We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much of a selection for a bakery”
Review of Panache Bakery

Panache Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
Description: bakery making fine breads buns, pastries, sells sandwiches for eat in and take out, beverages
Restaurant details
Description: bakery making fine breads buns, pastries, sells sandwiches for eat in and take out, beverages
Oshawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not much of a selection for a bakery”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stopped by for some fresh bread, desserts and cheese curds. Not much of a selection for bread or desserts. Cheese curd sitting out on the counter, warm.
Wouldn't waste my time again to stop!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank barbangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panache-Bakery, Owner at Panache Bakery, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hi Barbangi,
I am sorry to hear you were not happy with the bakery. Please note that we are a 100% scratch bakery. We bake all our breads, pies and pastries daily. This is a very busy time of the year for us and often sell out of popular items. Since we do not sell day-old products it is our desire to sell out before closing; and as I recall, it was after 4pm when you paid us a visit. Most of our clientele will place their orders ahead of time or arrive early in the day when our selection is at its best (10 types of bread,7 types of french pastries,5 types of squares,3 types of tarts, 8 types of cookies, 8 types of muffins, cinnamon buns, 4 types of danish, 2 types of turnovers, 3 types of scones, 10 types of pies, 5 types of pound cakes, 9 different complete cakes, as well as savoury items like meat pies, sausage rolls, our freezer of take home meals and not to mention fresh made to order sandwiches, our daily soup, chili, and salads). I am sorry you did not get to try any of our products before writing your review. As with the cheese curd, unfortunately, we only had a few packages left.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    49
    5
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gananoque, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“delish”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

a family run business - with the kids up front. so cute, so polite, Wonderful items to pick from and fresh! Great sandwiches as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FederalMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gananoque
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful baked goods”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Everything they sell is made fresh, on the premises. They have a wide variety of delicious baked goods, as well as fresh soups, sandwiches and take home meals.MMM MMM try it

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
524 reviews
473 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“another great visit”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Since moving from Kingston to Toronto this January I miss this place. had occasion a few weeks ago to go back and visit so went here and bought a few loaves of bread for the freezer and of course some Florentine cookies, brownies, cherry squares, and butter tarts..dam stuff is so good and addictive...(ssshhh don't tell my diabetes doctor lol!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thephoenixrisesagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Fresh breads and pastries”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Good, central location. Fresh breads, modest but acceptable selection of sandwiches, very good pastries (all made on site). Great spot to pick up or eat in lunch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank chicagotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panache Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Panache Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing