We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic”
Review of Howe Island B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gananoque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howe Island B&B
Ranked #1 of 12 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Gracious hosts of a meticulously kept home, guest house, and grounds. The tranquility starts as soon as you pull onto the ferry. Turn down the drive to this B&B, past the vineyard (dotted with roses), walk past the flower gardens, under the shade trees, and the view expands to the river! You want to sit in each comfortable chair or hammock, but the soft beds beckon. The eco-cottage is a treasure! Breakfasts were such delicious, special events that we were glad we'd torn ourselves away from our room for a great morning run, with views of the river at every turn. Enjoyed several of the nearby attractions and just wish we'd saved a little more time to soak up the serenity here. The owners are knowledgeable about the area and fascinating people. A perfect stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celtlassD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiefMeknowhowe, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
It's always a pleasure to have guests who appreciate our property and the 1000 Islands region to the extent you did! You help us appreciate our special place on the planet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
92
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ste-Adele
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My mother and I recently had the pleasure of staying in the guest house for three nights. It was more than a wonderful stay. David and Wendy are exceptional host. The site is beautiful. The beds are comfortable. Food is more than exquisite. Everything was perfect! Do not hesitate to go and get there! Marie-Claude and Louise.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Claude G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
We appreciate your kind review and recommendation which are both very important to our business. We hope to see you again! Merci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We were looking to get away and relax from the hustle and bustle of city life for a peaceful weekend and got exactly that! Situated on the picturesque St. Lawrence River between Kingston and Gananoque, Wendy and David have created a beautiful B&B that is at the top of the TripAdvisor charts for a reason. We chose to stay in the Riverview Room in Lawton Lodge, which is a separate cottage-style area away from the main home. The views of the river from this room are amazing, where you wake up to see the water just steps from your bed. Breakfasts were truly delicious, made with local ingredients, and did not fail to fill us up for the start of our days. Even better than that, the view from the dining room table was breathtaking. Howe Island is only reachable by cable ferries on opposite sides of the island (one 3-vehicle and one 15-vehicle). Therefore, there is very little traffic on the island which makes the water and wildlife the only sounds you'll hear as you're relaxing on the hammock or in a chair on the dock.

Wendy and David were very gracious hosts who we'll undoubtedly be seeing again in the future. Thanks for showing us Howe to relax!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayDLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for your flattering review. We strive to do a few things very well and sharing our idyllic lifestyle is one of them. So very pleased you enjoyed your stay and learned your ''Howe to relax '' lesson well! We'll look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Always specify a bit of who i am so you can compare my ratings: am a well traveled french canadian and very foody (and picky i must ad).

The location of this Bed and breakfast is great and i would imagine even better in summer to go for a swim and a winy on the superb deck.

The hosts are lovely actually wonderful. They are what i call the canadians at their best: they don't take life too seriously and are very welcoming.

Would go back anytime.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you so much! We appreciate your comments, endorsement and, hope you're able to return some day perhaps in the summer?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Wendy and David gave us a very warm welcome when we stayed at the Howe Island Winery BB at the end of August 2011. Our stay at at the Winery was not what you would call a conventional night at a B&B. To reach the island you have to take a small cable ferry, therefore there is almost no traffic on the island which is very relaxing. We stayed in the Riverview Room because of the breathtaking view, it's in the Lawton Lodge, a small wood cabin only a few steps from the Saint Lawrence river. There was a big thunderstrom that night (courtesy of hurricane Irene) which was a bit unnerving, sometimes we thought we were really "in" the river, but in the end it was an adventure we will never forget. Unfortunately, at that time there was no wine available for a tasting, I hope we can revisit the place one day (we are from Europe) and make up for that.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
So glad you experienced an "exciting night" in Canada through the windows of LAWTON LODGE! Life on the river is always changing! We try not to be too "conventional" and most guests from overseas enjoy the cabin-like accommodation we offer. Hope to see you again when the winery is in full production!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2011

It was a warm summer night in August 2011, the moon less than 24 hours from full. The setting: a gorgeous deck strewn out over the calm St. Lawrence River, one of the many unique features of the Howe Island Winery Bed and Breakfast. I had been asked by old friends, David and Wendy Jones to entertain their guests and friends on the island with a night of song and story. An offer I would never refuse given the graciousness of my friends and the opportunity to pop my Howe Island cherry. My girlfriend Amy and I had the pleasure of staying in the ‘guest house’ to the west of the main B&B. The guest house had a large, private bedroom, and full bathroom with a welcome bonus of a screened in porch overlooking the river. As it turns out, the deck was of great inspiration for this singer/songwriter and was equally enjoyed by Amy. Let us not forget the generosity of our hosts, David and Wendy. We enjoyed wine and delicious home cooked meals while sharing stories of the 10 years that had passed since we’d had the opportunity to spend this kind of quality time together. Needless to say, we’d return to ‘Howelywood’ in a heartbeat. Outside of the amazing landscaping, beautiful river, welcoming hosts and tranquil ambience provided courtesy of Howe Island, what musician wouldn’t want to exchange a single night of playing music for what the Howe Island Winery Bed and Breakfast provided in return? See you in 2012!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
We appreciate your kind endorsement and look very much forward to your return to HOWELYWOOD and Music in the Vines! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We recently had the pleasure of staying and meeting the hosts of Howe Island Winery, David and Wendy. It was truly a wonderful stay. They made us feel welcome and they are extremely gracious. The property is truly beautiful and we look forward to a return stay when we can enjoy the ambiance and hospitality. Do not hesitate to book a stay with them. Monique & Bruce

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellersAjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
5.5 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
484 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
5.1 mi away
The Woodview Inn
The Woodview Inn
#3 of 12 in Gananoque
54 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howe Island B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howe Island B&B

Property: Howe Island B&B
Address: 1976B Howe Island Dr, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2V6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 1000 Islands B&B on 250ft of absolute St Lawrence River shoreline, our Howe Island home has origins dating back to the early 1800's. We're located conveniently between Kingston & Gananoque. Come and relax on our deck or riverside hammock and watch the bird life and the river slip past. Discover why we say '' Discover Howe to relax! '' You'll love our enclosed sunroom overlooking the river and gardens and the cozy lounge. Howe Island B&B is very much an escape and dare we say, 'far from the madding crowd'! Gardenview and Vineyardview rooms are Air Conditioned, totally private and accommodate two couples or mature family. Lawton Lodge is a self contained cabin with screened porch and can accommodate two couples or a small family. Yes, you can even cruise up to our private boat dock! All that at just $185 per room per night (maximum 2 guests per room). Ask about our SUITE DEALS! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howe Island B&B Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing