We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed review for the Gananoque Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gananoque Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A mixed review for the Gananoque Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

As the header states - we experienced an uneven stay at the Gananoque Inn. Check-in was brusque and rude - the person on the desk (Sally) was unfriendly, unhelpful, disinterested. We were later told she was new - but she should not be working on the front desk ( creating first impressions) without further training. The Inn itself is beautiful, clean and well located. We enjoyed the restaurant very much and the couples massage was above average. However - and this is a big however - this weekend was a wedding gift and our room on the 2nd floor was located right beside the restaurant exhaust fan. Our room smelled like grease and bacon cooking the whole time we were there and the air conditioner did not work. We were told ( by the rude concierge) that there were no other rooms to move to ..... but there were several at a higher standard we learned later. Quite frankly, our room should have been the last to be given out, and certainly was not very nice under the circumstances. We could have gone any weekend - and wished we had been advised that the only room available for our wedding present weekend was directly in front of the exhaust fan! Even with the gift certificate, it was quite pricey - and we would have booked another time. This was brought up and ignored twice .... if I was the Innkeeper I would not have allowed this. Our impression? Lovely but very poorly run in some areas. We were promised a follow up call or e-mail the next day and have heard nothing.

  • Liked — The dinig room and spa
  • Disliked — Check in and check out
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DeborahToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    167
    51
    23
    10
See reviews for
87
266
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2008

Quaint lake side Inn in superb location. We stayed in a Waterfront room with a Jacuzzi bath and great view over lake. We ate in the on site pub twice which was good and should have had dinner in the fine dining restaurant but instead chose the Lobster Trap in downtown Gananoque….. big mistake it is a plastic place selling rubber food!!!!
On the Saturday we stayed in the Inn there was a wedding being held there which in any other place would be irritating, but in the Gananoque Inn it just added to the charm

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dss321ku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2008

Beautiful spot. Right by the water. Restaurant serves up good meals.Rooms are quaint in the main building. I would go again!

  • Liked — Location by the water
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jewel_leaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2008

We stayed on a 2 night package for the second time this winter this past weekend. We were lucky to be able to book the Honeymoon Suite and what a lovely room this is in the main Inn. The view from the balcony was beautiful-I can only imagine what it's like in the summer! Dinner and breakfast were delicious, but it's the atmoshere of the Inn that transports you the minute you walk in the door. Relaxing and romantic with a fabulous spa, and staff from the front desk to dining room are friendly and helpful. We've already planned our third trip for the year in May, but don't be afraid to take advantage of this gem during the winter.

  • Liked — river view, room size and comfort
  • Disliked — bathroom could have been a little bigger
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank family1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2008

I have stayed one night at this hotel and I loved absolutely everything except breakfast. The building itself is very beautiful, receptionist was friendly and checked us in within 5 minutes, all corridors and rooms are very clean and warm, there was a fireplace and an air cinditioner in our room, as well, as a very nice bed, a shower and even the floor in the bathroom was warm. Carpets and walls were exceptionally clean, I will definitely stay there again. Also, it is half way to Montreal, a very nice place to sleep. During breakfast they served some fruits, that were not fresh, there was even som mold on them. But the rest of food was very good, tables are very clean. I really loved this place and I recommend it to everyone else

  • Liked — Place is very clean, Staff is friendly, Very beautiful building and nice view of the lake.
  • Disliked — Old fruits for breakfast. Closed on Christmas :-(
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jakenekrassov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2007

This is abeautiful little sleepy hollow. The Inn was clean, staff were heoful and freindly, and the breakfast was good. This is a beautiful little spot to stay in if you are travelling between Montreal and Toronto. The rooms were clean as well. Would definately recommend

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank bren_farrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2007

I must confess – we only stayed at the Gananoque Inn because they had the only available room in town. And we weren’t too happy about being on the third floor, with no balcony, and a view of the street. Other rooms had balconies, and we were immediately jealous as the ground floor rooms were more accessible, and much more appealing. But after a friendly check inn (fresh cookies!) we tossed our bags in the room and sat by the water – where the view was lovely. Small boats were pulling inn, as larger vessels were taking tourists out on tours. On the ground there were a series of motel-like rooms, with guests milling about happily on the lawn. Our room was small, but it had plenty of lovely touches. Plush robes, complimentary water, and high quality soaps. But best of all were the beds. Oh my God – the most comfortable beds ever. So insanely comfortable that my friend and I sat up at night and talked about how comfortable we were. In the morning we were reluctant to get up – choosing our fabulous beds over the fabulous sunny day. But we did get up, just in time for the buffet breakfast, which was fresh, plentiful, and enjoyed on their lovely patio. I would highly recommend this inn, and it’s excellent restaurant. But for maximum enjoyment – choose your room wisely – and have a great sleep.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Frontseatdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
1.0 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
1.0 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#5 of 11 in Gananoque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gananoque Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gananoque Inn and Spa

Property: The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Address: 550 Stone St S | Ontario, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gananoque Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the St. Lawrence River, the Gananoque Inn & Spa occupies the original the Gananoque Carriage Works factory. Converted to a hotel in 1896, the historic and charming Inn provides two river front restaurants, private docking, waterfront accommodation, and fireplace and Jacuzzi suites. The Inn is the perfect location from which to explore the 1000 Islands, the nearby UNESCO designated Rideau Canal and Kingston Fortifications. Golf, fishing, island tours, kayaking, cycling, summer theatre and shopping are just a few of the nearby activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Gananoque Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gananoque Hotel Gananoque
Gananoque Bed Breakfast
The Gananoque Inn And Spa Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing