We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a dirty place”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Pig Iron Barbecue - CLOSED

Pig Iron Barbecue
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“a dirty place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Filthy!! Digustimg dirty place with equallty unkept staff -A revolting place to enter let a lone eat. Orderd and waited alost an hour only to have the wait staf come back nd take our order all over - absolutely no memory of ever havigng previously yaken our order.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hungrychuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    13
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

On the 16th of October we received a Facebook notice that the restaurant was closed until futher notice. No more news was forthcoming so yesterday we went down to Gananoque hoping to have lunch next door in the Socialist Pig Cafe (having checked that they were indeed open and that lunches are on the menu) and to find out when the Pig Iron might be open again. When we got there we saw people dining in the Pig Iron! People behind the counter! Our hopes soared! We went in the open door and then were promplty hustled out again and told that there was a private 'tasting' on. Some signage might a cleared up this confusion! So then we go to the Cafe and were told in a rather haughty tone that they don't serve lunch on Sunday. How about putting this on your website so the people won't drive down from Ottawa expecting a nice lunch on a Sunday.

Note, the Panache Bakery up the road served us an excellent lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
2 Thank dresda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Better for takeout”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had the pulled pork. It was good but not great. It could use more BBQ sauce and the sauce was not as good as I would have expected. I loved the coleslaw and the beans were pretty good too. A good takeout option if you want something different on a Friday night. The restaurant is pretty small so dining in isn't the best idea unless it's the summer and you can sit on the patio.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank terriffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great service, nice ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Everything is wonderful here: meats, vegetables, drinks, service and the surroundings. Very interesting location in a beautiful small town (Gananoque, Ontario, Canada), within an old factory. The barbeque is wonderful on every level: taste, consistency, flavor. The fresh vegetables were all cooked to perfection. A lot of thought and work have gone into this charming restaurant and the result is astounding and incredibly flavorful.
Bill Driskell, Atlanta, GA

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dripping with authenticity, flavour and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have started stopping in Gananoque regularly on my trips back from Toronto to Montreal (why only eat fast food), and this time Pig Iron BBQ was a great discovery. Loved the ambiance of the place, the full-flavoured foods, the esoteric drinks and beers (try the Ginger Ale!) and the pulled porc.

To top it all off, Shannon (no-bs service) and J.T. (uber-cook) were friendly, welcoming and authentic (there's that word again).

Nice bonus: the Pig Iron is attached to the Socialist Pig café, where we experienced one of the best espressos in recent memory, on any continent. And further attached to these is a très-cool clothing and accessories shop (sorry forgot the name) with unique finds.

What a great surprise stopover.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pig Iron Barbecue also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing