We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time to renoavate” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Squire Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Kemptville, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Time to renoavate”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Lured by a discount travel deal we took a 2 day trip to Gananoque Ontario. The Best Western hotel left a lot to be desired. The rooms were tired and much in need of renovation. The shower would alternate between climb the wall scalding and freezing. The access to the restaurant was through the very humid pool area which was not very inviting. The breakfast included in our package was typical continental style with little variety.

Though there was little they could do about it, the staff were polite & the off the menu food in the restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 13Rocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    155
    140
    60
    45
See reviews for
209
212
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brampton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Had a chance to stay at this hotel few times. Great rooms, Never seen a gym this big with so many equipment. Squash courts were avail. too. Indoor/Outdoor pool. Most of the rooms are at ground leve, Staff was great. The diner beside the hotel was great. Lots of choice among dinner. close to hyw 401 and casino.

Room Tip: main floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville,Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Our friends from Montreal and Toronto get together each year for the last 25 years at the same hotel to play briidge. The staff is wonderful and the hospitality is superb. The new managent exceeded our expectations. We are booked for 2013 and look forward to many years to come. We also enjoy all the amenities the hotel has to offer such as indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub, spa, private meeting rooms and fine food. The location is perfect for cruises, casino and shopping.

Room Tip: All rooms are very clean, comfortable and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Country style says it all. Private back porches. Indoor and outdoor pool. Great place to stay. TV was really old but who cares?

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Everytime I come to this place, they never let me down .....
RRR Totally and at times, that's all you can ask for!
Thank you again for your hospitality

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb9088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Took our two children to this hotel for the weekend. We had an "exterior" two double bed room, a bit tight for space, but were quite pleased with the room over all, especially since the price we paid was extremely attractive.
The breakfast buffet was tasty, with cold items like muffins, cereal, fruit salad, and hot item like toast, sausages, s.eggs, home fries, and big waffles. (waffles were already made, which does save time and avoid line ups, in comparison to hotels with waffle makers)
The service was excellent. I overheard the front desk staff arranging a custom breakfast for a guest who had misunderstood the breakfast buffet hours, while at the same time arranging a room swap for a guest who wished to upgrade to a jacuzzi room, even though the hotel was booked solid. They appeared to be ready to please!
We experienced the same excellent service, and it made our stay memorable.
Kids enjoyed the indoor basketball court (as did my wife and I) and we all got to experience squash with the Hotel's complimentary rackets and balls in their squash courts. Tons of fun!!
Bring your skates as there is public skating at the rink one block away from time to time.
The salt water pool is large and clean, the hot tub worked well and had a great view of the pool so we could keep an eye on the kids while relaxing
Remember to Use the huge downstairs change rooms next to the weight room, they are not co-ed or cramped like the small upstairs room.
The restaurant's new manager/chef is introducing a new sea-food based menu that sounds great. This new manager was very kind and helpful, and his attention to detail was clear as I noticed him running around helping the serving staff during breakfast. There is "pride of ownership" in the staff.
I would love to visit this hotel again in the summer as the patio looks like a blast, and the grounds must be beautiful, as would be the closely located marina and waterfront.
The Gananoque Casino is very close, and lots of fun for the adults.
The spa looks nice, but we didn't get a chance to try.
Note that the treadmills are separate from the weight room, just off the pool, located in the Cardio Room.

Remember, this is more like a bed and breakfast/nice clean motel feel, so don't expect the typical "clinical" feel that comes with a brand new chain hotel. (in that "clinical" sense that can be good.....and bad) No spiral stair case from the 800 square foot lobby to the second floor elevator.....It's easy to tell that it's family owned and operated, and that's refreshing to me, so the imperfect tile work on the bathroom floor is not an issue, in fact it's comforting, if you know what I mean....as it was likely done by the owners themselves, or a local worker.

A warm feeling for great value with lots to do in a small town. Go during the off season and help them out, and have much of the place to yourself!

Room Tip: Exterior rooms are handy as they are close to the car....but you must go outside, then in front door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FourFenwicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Hotel very clean and comfortable, staff very friendly and helpfull, Large salt water indoor pool warm and very clean. Also had hot tub,exercise room including sana. Food good and reasonably priced. We would recommend this hotel and have booked 3 more stays..
Enjoyed the free $15 vouchers to the near buy Casino 10 minutes away.
Complimentary hot/cold breakfast and dinner was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1.0 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
1.7 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#6 of 11 in Gananoque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Squire Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Squire Resort & Spa

Property: Country Squire Resort & Spa
Address: 715 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada (Formerly Best Western Country Squire Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Squire Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Gananoque hotel and enjoy a host of convenient amenities while traveling in Ontario, Canada. Country Squire Resort & Spa is conveniently located to Highway 401, Highway 2, and Thousand Islands Parkway with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Visitors will be just a short drive from OLG 1000 Islands Casino, Thousand Islands Playhouse, Boldt Castle and scenic boat tours of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Country Squire Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Squire Hotel Gananoque
Best Western Gananoque
Gananoque Best Western
Country Squire Resort & Spa Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing