We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Grafton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed overnight after visiting with family in Gananogue and were pleasantly surprised when we checked into this Best Western. The front staff was very welcoming and we had a lovely room, without outdoor sitting area, overlooking the garden and outdoor pool (unfortunately at this time of the year not open). The breakfast area, indoor or outdoor, and the complimentary hot breakfast were perhaps the best we've experienced at a BW. Would I stay her again? Yes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rev_Dud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    159
    148
    64
    50
See reviews for
218
222
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

It may have been a resort once, but it's misleading to call it that now as other businesses have filled in the street over the years. Clearly a former mom&pop that has had buildings & restaurants added over the years before being taken over by the chain. Three couples and a single from our family were in two nights for a wedding outside town. No complaints about three of the rooms; the decor was outdated - Jacobean flowered wallpaper and heavy armoire/headboard seemed about 20 years old but in great condition. But the rooms were clean and beds comfortable. We paid extra for a jacuzzi & fireplace room - jacuzzi fine but the fireplace was just one of those illusion things, not even gas - wouldn't pay for that again. We did like that the room opened to the middle courtyard. Our daughter & her BF arrived the second day but didn't check in until we returned from wedding at about 8 pm. Their room had a terrible stench - very strong, and when they asked to be moved, someone came and sprayed something and put a fan in the room. This didn't help. For some time the desk clerk argued there was no other vacancy, but eventually "upgraded" them to a jacuzzi cabin at no extra charge. Which was a good thing since they found a lot of ants in the jacuzzi and after washing those away, could not get enough hot water to use the thing. The complementary breakfast was served in a back room: scrambled eggs, sausages, a selection of cereals and pastries....served on paper plates & plastic cutlery! Quite surprising this day and age,especially since, like most hotels, they encourage guests to reuse towels. I know most complementary breakfasts are only continental, but the room prices here are on a par with a very modern Toronto hotel I use a lot that gives a full breakfast buffet with many choices.
The restaurant out front has a nice patio with friendly service, but we only had a snack there which was tasty. Our son got no sleep Saturday as there was a very rowdy group of revellers outside till 3 am - he asked them three times to pipe down, and management did nothing. I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: rooms close to the restaurant not good for early sleepers on weekends - entertainment on the patio t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My family and friends selected this hotel because it was so close to 1000 island and casino. The staff were wonderful housekeeper breakfast attendant and front desk who serviced our rooms friendly. It's was nice stay with hot tub pool squash court and sauna. I will come back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhawan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Let's cut to the chase here, and get detailed after:

In short, everything is ok in this place, except that the rooms have this unexplainable stench to them. The problem is that it makes someone who worries about cleanliness quite nervous about everything. To be fair, there were no visible signs of lack of cleanliness here.

Externally:

- Appearance: Don't be fooled by the name or some of the nicer pictures, this is just your typical 2-story motel really. It's prettier than the average one though, has an outdoor pool in addition to the indoor one, tennis court, and backs onto a nice slice of nature.

- Location: Place is located right off of highway 401. Which puts it somewhat far from the town centre and if you were planning to take one of the Gananoque Boat Co. cruises, it'd be quite a long walk to get there (less than 10 min drive however).

- Parking: It seems that parking is generally included. However, I'd say there aren't enough spots for a busier period. Although they do collect your plate number, I doubt that they actually bother enforcing parking at all (at least in off-peak periods).

Internally:

- Rooms: Smelly but otherwise seemingly clean (see intro). They do have:
CRT television (not flat panel)
Iron and Ironing table
Suitcase rack and clothes hanging area
coffee maker and tea/coffee
** NOTE: one of the 2 rooms we booked had a clogged toilet (and although it did not start this way, it got clogged immediately after the first use)

- Service: Service is alright. Unfortunately I did not check if they had room service (I suspect the answer is a no).

- Food: The included breakfast is in fact very nice. Keep in mind that they collect breakfast tickets here so depending on your booking method, you may not be eligible for it. They supposedly have a restaurant as well (it's not a chain branch like Perkins or such) but I did not get a chance to take a look. I also spotted a couple of vending machines but nothing worth noting.

Conclusion:

As you can see, the place - overall - is not bad especially if you score a really good deal via one of the brokerage websites like priceline. Unfortunately, I was here only to spend the night and catch a boat cruise in the morning so the smell in the room pretty much ruined every other aspect for me.

Room Tip: 2nd story rooms probably better since the food delivery truck drives and park right across the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hossam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gananoque hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel is outdated, dirty and tired. We arrived for our reservation as a stopover on our way to Montreal. Our room was on the second floor and after climbing a filthy set of stairs to our level we discovered the hallway lights all burnt out and the hallway dark. There was plastic patio furniture stacked outside of our room entrance and spare light bulbs sitting on it. I notified the front desk and they said someone would take care of it. No one did while we were there. The room itself was dusty and dirty. You could hear every person talking outside below our room and traffic noises all night long. As my husband lay in bed he had two bugs crawl on him! These were not bed bugs thank goodness. The bed was as hard as a rock. We had a window in our bathroom with a sheer curtain that did not offer any privacy. In the morning we went for the Full Hot Breakfast which according to the hotel website includes hot meat, eggs etc only to be told that they only offer hot meat when they have a large group at the hotel. Overall this stay was disgusting and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We know better for next time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thisfamilyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here last minute and booked using rewards points; I think we were placed in an older/smaller room as a result. After walking around the property it was obvious that there were nicer rooms available. The grounds are nice but I thought broken furniture, building supplies, etc. should have been stored out of sight.

Our room was small, dark and very outdated. The bathroom in particular needs renovations. I was thankful we only stayed one night. Again, there were clearly nicer, newer sections in the hotel so better options are available here.

There are two pools on the property and a small fitness area. The breakfast area was very crowded and slightly unorganized. The staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: There are new, renovated sections of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vay_KayK8e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#6 of 11 in Gananoque
234 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Gananoque
Travelodge Gananoque
#5 of 11 in Gananoque
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Squire Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Squire Resort & Spa

Property: Country Squire Resort & Spa
Address: 715 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada (Formerly Best Western Country Squire Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Squire Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Gananoque hotel and enjoy a host of convenient amenities while traveling in Ontario, Canada. Country Squire Resort & Spa is conveniently located to Highway 401, Highway 2, and Thousand Islands Parkway with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Visitors will be just a short drive from OLG 1000 Islands Casino, Thousand Islands Playhouse, Boldt Castle and scenic boat tours of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country Squire Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Squire Hotel Gananoque
Best Western Gananoque
Gananoque Best Western
Country Squire Resort & Spa Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing