We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Above average”
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was conveniently located and the price was right. Room was clean although it had a musty smell upon arrival. Beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was clean and well maintained. Lots of places to eat near by. The hotel restaurant was clean and the food was good. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lari1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    159
    145
    60
    47
See reviews for
212
219
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in a king size room with jacuzzi. It was a decent sized, clean, newer style furnishings room at a good price. The room didn't have a fridge or microwave though. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrived after having a very stressful day and the lady at the front dress noticed this and offered us a complimentary bottle of wine. The next night I noticed the front desk lady helping a woman who had a little too much to drink to get safely back to her room. The hotel was quiet and peaceful. They had a full complimentary breakfast in the morning with scrambled eggs, waffles, yummy sausages and lots of other breakfast foods. My only real complaint was the indoor pool. It was out of service for a couple of days and then when I went to swim in it when it reopened it smelled funny and some water got in my mouth while swimming and it tasted salty. Also the restaurant is attached to the pool area and it has windows for people to look down on you while they are eating and you are swimming. Overall I would recommend this hotel and would come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thunder70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent 2 nites at the Country Squire Resort. Positives were the nice grounds, comfortable bed and clean room. Negatives included my shock at the towels on the rack in the bathroom- they were postage stamp size and rougher than those of the Motel 6 chain. It wasn't until later that I realized that more generously-sized and softer towels were in a rack above the tub- whew. There was a very small notice high on the bathroom mirror that those skimpy towels were for the pool. We had an issue with our tv- it would only show a screen that was 80% covered by advertising for the cable company and wouldn't change. We called the front desk. They tried to help, but it was my husband who got it to work by shutting it on and off several times- the remote was useless, though. The HVAC system was antiquated- the old in-wall unit was disguised by nice louvered wood doors, but the activation was via a toggle switch on the wall.

It appears that most motels in Gananoque are similar in style to this- outside entries. Our room had slightly peeling wallpaper reminiscent of one we chose in the late 80s. Luckily, we spent most of our time sightseeing in the lovely 1000 Islands and very little in our room. This hotel did have a free hot breakfast but we could only enjoy it one morning since it wasn't served til 8am on a Monday and we were on our way home at 7am.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMLAalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa ontario
Level Contributor
197 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is getting tired it needs updating and cleanup its showing its age, grounds are ok and location is good. Restaurant is ok and breakfast at breakfast room is good but again room needs updating and cleanup. tables damaged and dirty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gananoque hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room I booked had old, dated decor, with a slight musty smell. The room had an overall dark look to it. Also, the room was not wheelchair accessible as the motel corridors are on several levels (a few stairs between level). I did not like the look of the room and cancelled my booking. The city of Kingston and Brockville are nearby and have much better selections of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Reg_Woods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed there for one night in June during the ribfest. We were five people with 3 dogs and had adjoining rooms, check in went well and the staff friendly. Our rooms were on the ground floor which was good for the kids and the dogs. We have been going to Gananoque for many years and the Hotel still looks the same. I would give it an average rating for the rooms and the same for the general appearance of the Hotel and it's exterior. The breakfast was very good and so was the indoor pool and is pet friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLAAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent a Saturday night with a reservation from BestWestern hotels website. The price is 132 CAD including tax with the option AARP/Senior for 3 adults.
We reached the hotel at 13:00. The room was not ready and we left the hotel to browse Gananoque after filling the forms at reception. By the way we used the courtesy PC for the guests at the lobby and printed our deal coupon for cruise. We were assigned to the room 130. The lady at the reception was very informative and smiley. She told us a lot about the corridors of the motel how to reach to the pool and hot tub and breakfast venue. Lastly, she gave us “Free hotel guest gaming package cards” for OLG casino. We liked the hot tub, it was very relaxing after a tiring day. After changing our dresses we left for dinner and casino. There was a coffee maker and a mini fridge in room. Though the room seems OK at first look and the mattresses are nice for a quality sleep, we realized how it is poorly maintained and not clean as we thought. The attached pictures are from the closet under sink and breakfast venue.
The breakfast included a few variety of breads, muffins, cereals, fresh fruit and smoothy yogurt. Their hot offerings were tea, coffee, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, sausages and unfortunately no waffles at 09:00. We asked for waffles but the only hard working lady answered that she does not have any more until next morning.
Free wi-fi may be correct since there was no sufficient coverage at our room, at lobby and at breakfast. You see the open network when you search but you can not connect it.
If you want to stay at this property I advise the 200 rooms looking to the outside pool. At least the scenery is good though we have not seen these rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kozin58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupsalesGananoque, Manager at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide superior customer service. I am sorry we were not able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.
Our check in time is 3 pm and check out time is 11 AM. when people C/O by 11 AM. housekeeping needs time to clean the rooms especially when we are full house. sorry we were not abel to give you a ready room by 1 pm. We are glad that you enjoyed the many aminities of our hotel, such as hot tub, pool, business center and helpful staff.
We do keep our rooms very clean and well maintained, the picture that you provided for the vanity, we have just changed most of our vanities to granite counter top. the plumbing area of the vanity is always kept locked, guest usually do not have access to the plumbing area of the vanity. In your room the maintenance must have forgotton to lock the front of the vanity, or did not get a chance to go back into the room before you guys checked in to clean and lock the vanity. We are very sorry for that.
yes, we do offer hot breakfast, eggs, sausages, waffels, muffins, different types of breads, fresh fruits and different types of yogourts, 4 different types of cereals. coffe, tea, orange juice, and apple juice. I am surprise to hear that the waffels were finished at 9 am, i myself make sure that the breakfast area has plenty of food for the guests. but if her waffel machine broke down in the middle of breakfast, it is understandable that until the waffel company sends another machine or service man she will not have waffels. unfortunently some of these things are not in our control and we apologize to you for that.
We have just finished renovating the breakfast area and are waiting for the new tables and chairs. the wireless internet is free and does have good connectivity in most of the hotel area.
As you mentioned the rooms overlooking the outdoor pool and park are very nice these rooms also have patios to sit outside.
We just want to let you know that we are committed to give you the best guest experience. I hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with exceptional service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1.0 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
1.6 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#5 of 11 in Gananoque
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Squire Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Squire Resort & Spa

Property: Country Squire Resort & Spa
Address: 715 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada (Formerly Best Western Country Squire Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Squire Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Gananoque hotel and enjoy a host of convenient amenities while traveling in Ontario, Canada. Country Squire Resort & Spa is conveniently located to Highway 401, Highway 2, and Thousand Islands Parkway with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Visitors will be just a short drive from OLG 1000 Islands Casino, Thousand Islands Playhouse, Boldt Castle and scenic boat tours of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Squire Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Squire Hotel Gananoque
Best Western Gananoque
Gananoque Best Western
Country Squire Resort & Spa Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing