We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Peaceful, pleasant place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glen House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glen House Resort
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Meaford, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful, pleasant place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have just returned from a mini-vacation at Glen House Resort in Gananoque. What a pleasant place. The grounds are beautifully kept and even this late in the year had colourful flower beds.
Our room, a riverview deluxe, overlooked the St. Lawrence River. A view that could be seen from the bed as well as the rest of the room. The room was large with a king bed and a sitting area with T.V. and fridge. There was a second room with twin beds .
The housekeeper for our room was very accommodating and friendly lady. We found the staff, with the exception of one person, polite and helpful. The bartender went out of his way for my husband.
My only complaint would be the main door to the room stuck and took some effort to open and close.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    71
    39
    31
    25
See reviews for
51
79
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights from aug 31-Sept 2/12. The room we had was an "non river view" and it was small!! It was clean though. There was no bar fridge. The shower was different and seemed to leak. I used the blow dryer and blew a fuse in the room I guess cuz the A/C was on too? I called front desk and they fixed it right away from down there. I guess it happens a lot?

We have a 24 foot boat and used there boat launch. It was very steep and hard to use. They have lots of docking here.

The restaurant was amazing!!! Best food I have had in a LONG time and we eat out a lot. Have the prime rib!! It was unreal!! The service was a bit slow tho 

I don’t know if we would stay here again, but we will defiantly be back for the food and drinks.

Room Tip: Maybe choose one with a river view...they might be bigger?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shell_2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

More attention required to the waterfront maintenance and cleaniness...lots of weeds and dead fish...
Food was great, but pricey..
Staff we're freindly but stretched..one waitress to two large groups of 20..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gananoque hotels

Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Resort was quiet nice. Rooms were questionable..Alot of work needed, carpets dirty, ceilings stained and bathroom could use a facelift. Found alot of shoe/clothing tags,socks, left over stuff from the presious guests and an old drinking glass with cigarettes butts on the padio THAT was kind of distrubing. House keeping oviously not doing there job :(
Sittiing out on the patio all we saw was spiders,spider and more spiders plus all the webs everywhere IT was gross... Someone should really start taking care of this issue. Now on the upside, Restaurants were GREAT food was good Staff was amazing, very kind and very friendly......The service at the golf coarse was FABULOUS..Thanks to all of you!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyVacationor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I arrived on the wrong day and the overworked receptionist kindly found me a room anyway. It was large and comfortable but I find a jacuzzi bathtub next to the bed strange. Lovely view from my room, but the shore front (St. Lawrence River) is too polluted for me to swim. The indoor pool was hot and not bad for laps; the outdoor pool was suitable for children and there's not much space within the enclosure for hanging out. I saw people playing shuffleboard and there are loads of boating options. My room had a small patio shielded from adjacent neighbours by cedars but open to the front, so I had to keep the heavy curtains drawn during the day for privacy which meant keeping lights on. The dark carpet throughout the room was a bit gloomy. However, the roast beef in the large comfortable dining room was outstanding and the grounds are pleasant with chairs (many plastic) for looking at the river. It's not luxurious or serene (the small marina in front is busy) but good value for a real resort.

Room Tip: The river front rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The property is very picturesque with beautiful views of the 1000 islands for most of the rooms. The dining room serves good food at a fair price with friendly helpful servers. The rooms themselves are in need of updating however and the a general cleanliness is poor. Peeling wall paper, grungy floors, rough looking bathroom. This resort needs to be restored to its former glory as it is a wonderful spot.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room that has a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in July and had a great time and a great view. Our room was renovated and was actually two large rooms and a bathroom, and was accessible. The bathroom was huge with a large shower, and quite modern. For those wondering about accessibility, the shower and toilet were fairly accessible, the sink was not. Having the second bedroom with two single beds was great, as our son was able to sleep there in a "pack and play" while we stayed up in the other room. The larger room had a king bed and two little sitting areas. There was a bar fridge but no sink (although the plumbing seems to be there, so perhaps this is in the plans). The outside patio off our room was in need of repair and some paint. We had a nice view of the little beach and were very close to it and the pool. The outside pool was nice and clean. We looked at the inside pool which also seemed nice, but it was hot and we wanted to be outside, so we didn't use it! The games room was a nice feature, but it was old and musty. The fitness room was not very useful, my husband tried to use a number of pieces of equipment and they didn't function well or at all. The food at the restaurant was good for breakfast and dinner. They don't serve lunch so we went to their golf course across the road, which was good, although didn't have high chairs. I would stay here again, it was great for our family and would be good for couples too. Fixing up the games and fitness rooms and definitely the patios would be suggested!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diggcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
5.8 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#2 of 11 in Gananoque
4.0 of 5 stars 423 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
5.1 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
7.7 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
6.7 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#6 of 11 in Gananoque
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen House Resort

Property: Glen House Resort
Address: #409 1000 Island Parkway | RR1, Lansdowne, Gananoque, Ontario K0E 1LO, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Glen House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen House Hotel Gananoque
Glen Hotel Ontario
Glen Resort Ontario
Glen House Resort Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing