We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Orillia, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Although this Best Western is dated, the choice between an outdoor pool and an indoor pool is a bonus. The landscaping is beautiful offering a fountain, pond and lots of green space. The staff friendly. There is a restaurant on the premise offering delicious fare. A lovely spot!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    160
    148
    64
    50
See reviews for
218
222
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Although the rooms were a decent size, the "resort" is quite tired and needs some serious updating. The delicious hot breakfast was non existent. The breakfast was not served in the restaurant, but was found through the back yard and up the steps of what looked like the back door of someone's room. We walked in to find a long line of people, waiting mostly for the people toasting their bread to hurray up (no separate area for toasters). The vat of pale yellow fake looking scrambled egges looking more like spray foam used for house renovations than something appealing to eat, so we took a pass. The warming pan of sausages was a sea of grease with a few floating pieces of sausage. My daughter tried one and had to spit it out. I managed to backtrack and grab a luke warm coffee and one of the 7 muffins and left The other 3 in my party did the same. Were there good hot breakfasts at one point? I had heard they were served in the restaurant? Not this time.

Room Tip: Either check out the hotel first, or google another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wewillgofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel could have been so much better if it was looked after. It felt like the aim was to cut corners. The rooms were however clean and washrooms properly maintained and nothing more to talk about. The breakfast was hot and very sumptuous - very adequate with enough foods.
The location is convenient and with reasonable proximity to the boat tours and the casino. The attached restaurant was also passable nothing much to write about them either. The staff was very helpful.
however, I will advice residents to be careful about the Chinese restaurant across. Very sweet talks but all the foods that we took away were sandy, we could not simply eat. we took it to the restaurant- I forgot the name- and asked them to try the food. They were not at all apologetic about their misdeed and rude. Unfortunately, my wife had to face them as I was waiting outside in the car. I would not advise anybody to venture into this restaurant. This is just across the property,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DipuandApuinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

To begin with,our family stay at Best Western Hotel was such a memorable experience! All the staff were very generous and helpful! The hotel room that my family stayed in was very home-like, comfortable, extremely clean and well maintained. My whole family loved the pool, it was very clean and the water temperature was just right! The room that we stayed in was located on the outerside of the building, which was very convenient bringing luggage into the room. This hotel offered lots of space for parking which was very helpful. The free use of the T.V and internet connection was also very convenient! We were also pleased with the bathroom as it was all tidy and there were enough towels for the whole family to use. The beds were also very comfy and we all slept very well. The room was very spacious great for a family of 4! Lastly, the complimentary breakfast was very delicious and fresh, they offered many different items and drinks! Overall, I would certainly recommend this hotel for all families and anyone else looking for a comfortable and clean hotel to stay in. We were very pleased with the great service provided to us.

Room Tip: Rooms located on the outerside of the hotel are very spacious and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukhwinder P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I'll start by saying this particular location put a stain on the reputation of this hotel chain. The screened in porch was hardly in tacked and a we were greeted by a giant moth on the wall that I had to chase out. The lock on the porch door and the back sliding door were both broken, in fact the sliding door lock was non-existent but we were assured by the maintenance staff that the security bar (which was held loosely by one screw) would hold the door. The wall receptacles were 5 feet up on the walls which left my cell phone dangling while charging and the desk was wobbly. Not to mention the lamp on the table wouldn't work as the knob would freely spin with ease. The weight room had some decent equipment but was hot and dank. The exterior walkways were narrow and uneven and the hallways hosted a variety of odd smells. The staff was quite friendly for the most part and the breakfast was decent. Overall, this is just a motel flying under a hotel resort banner. We will not be back.

Room Tip: Dont stay here, enough said.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupsalesGananoque, Manager at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
First and foremost I would like to sincerely apologize for your recent experience at the Best Western Country Squire Resort. At Best Western we strive to ensure that our guests are happy and satisfied with their stay. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Upon further researching your comments, we have informed our maintenance and housekeeping departments of the issues that you experienced within your room and they are being fixed immediately. Please advise the Front Desk staff anytime that your have concerns or issues within your room, as we would have been more than happy to have upgraded you. We are currently undergoing many renovations, and your feedback is greatly appreciated. We would like to extend an invitation to you and your family to stay with us in the future and we will make sure that we exceed your expectations. I look forward to hearing from your and having you back as a future guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gananoque hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The room that I was given was precisely what I was looking for,convenient location,helpful staff,good complimentary breakfast,some areas need some uplifting,on the whole good place to stay.the pool seemed to be nice and clean but did not get a chance to get in it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Japjot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have stayed at many BW's and this hotel was not as good as many others my family has stayed in. The pool was warm but you had to bring your bathroom towels with you. I only noticed later a small note in the bathroom telling you to bring towels to the pool. The pool was very dark and not all the lights were on. The jacuzzi was nice. The room itself was ok but the beds could have been better. We had a porch but the outside light didn't work. The halls were old looking and had this sickinly sweet scent that was used to clean with. We had one tiny bottle of shampoo but the hotel front desk gave us more. There was only one person working the front desk and I had to wait for her to get off the phone to check in. But she was very nice and knowledgeable. The next day there was a different person at the front desk and she was nice too. The bathroom faucet didn't work properly either. The corners of the bathroom floor could use some cleaning as well. The breakfast server was great and the breakfast room was very clean. I had some food questions and she answered everything is a polite friendly and professional manor. Even the janitor gave me great directions and was pleasant. Location was great as well. Usually the breakfast area is open 24 hours for juice, coffee or water but this one was closed.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room close to the breakfast room overlooking the outdoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#6 of 11 in Gananoque
235 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Gananoque
Travelodge Gananoque
#5 of 11 in Gananoque
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Squire Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Squire Resort & Spa

Property: Country Squire Resort & Spa
Address: 715 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada (Formerly Best Western Country Squire Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Squire Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Gananoque hotel and enjoy a host of convenient amenities while traveling in Ontario, Canada. Country Squire Resort & Spa is conveniently located to Highway 401, Highway 2, and Thousand Islands Parkway with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Visitors will be just a short drive from OLG 1000 Islands Casino, Thousand Islands Playhouse, Boldt Castle and scenic boat tours of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Squire Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Squire Hotel Gananoque
Best Western Gananoque
Gananoque Best Western
Country Squire Resort & Spa Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing