We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveler rating
239
211
73
40
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
211
73
40
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watermark restaurant waterfront room muskie jakes breakfast was included watch the boats honeymoon suite lawrence river the pub muskoka chairs river view prime rib overlooking the water main building tour boats off season no elevator third floor
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 584 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2016

Earlier in June, my wife and I spent the day and night, on our way back from visiting family in Ottawa. We really like the waterfront rooms with a back door right to the car. Sitting on the dock, overlooking the harbour, the gorgeous Gananoque Boat Line vessels sailing in and out, in the company of an occasional Great Blue Heron........a slice of heaven!
This resort property truly shows pride of ownership by its proprietors.
Their clam chowder is reported to be the best in the 1000 Islands, but it rivals any from PEI. As for their beef barley soup, the best I've ever had. Same goes for the eggs benedict in the morning.
The Gananoque Inn & Spa is just the perfect place to stay and/or dine and the location is so picturesque!

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herman181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2016

Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you noticed pride of ownership. We have our dedicated staff to thank for that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2016

The Inn was very lovely (our room was not in the Inn, but on the same property, and was one story) - a little of the old fashion type room, but it was right on the water and that was just beautiful. This is a historic building with quite an interesting story behind it. I thought it was a little pricey for the room that we got, but we also received a very wonderful buffet breakfast which was excellent and the service was great. This is one of those opportunities that you just don't want to pass up because you may never get the chance again. We were scheduled to stay in the Inn the second night, but found out that there was no elevator and the stairs were too long for my disabled friend so we had to leave. The Inn is very nice and gives you the old Victorian feeling, lots of antiques. Well worth staying at, just be aware nothing in the Inn for the handicapped. They did offer us a good deal to stay in a house next door, but the price was out of our budget. The staff were very willing to try and help us out.

Room Tip: The rooms on the water were great for the view. You could sit out in the chairs right on the St. Lawrence River. Very beautiful area.
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annd527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2016

Thank you for your review. We were happy to read your many positive comments. Although we do not have an elevator we do have guest rooms that are wheelchair accessible. Both of our restaurants are at ground level with wheelchair access. An adjacent washroom is designed for guests with mobility issues. For the most convenient accommodation it is best to book ahead directly with the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2016 via mobile

Just arrived today to a warm greeting from the front desk staff! Off to the spa for a couples massage! The greeting there was warm and inviting. Massage was lovely and relaxing. Then on to the pub deck for lunch. Both soups where tasty and hot. Hubby had the clam chowder which was homemade. Our room is quaint and charming on the water. The chairs and table are a nice addition on our patio over looking the water. Watching the boats go by. Drinking champagne. Thank you to the inn staff for the chilled bubbly! ☀️☀️ keep you posted! On the rest of our stay!

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Ambassador808830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2016

Thank you for your review. We hope the rest of your stay was equally pleasant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2016

Reserved a waterfront room for a sisters' weekend-great room with Adirondack chairs outside each room enabling us to sit and gaze at the water and the boats drifting by. Location is perfect, within walking distance of the Playhouse, the Gananoque Boat Lines (for river cruises), the 1000 Islands Kayaking (guided kayaking tours), and the main business area with many great restaurants and shops. Wonderful buffet breakfast each morning. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The waterfront motel rooms have the best views!
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank VAH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2016

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your sister weekend with us!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2016

This is an older pub in reasonable condition and the meal was just that - reasonable. Don't get me wrong we walked in expecting pub grub and that's what we got. No complaints, although they would have sold more drinks had they come back more regularly.

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Thank you for your review. You didn't expect nearly enough! The Gananoque Inn and Spa is so much more than a pub. We have 53 unique hotel rooms, Watermark our fine dining restaurant, a spa, conference and wedding facilities and a beautiful waterfront location with 500 feet of docking for our guests. All of this comes with professional, experienced and gracious staff. We hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews