We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Play”

Thousand Islands Playhouse
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most scenic theatre in Canada, the Thousand Islands Playhouse has two theatres on the banks of the St. Lawrence River, halfway between Toronto and Montreal, Canada. Featuring the longest decks in the region, The Springer Theatre is an intimate air conditioned vintage "canoe club" - and seats 360 with proscenium style seating. The Firehall Theatre is a heritage building with flexible seating open to innovative staging.
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Play”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was a good show about 5 nuns that run a convent and was quite funny.
We were with a group from church social group.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    59
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Totally charming”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I took in "No Great Mischief" while doing some sightseeing in the 1000 islands area and were totally captivated by this charming, beautiful theatre. We have Mirvish subscriptions so seeing a play in a smaller, less ostentatious setting was a great change for us. The theatre itself is a converted clubhouse for a rowing club and the lobby has many displays showing the club's history. The walk down to the theatre is a bit steep but if you have mobility issues they have staff on golf carts to assist you.
The play itself was very thought-provoking and is one that I would recommend to anyone. It was one you had to "stay with" but you were well-rewarded if you did.

We both agreed if we lived in the area, that we would be subscribers. It was a totally enjoyable evening of entertainment.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aprguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph,On
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“No Great Mischief”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Located at the bottom of a rather steep hill, navigation difficult for those with physical disabilities. Saw the first half of No Great Mischief, strange production that could not keep our attention.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petawawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Post Mistress - a delightful surprise”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We visited the Thousand Islands theatre as part of our 35 wedding anniversary weekend. The one woman show was excellent, The (Post) Mistress was an excellent critique on the social issues of small town Ontario in the 1960s. Thomson Highway has a way with words and the actress has lots of energy.
we will return to the theatre.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Quality Provincial theatre”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We attended "The (Post) Mistress", a one-woman musical as part of a Chuckles Discovery Tour-theatre package. The play, written by eminent Canadian, aboriginal author, Thomson Highway, was a cracker: a deeply, insightful perspective on white Canada and its social issues. Actress Martha Irving was simply outstanding. A superlative performance! The Playhouse is offering a season of quality plays and if this production is anything to go by, all will be of a very high standard.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MykieHamiltonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thousand Islands Playhouse also viewed

 
Gananoque, Ontario
 

Been to Thousand Islands Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing