We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, old fashioned charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This inn was a lovely place to stay in a Gananoque, The room was very comfortable and clean (it was the last room left on a Saturday afternoon ... lucky us!). Our visit was on a windy day in October so we could not take advantage of the nicely groomed grounds and the outdoor terrace. The service in the restaurant was a bit slow (only 1 waitress for the whole section), however, we only went for drinks late in the afternoon so it wasn't an issue for us. The buffet breakfast included in the price of our room was wonderful with an excellent selection of food, lots of variety and homemade goodies. Great service that morning. The registration desk personnel was so helpful and patient in answering our many questions. It was an easy walk into the village for some shopping, just minutes from the entry to the boat tours, and a nice walk along the waterfront park. We were very happy with our stay and would recommend this inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the waterfront side; some rooms on the 2nd floor overlook the roof of the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeDeeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

We very much appreciate that you took time to post your review. We hope you will return to Gananoque in the future to enjoy even more of what our small town has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 528 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

A charming 19th century but updated inn in a beautiful town in southern Ontario. The surroundings are gracious, the service attentive, the food wonderful and the inn itself is a perfect example of comfort. We could not have chosen a better place to stay. If possible I would return every few months just to be treated so well. One of the nicest places we have encountered in our travels.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms with fireplaces on the third floor best - spacious and nice and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review! We are delighted that you and your family found us during your travels and appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts. This means a great deal to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was shocked to see no elevators in such a place with 3 floors. You had to drag your own luggage up the long stairs to your floor. There was no such info on their website about that.
We got a king room with a balcony, but the sliding door didn't even slide and kept coming off the track when we wanted to go outside. Very annoying that was. I cursed that thing so many times. World's smallest bathroom I ever had in a hotel that wants $187 a night. Staff offered no info upon check-in that would help us with any area places. We had to go get in line to ask for that kind of stuff. They advertise a casino pkg for guests, well we had to go ask for that too. Staff did nothing to make us feel as welcome as they advertise. The room was so dark, the light bulbs are 40 watt and only 2 in the whole area, so we couldn't even read a book. We had to go to the lobby to do that where it was cold by the front door. The room had no windows to open for a bit of fresh air ... you had to either leave the balcony door open which left you no privacy cause other people could walk on your balcony OR you had no air movement what-so-ever. The fireplace kept coming on by itself when it was already too warm in there or it wouldn't come on at all when we wanted it to. No insturctions on operating that were anywhere in the room. No drinking glasses anywhere, we had to go to the bar and ask for some. There was a green ticket in our room to fill out for your preferred time for the housekeeping to come - in the morning, so we chose 12:00 to 1:00 since we knew we would sleeping later the next morning. We handed the paper into the front desk as it stated we should. The next morning we left our room with private stuff all over the place knowing we could go have breakfast and be back and shower before the maids came - but NOPE they came while we were at breakfast just like we said not to. So of course we were pretty angry and embarrassed at that. Breakfast buffet was OK but nothing better than a Golden Griddle kind of one ... nothing stayed hot enough to enjoy it properly and there was only 3 hot items to choose. Overall, I was pretty disappointed with this entire stay for the high cost they charge in October. I will not be returning there ever again. For the kind of money we paid, we should have gotten a huge beautiful suite, not a small bedroom barely big enough for 2 people.

Room Tip: If you dont like stairs, dont go here. It's all you do is go up and down alot of stairs. Everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WMcLennan535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

I'm sorry that the charms of our historic inn, which please so many, were not to your taste. Half of our 53 rooms are at ground level while the room you selected was on the second floor. We happily provide assistance with luggage anywhere on the property. We also cheerfully attend to any room deficiencies such as the troublesome patio door. The room you chose - a favorite of many of our returning guests - had a fireplace, a king bed and a private waterfront balcony. We do, however, have a selection of room prices to suit every budget should something less expensive be requested.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The best location in the town, an easy walk to the boat trips and to the town centre. Our room 506 only had a view of the units in front it didn't have a view of the lake. We could hear showers and (spa) baths being used in the rooms next to and above us. The room itself was clean with the biggest towels of our trip - large enough to wrap around, there were so many towels that it was difficult to know where to put them to get them dry!
We appreciated the free wi-fi and we were very grateful for the umbrella in the room. Breakfast was good and the service pleasant.
The carpets throughout looked as though they need deep cleaning or replacing.
We didn't have a problem with insects.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AEGReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Classic old hotel, with modern amenities, located right on the water looking out on the Thousand Islands. Ask for a Waterfront Room if you want to be able to walk out your door and be right on the water, with a great view. Easy parking. Pleasant and efficient staff. Moderate price for such a great spot and fine hotel. Spacious room. Soft robes. Fine food at the restaurant, both dinner and breakfast. And you can walk a few steps to the boat tours of the islands.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms are separate from the hotel, at ground level, spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EagleEyeBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are fortunate to have a wonderful location and great staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you are looking for a nice 2-3 day getaway, the Gananoque Inn is a great choice. It is within walking distance of the Thousand Islands theatre which is right on the St. Lawrence River and the show we saw was first rate. We paid $35 per ticket which was well worth it. It is also a short walk to the Gananoque Cruise Lines where you can take a 1 hour, 2.5 hour or 5 hour cruise. The cruise for one hour was $20. I have to say the best part of the trip was the breakfast at the Inn. Eggs Benny were perfect. The room was pricey ($239) but we had a waterfront room with breakfast included.

Room Tip: Go for the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Parbogiepar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay over the Labour Day weekend. Although I have never before written a review on trip advisor, I felt that it was important to acknowledge all of the hard working staff at the Gananoque Inn! From the moment we arrived, everyone could not have been more helpful, from arranging theatre tickets to organizing bagged lunches for a restricted diet, and much more. A special shout out to Lucy and Debbie at the reception desk for their patience and understanding! Their willingness to accomodate all requests was appreciated so much. I watched both of them handle everyone at the front desk, on an extremely busy holiday weekend, with the same good nature and patience no matter the issue.

We had a lovely, spotlessly clean, comfortable room in the Annex and would definitely request it on a return visit (hopefully to see the Fall colours in October). We ate almost all of our meals, breakfast, lunch and dinner, at the Inn and found the food to be delicious and the views from the patio or sitting inside by the window just spectacular.

Thanks again and we look forward to a return visit soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scotincan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you for your review. Our staff members were delight to hear that their dedication to this historic inn is appreciated. We so glad you enjoyed your time with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
6.8 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gananoque Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gananoque Inn and Spa

Address: 550 Stone St S | Ontario, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range: $83 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gananoque Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the St. Lawrence River, the Gananoque Inn & Spa occupies the original the Gananoque Carriage Works factory. Converted to a hotel in 1896, the historic and charming Inn provides two river front restaurants, private docking, waterfront accommodation, and fireplace and Jacuzzi suites. The Inn is the perfect location from which to explore the 1000 Islands, the nearby UNESCO designated Rideau Canal and Kingston Fortifications. Golf, fishing, island tours, kayaking, cycling, summer theatre and shopping are just a few of the nearby activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Gananoque Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gananoque Hotel Gananoque
Gananoque Bed Breakfast
The Gananoque Inn And Spa Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing