Hotel by the Breakfast room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupsalesGananoque, Front Desk Supervisor at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Keith M,

Thank you for your review regarding you recent stay with us at the Best Western Country Squire Resort. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to improve and provide the best experience possible for each guest. I am very pleased that you had a wonderful experience while staying with us!

We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Bridgit Mangan
Front Desk Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night while in the 1000 islands area doing some sight-seeing. Property is quite big with lots of amenities (spa, pools, restaurant) and the rooms, while a little bit on the dated side were clean. Bathroom a little cramped, but the shower had lots of hot water and lots of pressure.

The included breakfast in the morning was hot, plentiful and easy. Exactly what you need before the next part of your journey.

No hesitation in recommending this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aprguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupsalesGananoque, Front Desk Supervisor at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Aprguy,

We were delighted to read your review. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding you recent stay with us at the Best Western Country Squire Resort. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to improve and provide the best experience possible for each guest. As the winter season approaches, we plan to update areas of the hotel.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Bridgit Mangan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Quite surprised by the area and what it has to offer. The Hotel is older but they have made some upgrades to bring it up to current standards. Staff very accomodating and the room was spacious and clean. Enjoyed our walk down on the waterfront and sorry we didn't know about the Island crusie before hand.

Room Tip: Staryed towards the west side of the hotel, rooms were of good size, clean and well equipped for a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupsalesGananoque, Front Desk Supervisor at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear John W,

Thank you for your review regarding you recent stay with us at the Best Western Country Squire Resort. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to improve and provide the best experience possible for each guest. As the winter season approaches, we will begin more renovations to continue upgrading the hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your experience while in Gananoque.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Bridgit Mangan
Front Desk Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Listowel, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed one night and we loved it, The staff were very helpful and courteous. From the Jacuzzi tub to the awesome hot breakfast all was clean and tidy. The location was great, easy to find and enjoyed the veranda off our room facing the pool courtyard. It's a great place to stay when in Gananoque.

Room Tip: We had a room with 2 Queen beds and a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apv255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupsalesGananoque, Front Desk Supervisor at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear apv255,

Thank you for you review regarding your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read your comments. Providing us with feedback allows us to improve and continuously provide an excellent experience for each guest.

We hope to see you in the near future!

Sincerely,

Bridgit Mangan
Front Desk Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at best western it was clean and I really enjoyed indoor pool and other facilities well equipped rooms and porch.i must say that breakfast was so good. I really enjoyed my weekend at that place . All the staff are very cooperative and friendly . Front desk lady was so helpful. And I really like the lobby .I would definitely like to come again and stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romavishal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupsalesGananoque, Front Office Supervisor at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Romavishal,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I was pleased to read your review and your comments regarding the hotel, the amenities offered as well as the service you received. Feedback from our guests is greatly appreciated as it allows us to continuously provide an excellent experience for each guest.

Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Bridgit Mangan
Front Desk Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1.0 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
1.7 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#5 of 11 in Gananoque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Squire Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Squire Resort & Spa

Property: Country Squire Resort & Spa
Address: 715 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada (Formerly Best Western Country Squire Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Squire Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Gananoque hotel and enjoy a host of convenient amenities while traveling in Ontario, Canada. Country Squire Resort & Spa is conveniently located to Highway 401, Highway 2, and Thousand Islands Parkway with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Visitors will be just a short drive from OLG 1000 Islands Casino, Thousand Islands Playhouse, Boldt Castle and scenic boat tours of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Reservation Counter so you can book your Country Squire Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Squire Hotel Gananoque
Best Western Gananoque
Gananoque Best Western
Country Squire Resort & Spa Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing