We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Markham, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“OMG!!”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We booked this place the night before arriving. Should have checked closer. We checked in at 2 pm and were checked out by 2:50 pm. The room was musty smelling and there was mold in the bathroom. You could see they had painted over it. That's not even the worst. BUGS!
There were numerous flies and mosquitos in the room but the cockroach on the inside of the big front window did it for us. Must admit though, the staff at the front desk were very accomodating and we got a full refund. Ended up getting a room at another hotel that we have been to many times so the weekend was not lost.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markhamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    78
    64
    24
    30
See reviews for
70
106
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

My wife and I stopped in late on a Sunday night. We got a large, quiet motel room that was clean, spacious and comfortable. A bacon and egg breakfast at the attached restaurant was included. Great value for $.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I would give this place a big, fat zero if I could though I haven't even stayed a night here, and I'll tell you why, I couldn't get that far due to how truly inhospitable and discourteous the staff was on the phone.

I booked a room two weeks ago and never received an email conformation. I called today to inquire about it whereupon I had the great misfortune of engaging the rudest desk clerk ever to be encountered. I won't hold you up with a word by word account but here's one quote from that phone call " I'll send it to you when I've got the time. I'm busy." And then a curt goodby.

I gave it three hours and still not having received the e-mail (mind you, I'm busy as well and just want to get on with having myself organized.) I called back. Again I got the same hostile woman on the phone, Crystal. Great. My luck holds true.

I politely asked -as if walking on eggshells- about the email confirmation.
"I sent it to you." Rude response, check. Rude tone, check. Nothing changes with this woman in three hours time.

"No," I say, looking at my email box, "I did not get it." By her account this was entirely my fault. Now she's blaming me for not getting the email? Wow! According to her I gave her the wrong e-mail address.
Huh, yeah okay, it's more likely I don't know my own email rather than her not taking the time to write it down correctly, or caring to.

From there she did her best to further pull me into her world of unhappiness and need to release her anger on someone. It was ludicrous. I told her I really wasn't interested in getting into a fight I would just like to have my e-mail confirmation. Still, she kept tugging. Eventually I untangled myself from her tornado of negativity and got off the phone. I thought on it for two minutes and decided to just cancel. Who needs this kind of unpleasantness when going on vacation? I could get this at work.

I called back seconds later only to get more of the same treatment from the manager. He defended this employee saying, "Crystal is the best employee we have."

Now that's a truly laughable pronouncement. I told him that claim does nothing to sell anyone on coming there. If that's your best...? He also stated she never took the first call as she wasn't there. He was obviously lying for her. He gets MVP as team player in the game of treat the customer like dirt. There was never any denial on her part that she took the call.

Vacationer beware, he too attempted to engage me in a bout of bickering. Negativity rains triumphant at the Ramada Provincial Inn. Not my thing. All I want is a simple e-mail people. Forget it. I cancel out.

Not so ironically, that email, the one to cancel, came within seconds.
Apparently, what they do have time for is arguing and scaring away customers but not actually doing their job.

To sum it up people, unless you're into sadism, run for just about any hotel other than this one in Gananoque. The staff on this payroll doesn't deserve one penny of your hard earned vacation money which they can go out and have a good time on it when they are off the clock.

One huge long BOOOOO for the Ramada Provincial Inn.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SunshineHoneyBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gananoque hotels

OTTAWA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed here for the Labour Day weekend. The rooms are dated with furnishings from the 80"s , but they were clean and comfortable. Air Conditioning worked great. We liked the fact that you drive right to your door, no evevators or luggage carts to load. This hotel was built in 1950 and the pool is huge, it measures about 100 ft long. Staff were friendly on the desk and extended a senior rate to us for both the days. The rate included a full breakfast of scrambled eggs, choice of sausage or bacon, toast (white, whole wheat or rye) and many refills of coffee or tea. Wait staff were friendly also. We would stay here again, because the rates were great.

Room Tip: In the summer months I would ask for a room closer to the pool area. This place is spread out on 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOVESCUBA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed 3 nights, just to get a break from the city and also to spend quality time with the family before school reopens, the place is nicely located and the staff are friendly, service was great, no complains. Will definetly return.

Room Tip: all rooms are great,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maadca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, CAN
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I called the Inn on Fri afternoon (Sept 9) to book for that night (only night avail, as full Sat night) - and got a room for 2, with 2 double beds, for under $90. It was a large room, clean, aired, quiet, coffee maker, small fridge, lots of towels. And the closest one to the casino - which made my husband happy. We both had really good sleeps - husband still coughing from a bad cold, but I didn't hear a thing!! Hope the neighbours didn't either. Hot breakfast included, in the restaurant - scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, toast, potatoes, coffee; but juices extra. Outdoor pool, large and clean. Definitely will stay there again.

Room Tip: be sure to mention CAA or AAA or being a senior to get any discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WandererOttawa_CAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Spent one night at the hotel over Labor Day weekend. As the hotels in Kingston were all booked thought we would try further out and were pleasantly surprised with our choice. Service was excellent from the start, with the front desk answering all my internet queries. We did get the extra foam pillows we requested no questions asked.
Room was excellent clean and comfortable. We were surprised at how much was included in the price. Nice touch individual toiletries and good quality tea and coffee pouches. Beds were very comfortable and the whole family had a good nights sleep. I liked the fact there was seating outside the front door, so whilst the adults sat outside the kids enjoyed watching the t.v. The room was a good size and we liked the wooden ceilings and naked brick walls. We are not keen on fixed showers but there was plenty of hot water a a good pressure for us all to shower in the morning. I also do not like bar soaps but the variety provided was nice and creamy and did smell nice too! Plenty of towels for us all.
The service at breakfast was excellent. Both servers were friendly and chatty and kept the coffee coming. We were happy with the food and there was choice as we had to pay for the kids meals. Eggs came sunny side up and the server provided the kids with bacon and sausage at no extra charge! At ten dollars there was no complaints just clean plates all around.
The hotel was in a good location and we enjoyed walking into town for an evening meal. It was also convenient for a quick get away onto the Thousand Island road first thing in the morning. We were not disturbed by the freeway or any party people coming back from the Casino.
Our only complaint would be the pool. We were in the five hundreds and it was a walk from there to the pool. It would of been difficult to shower and then take the kids across. Also no extra towels seemed to be provided for this facility which was a shame. If you do go with the intention of using the pool request a nearer room.
Over all an excellent experience. We would consider visiting the Provincial again if we were touring this area. Amazing value at the price.

Room Tip: If you want to use the pool request one near it! If not the 500s are great for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Gananoque
Travelodge Gananoque
#5 of 11 in Gananoque
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn

Property: Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn
Address: 846 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Provincial Hotel Gananoque
Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn Ontario, Canada
Gananoque Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing