We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Music in the Vines 2011”
Review of Howe Island B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gananoque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howe Island B&B
Ranked #1 of 12 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2011

It was a warm summer night in August 2011, the moon less than 24 hours from full. The setting: a gorgeous deck strewn out over the calm St. Lawrence River, one of the many unique features of the Howe Island Winery Bed and Breakfast. I had been asked by old friends, David and Wendy Jones to entertain their guests and friends on the island with a night of song and story. An offer I would never refuse given the graciousness of my friends and the opportunity to pop my Howe Island cherry. My girlfriend Amy and I had the pleasure of staying in the ‘guest house’ to the west of the main B&B. The guest house had a large, private bedroom, and full bathroom with a welcome bonus of a screened in porch overlooking the river. As it turns out, the deck was of great inspiration for this singer/songwriter and was equally enjoyed by Amy. Let us not forget the generosity of our hosts, David and Wendy. We enjoyed wine and delicious home cooked meals while sharing stories of the 10 years that had passed since we’d had the opportunity to spend this kind of quality time together. Needless to say, we’d return to ‘Howelywood’ in a heartbeat. Outside of the amazing landscaping, beautiful river, welcoming hosts and tranquil ambience provided courtesy of Howe Island, what musician wouldn’t want to exchange a single night of playing music for what the Howe Island Winery Bed and Breakfast provided in return? See you in 2012!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

We appreciate your kind endorsement and look very much forward to your return to HOWELYWOOD and Music in the Vines! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 161 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2011

We recently had the pleasure of staying and meeting the hosts of Howe Island Winery, David and Wendy. It was truly a wonderful stay. They made us feel welcome and they are extremely gracious. The property is truly beautiful and we look forward to a return stay when we can enjoy the ambiance and hospitality. Do not hesitate to book a stay with them. Monique & Bruce

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellersAjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We were sad when we had to leave Howe Island and our generous hosts David and Wendy Jones.

The location replicated the kind of place we had often dreamed of living. Quaint old-style buildings set in a quiet picturesque location amongst the vines, looking out over the water just a few feet away, watching the world float by as we lounged in the chairs by the river.

The B&B was very comfortable with an ambience at night from the light of the oil-lamps setting the scene. The picture window, framing the river, gave a pleasing start to the day as we breakfasted on our fresh fruit, pancakes and omelettes after a restful night in a very comfortable bed followed by a lovely warm gushing shower. And they even had Vegemite for our toast!

Coming from so far away it was very helpful to get David's guidance as to places to see and how to get there. And the ferries to get on and off the isalnd just added to the charm.

If ever we are back in Canada we will do everything we can to again stay at the Howe Island Winery B&B.

Room Tip: Lawton Lodge offers a view from your bed over the St Lawrence
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thanks for your very kind review. When you return please refill the VEGEMITE jar! CHOWE!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We received a night's stay at this wonderful B&B for our wedding and ended up using it on our first anniversary. It was such a great experience that we decided to make it a yearly event. Delicious food, beautiful rooms and scenery and great company made our weekend very special!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thanks for your very kind review and congratulations on the new arrival! cHOWE!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Just after Thanksgiving my husband and I enjoyed a wonderful two-day stay at Howe Island Winery B&B. Wendy and David were perfect hosts. Our room was lovely without being cutesy, with a spacious comfy bed and a beautifully appointed shower. Breakfast was a delicious start to the day, especially sitting at the dining table looking out across the water. It was our first trip to the area, so Wendy & David were helpful with suggestions on getting around and what to see and where to eat in Gananoque and Kingston. It was a fun unique experience taking the small ferry on and off the island. This is definitely the kind of place you look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grexmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Really apreciate your endorsement. We work very hard to ensure our guests enjoy not only our property but the 1000 Islands as well. Hope to see you again soon! cHOWE!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in their new "Lawton Lodge", a separate bungalow from the main house. What beautiful views from the lodge of the water! The place was spotless and comfy and private. Wendy's breakfasts were very delicious and kept us going all afternoon! The deck was a great place to relax and watch the world go by. Wish we could have stayed longer! Wendy and Dave were great hosts!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DFWMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

My friend and I attended a wedding on Howe Island this summer - 2011.
We stayed with the lovely Wendy and dynamic Dave at the Howe Island Winery B&B.
Their B&B boasts a magnificent view a lovely vineyard, spotless residence, and a sense of old-world charm that is irreplaceable.
We found much-needed solace and a temporary retreat from all the hustle and bustle of our over-scheduled lives.
Thank you Wendy and Dave for making us feel so special. We will most certainly be back

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
5.5 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
518 reviews
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
5.1 mi away
The Woodview Inn
The Woodview Inn
#3 of 12 in Gananoque
69 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howe Island B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howe Island B&B

Address: 1976B Howe Island Dr, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2V6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range: $120 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 1000 Islands B&B on 250ft of absolute St Lawrence River shoreline, our Howe Island home has origins dating back to the early 1800's. We're located conveniently between Kingston & Gananoque. Come and relax on our deck or riverside hammock and watch the bird life and the river slip past. Discover why we say '' Discover Howe to relax! '' You'll love our enclosed sunroom overlooking the river and gardens and the cozy lounge. Howe Island B&B is very much an escape and dare we say, 'far from the madding crowd'! Gardenview and Vineyardview rooms are Air Conditioned, totally private and accommodate two couples or mature family. Lawton Lodge is a self contained cabin with screened porch and can accommodate two couples or a small family. Yes, you can even cruise up to our private boat dock! All that at just $185 per room per night (maximum 2 guests per room). Ask about our SUITE DEALS! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howe Island B&B Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing