We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to relax”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gananoque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horseblock Point Cottages
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We were interested in taking a tour of the 1000 Islands but found the hotels in the area rather pricey. We wanted a room by the water and happened to come across the horseblock point website. Thought we would give it a try since the price was right...and it exceeded our expectations. We booked cottage #1, which overlooked the lake. The cottage has a deck that is by the water- a great place to have dinner and a glass of wine. The calm peaceful atmosphere was just what the doctor ordered. There is a bar b q near the cottage that is available for use and a small kitchenette in the cottage., so we didn't have to worry about eating out. We went a few years ago so I'm not sure if there are any changes, but we were told to bring drinking water because the water that was piped into the cottages was not filtered. It was perfectly fine to bathe in. There is no a/c but there were fans that cooled us down. Steve and Jayne (our hosts ) were very kind and helpful. We enjoyed everything about this getaway, including the 1000 Islands boat tour. Would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank elyoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

We no longer pump our water out of the St Lawrence River. In 2011 we drilled a new well and replaced all the water lines. Other changes include wifi internet in some cottages (expanding to all soon), kayak rentals and a brand new cottage (#5).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2011

We were looking for a simple retreat after dropping our daughter off at University and found The Horseblock Point cottages on the internet while loking for accompodations in the the 1000 Islands area. Most of the area hotels were already booked so we inquired about the cottages and put a down payment on it about 2 weeks before our retreat.

Not knowing what to expect, we arrived just before dark on Sunday. We met Andrew, our host, in the laneway and he showed us to our humble little cottage (we rented cottage #6). Andrew showed us around a bit and left us on our own.

Although we did not stay too much at the cottages, what we saw there was fantastic. The view of the water from the cottages reminded us of God's ability to create beauty. We sat on the rocks for a bit and took it all in. Unfortuanatley, our plan was to tour the Islands and area so the cottages was a simple place to lay our heads and recharge. We were gone for most of the three days sight seeing.

The cottages are well kept, clean and affordable. Andrew allowed us to look inside of some of the other cottages before we left and shared some of his visions for the property. we highly recommend Horseblock Point Cottages. We plan to return some time just to relax at the cottages.

Joe and Cathy

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Great quiet getaway. Cottage nicely decorated, cozy with a breath taking view. Sit on your front porch and watch a spectacular sun set each night. The host Jayne and Steve are very friendly and more than accommodating. Steve runs a fishing charter. My husband was interested in going fishing but my two girls and I only wanted a tour of the 1000 Islands. Steve took my husband out fishing early one morning and returned later that after noon and took us all out for a private tour. We spent the afternoon site seeing even stopping for snacks and a swim at one of the many private coves.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank freedom2005_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Great place quiet and very peaceful. Will stay again, close to several attractions. It was great to sit on the deck and just enjoy the view and listen to the waves. Our cottage(#1) was very romantic, and had the best view of the water.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank sherylstom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Das Cottage 5 ist moderner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1.0 mi away
Glen House Resort
Glen House Resort
#2 of 2 in Ivy Lea
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
4.8 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 10 in Gananoque
525 reviews
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Gananoque
Travelodge Gananoque
#4 of 10 in Gananoque
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseblock Point Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseblock Point Cottages

Address: 355 1000 Islands Parkway, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1K8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Gananoque
Price Range: $35 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 8 cottages ranging in size and uniqueness. You will find that we offer a unique combination of a cozy and quaint setting while providing cottages that subtly allow you to enjoy modern comforts. We have a boat launch ramp as well as covered and uncovered slips available. Private, guided fishing tours or scenic tours are also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Horseblock Point Cottages Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing