We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stop for lunch between Toronto & Montreal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect stop for lunch between Toronto & Montreal”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Last weekend, we drove to Montreal with two couples and we picked this restaurant as our lunch stop. It wouldn't be a better day with perfect sunny sky and nice blue water when we arrived. We picked the outside patio as there were a couple of flies in the air-conditioned dining room (which was perfectly normal in the summer..)

The lunch menu was very reasonable with sandwiches below $10 while full lunch plates were below $20. Portion was big and food was very tasty... Waitress was friendly... One caution though, the table top was shinning and it could be very bright if you didn't have sun glasses. My friend had to put the napkin on the table to avoid the sunny table.

I strongly recommend their restaurant and will try their Inn next time..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourist_TO_Cdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    172
    52
    26
    10
See reviews for
91
276
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We recently spent a weekend at the Inn with 2 other couples to celebrate my sister inlaw's 65th birthday.
We checked in Saturday and checked out Monday morning. Staff at the front desk were nice but too Slow and doddering. We ate at the Inn Saturday evening and had both breakfasts there over the course of the weekend. The breakfasts were just ok (how wrong can you get bacon, eggs, toast?), however the service was lousy, you had to go looking for it (you might want to preorder your second cup of coffee). As for the dinner, everyone had a complaint about their meal (fish too bland, meat too tough, etc. Etc.)

I'll give the location an A+ though, if you want to be close to the water and cruise lines.

I think it's tine for new ownership.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for commenting on our location and I do hope you had an opportunity to enjoyed our gardens and riverfront dock. I think, however, that our wonderful Front Desk Staff will be rightfully offended by the term "doddering"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I rarely write reviews because most of our stays are average. But this past week was extraordinary. We arrived on Sunday to meet my Son and his family who were staying in a cottage about 5 miles away. The desk staff were efficient and courteous. The room which was across the parking lot was spotless. We knew when we booked the room that we would have a "parking lot" view. But it was no problem. Even with cars coming and going we could not hear them in the room. The property is beautiful and impeccably maintained. Breakfast was included and albeit the food took awhile to come out each selection was good. We ate dinner there 3 times and the food was good. The only problem we had was that the main restaurant is by reservation and not knowing when we would return to the inn we had to eat at the pub restaurant. The menu is the same but they told us that they share the same kitchen with the main restaurant and that it takes precedent in food prep. One thing I really appreciated is they told you when you came in how long the wait would be and they sat you at your table and took you drink order right away. So we knew going in how long it would be and we were not standing around waiting for a table as is the case in so many restaurants. Also. it never took as long as they said it would. We had my 10 month old grandson with us and wasn't sure we should wait as he was hungry. The waitress said she could bring a cheese and cracker plate out right away so he could get something to eat. Overall this is an establishment that everybody seems to be on the same page when it comes to customer care. We had our boat with us and the dock space was ample and well protected. We will stay there again if the opportunity arises. . .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Our hard working staff members appreciate such positive feedback!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gananoque, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We recently relocated to Gananoque (Military Family). We arrived earlier than anticipated and found ourselves looking for accommodation in Gananoque. A suggested Inn was the Gananoque Inn by a small business in the town. Well we went to the Inn and they a few rooms available, so we stayed the price was very reasonable the room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. The ladies at the Front Desk were extremely busy but very friendly and accommodating there wasn't a question that we asked that we could not get an answer to, great customer service. With our little one and crib on route they even had a small playpen sent to our room, that is top notch. With crying baby in-tow we decided to have something to eat in the Restaurant. Great food great atmosphere the staff again very accommodating and friendly, our breakfast the same, being by the water was so delightful and calming, the grounds at the Inn are breathtaking a lot of care is taken into consideration with it being such a well established place. I am sure our family will enjoy this small town it is quaint, quiet and we will visit the Inn again at some point for another lovely meal. Thank you so much for the great service and hospitality !!

Room Tip: Ask for Waterfront they are the best spot you are right at the water edge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for commenting on your stay. Best of luck with your posting to this area and I hope you will continue to enjoy the charms of Gananoque!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Gananoque Inn and Spa. We chose this hotel based on it's proximity to the water, and also the reviews on tripadvisor. The hotel overall is ok. It's quaint and the location is fantastic. Unfortunately, the customer service was lacking. When we arrived, there were two women working at the front desk and they were both on long phone calls. We would have been happy to wait, but the fact that neither of them acknowledged us at all for 10-15 minutes was irritating.

Our room was on the third floor, which meant carrying our bags up the stairs because there is no elevator. I don't mind walking up and down stairs, but it would have been nice if they offered to help us with our bags, especially because I am 6 months pregnant.

After we dropped off our bags, we decided to have an appetizer and a drink on the patio. This was probably the worst service we encountered on the whole trip. Our server seemed like she was having a bad day, and once our food and drinks came out, she didn't come back to check on us again. After we finished eating, we waited for a long time before deciding to walk in and find her. She was nowhere to be seen and another server had to go track her down. When we finally found her, she looked at us like we were complete strangers. Awful.

Our package included breakfast, and this was a positive experience at the hotel. Our service at breakfast was actually very good, and the food itself was enjoyable.

The rooms were small, but clean and comfortable. The air conditioning unit in the window was loud but it didn't bother us, and it kept the room very cool. The housekeeping staff was very efficient, although they left a note asking for gratuities which seemed rather tacky. We ordered the movie and popcorn deal, and the front desk was very short with us, instructing us to wait a few minutes and come pick it up ourselves. FYI, the popcorn was a bag of microwave popcorn.

Overall, this hotel was average. The location is the best in Gananoque, but there are lots of little details overlooked. If they had better customer service, we would likely return, but based on the experience we had we probably will not.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Having stayed at -- and loved -- the Gananoque Inn in years past, we were quite looking forward to our night here. Upon arrival and check in, we were asked if we would need help getting our bags to our room, which was a queen room in the main inn, on the 3rd floor. We did want some assistance, given the multitude of stairs. At this point, the front desk staff reconsidered, and we were offered an "upgrade" to a queen jacuzzi room in the Annex, with a "garden view". Mistakenly, we accepted the "upgrade", believing it would be an improvement. Seems it was actually the staff trying to avoid helping carry bags.

We were reassured that we would be able to roll suitcases down the "few small half-steps" to our room. In fact, there were several steps, including at least one full-sized step. Okay, fine, we're young and fit and strong, and got our stuff to the room without too much trouble. But already, we felt like the Inn didn't care too much about our initial impressions.

And then, we went to our room door. First of all, bugs, cobwebs, dirt and grot were all over the front of the motel-room style entryway. Then we were hit with the musty smell of our room. The front desk had warned us it might be a bit warm, and to turn on the window a/c unit to eradicate the heat. Yeah, we did. Unfortunately, this didn't alleviate the mustiness, or the stuffiness. In the time were were here, nothing dried out, and our clothes and belongings acquired the smell.

Our room was small, and dominated by the jacuzzi. No room for a sitting chair or sofa, and the small desk had to function as a bedside table as well. Clean enough, but the jacuzzi was scarred and showing its age. The bathroom was easily the worst part of this room. Small, awkwardly laid out, with cheap fixtures, it was more suited to a roadside motel at $60 a night than an "Ontario's Finest Inn" at $165+ a night. Noise from the room above was substantial. Because of the location of the room we had to keep the blinds closed tightly the whole time we were in the room. We did like having robes in the room, and the bed was fairly comfortable. We had nowhere to hang used towels or robes, however.

The on-site restaurant serving the free breakfast that is included in a stay was disappointing when we ate dinner there, but we had hopes for breakfast. Sadly, service was slow and unfriendly, the food was mediocre and poorly cooked (dirty eggs, undercooked potatoes, etc), and the coffee and tea embarrassingly bad for an inn of any calibre -- not to mention we had to actively flag down a server to get even one refill. At this point we could hardly wait to check out.

And we did have to wait to check out -- because only one person was working front desk, and they had to tend to guests wanting to change rooms, guests wanting taxis, guests wanting ice, and us guests looking to escape. Interestingly, when I finally got to check out, I was NOT asked about the quality of my stay. Likely a sign that staff know this place is in a downward spiral. Not one of Ontario's finest inns, and not really fine at all. Showing its age in rooms, general grounds (porch boards rotting off the patio of the restaurant, filthy and flaking siding, dirty windows, etc), and attitudes, it's not worth the price or the disappointment.

Room Tip: Do not book into the Annex! Question any upgrade offers to be sure they're really upgrades! And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank McMarshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel has great potential to be a 5 star rating but still has a long way to go. The location is amazing, right on the waterfront, 5 minute walk to either the boat line tours or the playhouse. The hotel itself is beauitiful in many ways, I do enjoy the rustic style charm, and the gardens are gorgeous. However where it needs improvements. The service is very subpar, on our first night we tried to order dessert from room service, the front desk said they were too busy and to call back in 15 minutes, really? For the next 30 minutes we called at least 3 times and front desk did not even answer the phone. Finally we tried calling the restaurant itself, and again they mentioned how busy they were and might not be able to handle such a difficult task of bringing up dessert, at least the person on the phone this time didn't want to completely ignore us and said would do her best to make it happen. overall from start to finish I believe it took over an hour for a very subpar apple crumble. I wouldn't even expect that kind of guest service from rundown motels let alone a hotel that likes to masquarade is a high class one (even after we complained about it on a comment card, nothing was done or mentioned). If the complaints stopped there again my rating would be higher. It sounded like it was at the restaurant, but there was a live rock band playing under our room until 11pm, this is not the type of Inn you would expect that from. I don't know if no men have ever stayed in the room we had before, but you could not go to the bathroom without holding the seat up with one hand while you went. Also the quality of food at the restaurant was not what I was expecting, and the server was average at best. If this inn truly wants to be one of Ontario's Finest Inn's, it needs to learn some service tips from Niagara's vintage Inns like Pillar and Post and the Prince of Wales.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JayMc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1.0 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
6.7 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
0.9 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#6 of 11 in Gananoque
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gananoque Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gananoque Inn and Spa

Property: The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Address: 550 Stone St S | Ontario, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gananoque Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the St. Lawrence River, the Gananoque Inn & Spa occupies the original the Gananoque Carriage Works factory. Converted to a hotel in 1896, the historic and charming Inn provides two river front restaurants, private docking, waterfront accommodation, and fireplace and Jacuzzi suites. The Inn is the perfect location from which to explore the 1000 Islands, the nearby UNESCO designated Rideau Canal and Kingston Fortifications. Golf, fishing, island tours, kayaking, cycling, summer theatre and shopping are just a few of the nearby activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Gananoque Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gananoque Hotel Gananoque
Gananoque Bed Breakfast
The Gananoque Inn And Spa Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing