We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for a night for a quick visit a few weeks ago. The Inn has been around a long time, and has a bit of a rustic feel. The reception was efficient and very friendly, and the rooms were a good size. We stayed a Saturday night, and were warned that there could be some noise because of that. However, we didn't hear any sound at all from the celebration, so the sound-proofing was quite good. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom and good size with everything you could ask for.

Two tips:
- The Inn is located within walking distance to central Gananoque, right on the water. This is convenient in many ways, but also maybe doesn't give the most relaxing experience as some other hotels that are a little more remote.
- There are 2 restaurants on the property, a bar and a nicer restaurant. We ate at both; they were good, but one thing to note is that the menu is the same for both, at lunch and dinner. So it's probably best to only eat once on the property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TNEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you discovered and enjoyed our Gananoque and historic inn.
We do indeed have one menu with a wide variety of offerings. Many guests choose lighter fare at lunch and enjoy our larger main course items in the evening. There is also Chef Ryan delicious nightly table d'hôte selection to sample.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    170
    51
    24
    10
See reviews for
90
271
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed here on a trip to Quebec. The hotel was clean and the room was extremely large. The price was a little high, but it was a huge room with a couch, sink and flat screen TV. The bathroom was a little small but it did the job. The view was great and the breakfast was really good too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary_Francois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your room and water view. There is always something interesting to watch from the dock. The current pricing reflects the fact that we are still in high season and the only waterfront accommodation in Gananoque. Off season the rates change considerably!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We chose the Gananoque Inn & Spa to celebrate our 2 year wedding anniversary. We absolutely loved our stay and felt we had the BEST room at the entire inn (Room 108 which boasted 2 large windows literally overlooking the gorgeous river!). Spacious, clean and cozy with quality amenities and toiletries. The Jacuzzi was amazing! Our bed was very comfortable (soft yet firm) with a generous amount of pillows. The landscaping was perfect and the gardens were overflowing with beautiful blossoms everywhere. This wonderful inn provides ample Muskoka chairs along the private waterfont to sit back and enjoy the serene and calming ambiance of the St. Lawrence River, including a pair right outside your room. Dinner and dessert were a true delight and breakfast was fresh, flavourful and delicious! We were very fortunate to have fantastic weather during our stay so we ate outdoors both times on the deck with a perfect view of the water. I also enjoyed the Spa where I received the Classic Eminence Facial featuring luxury organic skin care products from Hungary. My skin was soft and glowing afterwards and I felt invigorated. We cannot wait to return to The Gananoque Inn and Spa!

Room Tip: Room 108 offers the most incredible view of the St. Lawrence River and lots of sunlight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Such a positive endorsement and beautiful pictures too!!! We are glad you enjoyed your anniversary visit and hope that you might return to Gananoque on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrea, Quebec
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My bf and i discovered this Inn when we had lunch there a few months ago and decided to book a one night on the waterfront portion of the Inn.

We had room 107 which is quite close to the water - with great adirondack chairs on the porch. You can also walk right down to the dock (which is very close) and spend the afternoon in chairs just watching the action on the water. We had beautiful weather so it was perfect and this is basically what we did the whole time.

This place is very laid back and you are pretty free to roam around and the grounds and the water view are ABSOLUTELY beautiful.

It was truly a joy to relax at this Inn as it is calming, romantic and wonderful.

Some things to note.

This Inn is not what I consider a "typical" inn. The rooms, at least the waterfront portion, are a cross between an inn room and a hotel room. The rooms are large, very, very clean and comfy, but you WILL NOT find antiques, wing back chairs and "cutesy". These rooms are more practical. I admit this was a tad disappointing to me. The bathrooms are small but functional.

We also had a dinner for two included (we took the package) and that was taken at their main restaurant which was lovely as they have a patio right by the water. The service was perfect (Lauren) our waitress had knowledge and answered our questions and was very, very nice. The kitchen seemed a bit overwhelmed so it took a while to get our meal, but it was worth it as the food was excellent and the view gorgeous.

The downsides? - there are a lot of children at this Inn as they offer rooms that sleep 4 and you can even rent a house for your family on the premises so there were a lot of kids around (for those who are looking for a more adult place - this may not be it in the summer months.

Additionally, the price is a bit much. I priced quite a lot of inns and B&B and this one was quite expensive for what it offered.

However, I have to reiterate that the place was great and we considered it relaxing, despite the kids running around, and to be honest, what makes this Inn stick out from many others is the scenery and its proximity to the water.

I think if I had to make any suggestions to management: focus on giving the Inn (including the lobby) a more "homey" touch and consider lowering the price a tad.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the water if possible (we had room 107). Bring a camera (not the one on yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nitestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you had the opportunity to enjoy our waterfront location. Antiques do not stand up to luggage bumps and beverage spills in guest rooms.
We have reserved our collection of earlier era furniture for our public spaces including the dining room and lobby. Our returning guests often comment on the welcoming ambiance of our lobby with its fireplace, comfortable couch and leather chairs. Off season means fewer families and lower prices however August is our high season and our pricing reflects this. The same wonderful service is available year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

When we booked this inn over a month ago, I got an email letting me know a wedding would be happening during our stay, and there might be some noise on the Saturday night. That was just the beginning of the great service here. They gave us a charming room in the Annex with a view of the St. Lawrence, Adirondack chairs and a table on the balcony outside our room, and the pleasure of flower boxes overflowing everywhere. The room was clean and comfortable. We barely heard the wedding revelry.
Breakfast outside was hearty, and again, the view was terrific. The staff is friendly and attentive. The location couldn't be better. We stayed two nights and were sorry to leave!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to post such lovely comments. Our gardener, among others, will be so pleased to see that their efforts are appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Toronto Area
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband surprised me with a one night stay 1000 Island Playhouse Package which included room, dinner, breakfast and 2 Playhouse Theatre tickets. Loved the waterfront room with the Adirondack chairs both outside the room and on the dock lining the property. From waters edge you can watch the tour boats come and go. If you have your own boat, you can dock at the property for your stay or just to pop in for a meal. The room was spacious and kept very clean.
The location was perfect as the Playhouse Theatre was a five minute walk from the Gananoque Inn and town jut a walk across the bridge located directly next to the Inn.
My husband and I were not overly thrilled with our dinner (pickerel meal and Neptune platter) and found them quite bland expecting far better quality for such a nice place to stay. Breakfast was good.
We would definitely stay at this location again but would not get the dinner package and leave our options open.
Tip for visitors coming by boat from the U.S. - Border Services checks the area on a regular basis to ensure that the boats drivers have notified them of their arrival.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms #108 and 115 are end units and have an extra window with a waterfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winddancer367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you took advantage of our wonderful waterfront location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Place is very clean, service is awesome , staff are very friendly, very nice historical building, breakfast is excellent, very nice panoramic view, great for people who like to take photos, it's our second time in it, we will always come back.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Med F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We especially like that you mentioned our wonderful staff and all their efforts to make the inn so welcoming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1.0 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
6.7 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
0.9 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#5 of 11 in Gananoque
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gananoque Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gananoque Inn and Spa

Property: The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Address: 550 Stone St S | Ontario, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gananoque Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the St. Lawrence River, the Gananoque Inn & Spa occupies the original the Gananoque Carriage Works factory. Converted to a hotel in 1896, the historic and charming Inn provides two river front restaurants, private docking, waterfront accommodation, and fireplace and Jacuzzi suites. The Inn is the perfect location from which to explore the 1000 Islands, the nearby UNESCO designated Rideau Canal and Kingston Fortifications. Golf, fishing, island tours, kayaking, cycling, summer theatre and shopping are just a few of the nearby activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your The Gananoque Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gananoque Hotel Gananoque
Gananoque Bed Breakfast
The Gananoque Inn And Spa Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing