We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxing getaway”
Review of Howe Island B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gananoque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howe Island B&B
Ranked #1 of 12 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing getaway”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent four nights here and recommend it highly. Gorgeous setting, extremely comfortable room, delicious and generous breakfasts, and welcoming and gracious hosts. Dave and Wendy go out of their way to make you feel welcome and create an atmosphere that is more akin to a luxury small inn than a B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanineL_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
"an atmosphere that is more akin to a luxury small inn than a B&B" is precisely what we want our guests to experience! Thank you for your very kind review! cHOWE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
92
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife somehow stumbled upon this little gem online and the minute we read about it and saw some picture, we fell in love with it. We chose this place as our "babymoon" as we wanted to relax and enjoy just the two of us one last time before welcoming our little guy into the world! We stayed in the Riverside Room for 3 nights which really is a cottage on its own. Unlike other B&Bs where mostly you're in the same house as the owners, you have total privacy since this room is totally separate from their main house. You can go for a swim, read a book, walk around their beautiful winery or simply lay on the hammock listening to the waves.

Do not be deterred by accessing this place by a ferry. It only takes 4 minutes to get to Howe Island. There are two ferries - one is a 3-car which runs on-demand from 6am-midnight (1am on the weekends). The other one runs 24/7 and accommodates up to 15 vehicles. We never had to wait more than 10 minutes and quite frankly, it was an amazing experience. From Gananoque, it only takes about 12 minutes, including the ferry ride to get to this place.

Wendy's cooking is to die for...she really makes sure that you get fed so much food that you can totally skip lunch! That was the best part of our mornings - going in for breakfast and chatting with Dave & Wendy listening to their stories. It felt like as if we're staying with our family. Their hospitality and generosity actually made my wife and I cry when it was time to go home for us! We can't wait to go back but this time it's going to be three of us and David already has a high chair set aside in his garage!

Thank you Wendy & Dave for making this trip so memorable and opening your home and hearts to us. You are such an amazing couple and words cannot describe how grateful we are! Thank you for staying awake for us and making sure that we got back in to our cottage safely. It's the little things that you both did that made our stay so comfortable and amazing!

See you both soon...

Aseem & Tracy :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AM_in_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Your review is very kind. We know full well "It's the little things" that make for memorable visits! Glad to hear #1 Son arrived safely. cHOWE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Nelson, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

From the moment we drove into the yard we felt welcomed by Dave and Wendy. Following the short " tour" we settled into the Lawson lodge, the room over looked the river and had a screened porch for after the mosquitoes came out. The room was in a separate building than the house, there are 2 rooms but we had the place to our selves, sat out on the deck and watched the moonrise over the river. For breakfast we had the fluffiest omelet, and blueberry pancakes.
When we left we felt as if we had been visiting with old friends and were disappointed that they no vacancy for the next night, if we are in the area again we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlmnorthernBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thaaks for you very kind review and confirming we now have good friends in Ft Nelson! cHOWE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Wendy & David's. It was a great experience. Very relaxing, very friendly, very genuine. We have a year old son -- both Wendy & Dave were very helpful and prepared for the little monsters needs and they were understanding for his actions:)
Must do's:
The lovely breakfast that Wendy prepares. Very tasty and very tastefull presentation.
Lay down on the hammock. While watching the water under the shade of trees do not expect to read more than few pages of a book. You will fall a sleep in no time. It is absolutely recharging.
Have a morning coffee on the deck. Beautiful start for a day.
Check out the objects in the room, in the kitchen or around the garden. It is a tastefully decorated place.
I am sure you will find your own must do's when you get there. We are looking for an availability to get back for another getaway soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IEker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thanks for your very kind review. Our famous hammock really got a workout with you! cHOWE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2012

From the moment we arrived we felt at home. We stayed in the Riverview Room and had the whole lodge to ourselves. It was spacious, clean and comfortable.
The view over the St. Lawrence river were fantastic from the desk and from the room.
Breakfast were different each morning and was delicious. The ferry's over to the island were always available and added to the novelty of staying on one of the islands. Gananoque was only a short drive with loads of nice restaurants.
Overall we had a very pleasant stay and would highly recommend it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Viv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
It was a pleasure having a "loovly" Irish colleen and a fair dinkum Aussie bloke as our quests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were in desperate need of a true city getaway and David and Wendy's B&B could not have been a better fit. We stayed 2 nights in the Lawton Lodge, and it served the perfect homebase to exploring the 1000 islands all the while relaxing and enjoying the serenity of this quaint waterfront locale. David and Wendy were wonderful, making a point of coming out to introduce themselves when we first installed ourselves on their balcony, and great company for the simply lavish breakfasts. We were sorry to leave, to the point that we actually started shopping for cottages upon our return home. Close enough to Gananoque to access the sights of the 1000 islands, yet removed enough to truly disconnect and kick your feet up, we aren't sure Howe we could recommend this spot more!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alec H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiefMeknowhowe, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and endorsement of our operation. It was good to see you "discover Howe to relax"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We accidentally found this place and can say it is now a real favorite. The setting is idyllic with great outdoor sitting places and beautiful views. The hosts checked with us before our arrival to see if they could help us with dinner reservations--which they took care of. And their recommendation was perfect for us. Dave and Wendy are very friendly as well as knowledgeable of the area--very helpful. The room we had was not large but was comfortable and clean and we had a beautiful bathroom en suite. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggyy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiefMeknowhowe, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Your recommendation is very much appreciated and we're thrilled you "accidently found" us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
5.5 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
502 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
5.1 mi away
The Woodview Inn
The Woodview Inn
#3 of 12 in Gananoque
57 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howe Island B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howe Island B&B

Property: Howe Island B&B
Address: 1976B Howe Island Dr, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2V6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 1000 Islands B&B on 250ft of absolute St Lawrence River shoreline, our Howe Island home has origins dating back to the early 1800's. We're located conveniently between Kingston & Gananoque. Come and relax on our deck or riverside hammock and watch the bird life and the river slip past. Discover why we say '' Discover Howe to relax! '' You'll love our enclosed sunroom overlooking the river and gardens and the cozy lounge. Howe Island B&B is very much an escape and dare we say, 'far from the madding crowd'! Gardenview and Vineyardview rooms are Air Conditioned, totally private and accommodate two couples or mature family. Lawton Lodge is a self contained cabin with screened porch and can accommodate two couples or a small family. Yes, you can even cruise up to our private boat dock! All that at just $185 per room per night (maximum 2 guests per room). Ask about our SUITE DEALS! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howe Island B&B Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing