We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I booked the motel from Expedia by phone. The agent told me clearly the motel offered free breakfast for ALL guests in the same room. When we got there, we were told the bf only for 2 guests and no substitute for the scramble egg, or $1 will be added!? My guess was the cook was too lazy to work.
So I had to pay for my two children's bf and the motel blamed Expedia for the mistake. Isn't that a scam of what?
And the room smelled like somebody's old dusty basement. Absolutely disgusting. Old TV, noisy ac, uncomfortable bed, old bathroom, etc. If you forget your shampoo and want to wash your hair everyday, you are out of luck. They only supply the shampoo ONCE! And I found blood on the inroom tissue box,euh!
Warning: DO NOT BOOK THIS MOTEL. EVEN FOR FREE.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelkitty2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, Manager at Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
I'm sorry that your stay with us was not to your liking.

Regarding what Expedia told you, we have no control over what third party booking agencies tell customers over the phone. We have always given 2 free hot breakfasts per room and we offer a discounted breakfast coupons for additional room guests, who are staying in the same room. Our customers have commented on how nice it is to have a freshly cooked breakfast included in the room price, instead of a prepacked muffin and a cup of juice offered at other properties( or no breakfast at all). Also our cook is not lazy, we have 77 rooms on the property and many group functions which food is prepared for.

Regarding the guest room: all of our rooms have cedar wood ceilings, which some guests confuse as a "musty smell" when in fact it is the cedar that they smell.

Every bed on the property was replaced recently with Serta top brand mattresses and being a seasonal property ( we close the end of October and reopen mid April). The mattresses are in top shape.

I would also like to mention that we provide more than adequate amenities in our rooms and if there were not enough in your room our front desk staff would have been more than happy to provide you with what you needed.

We have recently placed an order for 32" flat screen televisions.

Ramada properties are all independently owned and operated.

This is a family run business with a personal local flavor. Our main building is decorated with antiques and memorabilia from the 1000 islands area. Many of our customers love our unique property, and our huge 85' heated outdoor pool.

It's unfortunate that this type of lodging is not to your liking and you were unhappy with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    75
    58
    20
    23
See reviews for
68
96
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

My two-year-old daughter nearly swallowed a blue amphetamine capsule and an unlabelled white pill that were on the floor by the night stand and one of the beds. Luckily, she showed it to my husband and said "I eat that ?" before swallowing it.

They obviously didn't vacuum the room properly and the pills were pretty visible - my daughter (who of course notices everything on the floor) found those tablets as soon as we arrived in the room while we were bringing the luggage in from the car into the room.

It's too bad because although the bathroom was very dated, the room was otherwise reasonable and the breakfast was fine and being able to drive up to the room was convenient: we were driving through on our way to Lake Placid and were planning on stopping on the way back but I wouldn't ever stay here again and could not recommend it. The room was not properly cleaned or else someone used the room to get high in between customers (we stayed in room 514 on August 10th).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrASToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, Manager at Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
As management we were upset that we were not notified of this situation.
We would have liked the opportunity to correct the situation while the guest was on the property.
For all we know it could have been a candy such as a tic- tac.
We have reviewed our vacuum procedures with all housekeeping staff and we can assure you that we adhere to strict key control and no one has access to any room other than housekeeping and management.
If we had been made aware of the situation at the time we certainly would have been attentive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We booked the hotel on the road from Toronto to Montreal based on Tripadvisor reviews. I have to admit that at first i was disappointed that the room seemed outdated. But as soon as we closed the door and looked around we realized that the room was cozy and spotless with a kind of cottage charm with the wood ceiling and well maintained (if outdated) furniture. The set up with one level and parking right outside the door was so convenient. The bed (king sized) was very comfy and the room super quiet. We got breakfast coupons for a hot sit-down breakfast in the throw-back restaurant. The whole place is dated but it's not shabby, just takes you back to another era. The staff were laid back and friendly. It was a delightful, comfortable experience and we will be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaliahToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Motel was good and clean, llovely big rooms, and had lots of parking. Reception staff were nice. Great price which included breakfast. The only down side of this was wifi was very, very slow. Also lst Internet connection a few times.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PM963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank You very much for your positive comment !
We are working to ensure that our WIFI performance will be better. We have recently deployed a 50MB connection for the guests to share.

If you return to the 1000 Islands, come and stay with us again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Our stay at the Ramada Provincial Inn was awful. I called in the afternoon to let them know we would be checking in late, and the person I spoke to on the phone had a rushed/rude tone in her voice. When we checked in the people at the desk were nice enough, explained to us where things were, and how breakfast works in the mornings. We got to our room, and it was quaint. The room was small, and was very outdated. On first notice it seemed clean, but upon further inspection there was mold, and dirt everywhere, they didn't seem to care about deep cleaning. We noticed right away that we could hear our neighbours who were outside drinking, so that was a little annoying. We went to the pool just to cool dip our feet in, and it seemed clean. When we got back from the pool my husband saw an ant on the bed, when he lifted the mattress, there were hundreds of ants between the mattress and the box-spring.

We packed up and went to the front desk, and told them about the ants, they weren't apologetic at all. They did move us to another room in another block, but we were appalled that they didn't even apologize for it. The new room had the same look to it, it was old, and was dirty too. There was a dirty facecloth left behind, but at this point we just wanted to get through the evening, we chose to ignore it. We checked for bugs, and couldn't find any living in the room, there were cobwebs near the ceiling full of gnats, you would think that could be something cleaned. Eventually we went to bed, but neither me or my husband could shake the gross dirty feeling we had in this hotel.

In the morning we went to the included breakfast, which was a no substitution breakfast. I am pregnant and can't stomach eggs, and the breakfast was scrambled eggs, toast, home-fries, and bacon or sausage. I asked for the eggs to be left off mine. When our breakfast came 15 minutes later, you would think with no substitutions it would be a little quicker, the bacon was soggy, the home-fries were good, my husband's eggs were rubbery and gross looking. After breakfast we checked out and never looked back.
In the morning

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Pay the extra $30 and stay across the street at the Holiday Inn Express, my pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank You for your feedback. We do apologize for your experience, we strive to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay.

Here at the Ramada Provincial Inn located in the heart of the 1000 Islands, on the Edge of the Frontenac Arch Biosphere offers 10 acres of natural beauty. All of our rooms are located on ground level, and we are set in a casual type environment. With the hot dry weather, it is possible for a room to have an insect.
That being said most of our guest choose us as a destination, because of our park like setting and comfortable cottage style Adirondack chairs out front of each room.

We would also like to state that since your visit, we have made considerable changes to our housekeeping routine. We strive to constantly provide a better experience and Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madoc, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Hotel has agood location. Front desk staff friendly. Room was reasonably clean but needs upgrading from lights, TV, curtains etc. Included breakfast was terrible with poor service. Swimming pool was great.Great parking access to room.

Room Tip: always enqiire beforehand if room is pet free if there are health issues such as allergic reactions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delta155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
126 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed in Ramada Provincial Inn for one night and our motel-room was very clean but very old. You have your basics...two queen-size beds, bath, fridge and an old TV-set! Gananoque is an cosy little town with a nice beach near the city center...can recommand for famelies!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kjetil-Sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.1 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Gananoque
Travelodge Gananoque
#6 of 11 in Gananoque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn

Property: Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn
Address: 846 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Provincial Hotel Gananoque
Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn Ontario, Canada
Gananoque Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing