We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gananoque Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights while touring in Ontario & Quebec, and got a great package deal. (Breakfast & Dinner included). The location is SO beautiful - if you can, then go for the riverside rooms! The only slight disadvantage with these rooms is that while you are enjoying the river view, people are able to walk past and look straight in the room/s as they are on the ground floor. A cheese platter and sparkling wine waiting in our rooms on arrival was a lovely touch.

The restaurant was excellent. Make sure you eat in the fine dining restaurant, rather than in the pub (Muskie Jakes) part of the hotel! We ended up in the pub on our first night (jet lag), and the staff did not set us straight until it was too late and we had ordered. The pub was OK, but not what we came for. In fairness, however, the reception staff did credit our account with our "missed" restaurant meal when we left.

And do make sure you do a cruise around the 1000 islands - it was well worth it!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gulliver63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    167
    51
    23
    10
See reviews for
87
266
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

Like one of the other reviews, the Gananoque Inn was chosen as a good place to bring together folks from Ottawa, Montréal and Toronto for dinner and an overnight stay. We had a beautiful late March day and spent the late afternoon and early evening outside on our common veranda. The Inn was very accommodating of our Spring "Christmas Dinner" and dressed our table with Christmas-sy center piece and the dinner was very nice.

Another treat for us was the quality of the bed and the well appointed room. It's too bad that we got in in the late afternoon because I would have liked to have tried out the large in room Jacuzzi tub. As for the bed, it was King size (nice) and also was a *not* worn out pillow top type mattress. The was a welcome change over the bed we spent 5-days in elsewhere in the same week.

Our impressions are definitely coloured by the terrific weather and the enjoyable time we had with our friends. As for downsides, I can think of two: sound proofing and the breakfast.

We were on a package including both our dinner and our breakfast. As mentioned, dinner was quite good including well prepared appetizer, main course, dessert and coffee. Decaf Expresso was available and something a little more upscale than refined white sugar would have been perfect. Breakfast was buffet style with choice of three cereals, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs (steam table), side bacon/sausages/ham (steam table), fried potatoes (steam table), toast & mini-muffins. Competent but ordinary, the morning coffee was also standard hotel grade coffee i.e., also competent but ordinary. Overall, the choices seemed limited and a bit of a step down from dinner.

Soundproofing was OK but we did hear footfalls from the room overhead as well as some other party firing up their Jacuzzi. It didn't disturb my sleep but that may be a case of good timing and/or good luck.

One last thing, we were in a set of rooms separate from the main Inn, high speed wireless Internet was available but the signal was a bit on the low side. OK for checking e-mail, a bit spotty for use with a web-cam.

Overall, I'd be happy to return to the Gananoque Inn for our next dinner with the same group.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olde_biL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2009

Background: My girlfriend and I (in our 20’s) were looking to get away for a few days during the Christmas break. We came across the website for the Gananoque Inn via a travel Ontario site. We checked out the reviews on Trip Advisor and figured this would be a good place to stay for 3 days/2 nights. We used the Gananoque Inn’s website to book our room. We went with two different packages because there was a special on the dinner package for the one night. The package for the second night included a bottle of sparkling wine along with the dinner.

The Inn: The Gananoque Inn is a very nice Inn. It is located right beside the river. The main lobby was nicely decorated for Christmas when we were there. There is a spa if you want to book a massage or whatnot. We did not use the spa. There are two restaurants. Only the main restaurant is open during the off-season. It is a pub style restaurant. The food was great! Our package included dinner, which was a full dinner with soft drinks, appetizers, main course and desert. They make sure you don’t leave hungry! Be sure to make reservations though.

The Room: We booked room #114. Our room was right at the water in a 6 unit building. Our room had a slight view (because of the angle of the window) of the river. It had a king size bed and a very nice Jacuzzi tub in the room. If we go back I’d book room #115, an end unit, which had two windows, one directly looking over the river. This room, however, had two double beds. All rooms in “Waterfront” building looked amazing! With these rooms you get prime parking (regular parking is another few metres across the street).

Off-Season: If you are looking to go in the off-season, like we did, look for package specials, I feel like we got an excellent deal for the two nights with dinner. There is not as much to do there in the off-season, but that was ok with us. There is shopping in the downtown area, which is a 5min walk from the Inn. You can also drive along the Parkway and stop along the way to enjoy some scenic points. Other than that, there is not much else to do in the immediate area. Kingston and Brockville are near-by as well as the US.

Overall: Nice Inn with great Jacuzzi rooms, tasty pub restaurant and an excellent location. The employees were very accommodating. Thanks to the receptionists and especially to the bartender/host/receptionist guy. So, if you are looking for a lazy slow-paced romantic winter getaway, why not try the Gananoque Inn?!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_em1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2008

We have just returned from the Gananoque Inn. This is our sixth visit and possibly our last. A group of friends have been meeting at the Inn in late November for several years. The location is convenient and quite central for people from Toronto, Ottawa and Montreal to meet up. We were on the overnight package which included dinner and breakfast. In past years we were impressed with the service and atmosphere. Dinner was a gastronomic experience, and the dining room often employed a pianist. Breakfast was an elegant buffet with lots of choices and plenty of food. Perhaps because of the looming recession, this hotel was less than half full. The dinner was disappointing to many, and though it is included in the package, the dining room provides inflated invoices to influence the gratuities to the wait staff. The breakfast was a choice of four simple breakfasts with tea or coffee. Even juice was supplementary. Given our expectations based on past experiences, this year was a disappointment.

  • Liked — location, historic building
  • Disliked — Poorer value than in past years
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank MrsSweetPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2008

My husband and I spent a weekend at the inn for our first anniversary. Our accommodations were a small 1 bedroom cottage detached from the main building.

We enjoyed everything about this little get-away. The food was wonderful, the town quaint and everything within walking distance of the inn. We purchased a package that included our meals, a play at the local theatre and the 1000 Islands boat cruise.

We enjoyed the fact that we could walk everywhere, had private accommodations and love the friendliness of the locals at both the inn and the nearby pub.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, scenic and comfortable.
  • Disliked — Service was somewhat slow at the dining room, but we weren't in any hurry.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToGetAway-TOGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

As the header states - we experienced an uneven stay at the Gananoque Inn. Check-in was brusque and rude - the person on the desk (Sally) was unfriendly, unhelpful, disinterested. We were later told she was new - but she should not be working on the front desk ( creating first impressions) without further training. The Inn itself is beautiful, clean and well located. We enjoyed the restaurant very much and the couples massage was above average. However - and this is a big however - this weekend was a wedding gift and our room on the 2nd floor was located right beside the restaurant exhaust fan. Our room smelled like grease and bacon cooking the whole time we were there and the air conditioner did not work. We were told ( by the rude concierge) that there were no other rooms to move to ..... but there were several at a higher standard we learned later. Quite frankly, our room should have been the last to be given out, and certainly was not very nice under the circumstances. We could have gone any weekend - and wished we had been advised that the only room available for our wedding present weekend was directly in front of the exhaust fan! Even with the gift certificate, it was quite pricey - and we would have booked another time. This was brought up and ignored twice .... if I was the Innkeeper I would not have allowed this. Our impression? Lovely but very poorly run in some areas. We were promised a follow up call or e-mail the next day and have heard nothing.

  • Liked — The dinig room and spa
  • Disliked — Check in and check out
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DeborahToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2008

Quaint lake side Inn in superb location. We stayed in a Waterfront room with a Jacuzzi bath and great view over lake. We ate in the on site pub twice which was good and should have had dinner in the fine dining restaurant but instead chose the Lobster Trap in downtown Gananoque….. big mistake it is a plastic place selling rubber food!!!!
On the Saturday we stayed in the Inn there was a wedding being held there which in any other place would be irritating, but in the Gananoque Inn it just added to the charm

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dss321ku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
1.0 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
1.0 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#6 of 11 in Gananoque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gananoque Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gananoque Inn and Spa

Property: The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Address: 550 Stone St S | Ontario, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gananoque Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the St. Lawrence River, the Gananoque Inn & Spa occupies the original the Gananoque Carriage Works factory. Converted to a hotel in 1896, the historic and charming Inn provides two river front restaurants, private docking, waterfront accommodation, and fireplace and Jacuzzi suites. The Inn is the perfect location from which to explore the 1000 Islands, the nearby UNESCO designated Rideau Canal and Kingston Fortifications. Golf, fishing, island tours, kayaking, cycling, summer theatre and shopping are just a few of the nearby activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your The Gananoque Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gananoque Hotel Gananoque
Gananoque Bed Breakfast
The Gananoque Inn And Spa Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing