We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!”
Review of Howe Island B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gananoque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howe Island B&B
Ranked #1 of 12 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

From the moment we drove into the yard we felt welcomed by Dave and Wendy. Following the short " tour" we settled into the Lawson lodge, the room over looked the river and had a screened porch for after the mosquitoes came out. The room was in a separate building than the house, there are 2 rooms but we had the place to our selves, sat out on the deck and watched the moonrise over the river. For breakfast we had the fluffiest omelet, and blueberry pancakes.
When we left we felt as if we had been visiting with old friends and were disappointed that they no vacancy for the next night, if we are in the area again we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlmnorthernBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thaaks for you very kind review and confirming we now have good friends in Ft Nelson! cHOWE!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Howe Island B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 161 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Wendy & David's. It was a great experience. Very relaxing, very friendly, very genuine. We have a year old son -- both Wendy & Dave were very helpful and prepared for the little monsters needs and they were understanding for his actions:)
Must do's:
The lovely breakfast that Wendy prepares. Very tasty and very tastefull presentation.
Lay down on the hammock. While watching the water under the shade of trees do not expect to read more than few pages of a book. You will fall a sleep in no time. It is absolutely recharging.
Have a morning coffee on the deck. Beautiful start for a day.
Check out the objects in the room, in the kitchen or around the garden. It is a tastefully decorated place.
I am sure you will find your own must do's when you get there. We are looking for an availability to get back for another getaway soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IEker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thanks for your very kind review. Our famous hammock really got a workout with you! cHOWE!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

From the moment we arrived we felt at home. We stayed in the Riverview Room and had the whole lodge to ourselves. It was spacious, clean and comfortable.
The view over the St. Lawrence river were fantastic from the desk and from the room.
Breakfast were different each morning and was delicious. The ferry's over to the island were always available and added to the novelty of staying on one of the islands. Gananoque was only a short drive with loads of nice restaurants.
Overall we had a very pleasant stay and would highly recommend it.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Viv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

It was a pleasure having a "loovly" Irish colleen and a fair dinkum Aussie bloke as our quests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were in desperate need of a true city getaway and David and Wendy's B&B could not have been a better fit. We stayed 2 nights in the Lawton Lodge, and it served the perfect homebase to exploring the 1000 islands all the while relaxing and enjoying the serenity of this quaint waterfront locale. David and Wendy were wonderful, making a point of coming out to introduce themselves when we first installed ourselves on their balcony, and great company for the simply lavish breakfasts. We were sorry to leave, to the point that we actually started shopping for cottages upon our return home. Close enough to Gananoque to access the sights of the 1000 islands, yet removed enough to truly disconnect and kick your feet up, we aren't sure Howe we could recommend this spot more!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alec H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiefMeknowhowe, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and endorsement of our operation. It was good to see you "discover Howe to relax"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We accidentally found this place and can say it is now a real favorite. The setting is idyllic with great outdoor sitting places and beautiful views. The hosts checked with us before our arrival to see if they could help us with dinner reservations--which they took care of. And their recommendation was perfect for us. Dave and Wendy are very friendly as well as knowledgeable of the area--very helpful. The room we had was not large but was comfortable and clean and we had a beautiful bathroom en suite. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggyy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiefMeknowhowe, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Your recommendation is very much appreciated and we're thrilled you "accidently found" us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Lawton Lodge for our one year wedding anniversary with the idea in mind to take in the local boat tours of the Thousand Islands. We found Howe Island Winery B&B on Tripadvisor and chose it because of the fabulous reviews and believe me, these reviews were bang on. Dave and Wendy went out of their way to give us the tour, geographical layout and history of the area. World travellers themselves, they definitely know how to provide a great deal of comfort as well as excellent food. Would recommend their beautiful spot to anyone looking to stay in the Gananoque area.

Room Tip: Looking for some privacy away from it all? Choose the Lawton Lodge!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie_MHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiefMeknowhowe, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Thanks so much for your recommendation. We're honoured to have played a small part in your 1st Anniversary celebration!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We are a couple in our 20s that were looking for a place to relax for a day before going on the 1000 islands cruise in Gananoque.  When we drove up to the Howe Island B&B, we instantly wished that we had booked 2 nights!  The grounds are BEAUTIFUL, well kept, with a gorgeous vineyard as you drive in.  Both the main house and the Lawton Lodge are clean, cozy and very nicely decorated.  We spent the day tanning on the deck overlooking the lake, and the evening in the hammock looking at the sunset.  Dave also recommended an amazing restaurant in town, and if you give him a heads-up before you come he will even make a reservation for you so that you can get a table on the patio overlooking the water.  We stayed in the private and eco-friendly Lawton Lodge which had a breathtaking lake view, plus all the amenities you could possibly need (fridge, coffee maker, kettle, hair dryer, shampoo, bug spray, bottled water, complimentary snacks, towels…etc!).  It also had a gazebo entrance which was perfect for when the mosquitoes come out.  We enjoyed spending our evening there looking at the water…we couldn’t even get ourselves to go to sleep because we were having such a nice time!  After all that, we were BEYOND relaxed and enjoyed sleeping in the absolute quiet in the very comfortable bed.  The next morning, Wendy made us a breakfast like we’ve never eaten before!  Fresh fruit, warm blueberry muffins right out of the oven, eggs/ham on an English muffin, plus all the coffee and juice you can have.  She offered seconds, but we could barely breathe. She said she wanted to make sure we were full throughout our 3 hour cruise, and it worked!  I think what made our 1000 islands experience so great was not only the beautiful region and B&B, it was the hospitality we received from Wendy and Dave.  They are so kind and welcoming, you will feel right at home and if you were thinking of staying for one night…you should make it 2 or you will regret it like we did!  Thank you Wendy and Dave, we will be back with friends in September!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beach_Crazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiefMeknowhowe, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Your ringing endorsement is very much appreciated. You both "discovered Howe to relax"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
5.5 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
511 reviews
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
5.1 mi away
The Woodview Inn
The Woodview Inn
#3 of 12 in Gananoque
68 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howe Island B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howe Island B&B

Address: 1976B Howe Island Dr, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2V6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range: $123 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 1000 Islands B&B on 250ft of absolute St Lawrence River shoreline, our Howe Island home has origins dating back to the early 1800's. We're located conveniently between Kingston & Gananoque. Come and relax on our deck or riverside hammock and watch the bird life and the river slip past. Discover why we say '' Discover Howe to relax! '' You'll love our enclosed sunroom overlooking the river and gardens and the cozy lounge. Howe Island B&B is very much an escape and dare we say, 'far from the madding crowd'! Gardenview and Vineyardview rooms are Air Conditioned, totally private and accommodate two couples or mature family. Lawton Lodge is a self contained cabin with screened porch and can accommodate two couples or a small family. Yes, you can even cruise up to our private boat dock! All that at just $185 per room per night (maximum 2 guests per room). Ask about our SUITE DEALS! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howe Island B&B Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing