We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Thousand Island Cruise Experience”

Gananoque Boat Line
Ranked #1 of 9 Tours in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Offering 1000 Islands cruises to your tastes: Boldt Castle stopover cruises, 2.5 hour cruises the shipwrecks of the 1000 Islands (this is also the most comprehensive cruise in the 1000 Islands), 1-hour nature cruises and 1-hour icon cruises. We don't stop there! If you prefer the magic of the 1000 Islands at night, we have evening cruises such as murder mystery dinner cruises, wine and cocktail tasting cruises and music cruises!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Pender Island, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A Thousand Island Cruise Experience”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

With family members, we took a first time 1 hour cruise of the thousand islands. Coupled with the sunny weather, it was a very comfortable and relaxing affair. The commentary provided gave us a flavour of the area history, local stories and antidotes, and views of the picturesque islands as well as seeing the many exquisite and modest vacation places. It was great outing and next time we will take the longer 5 hour cruise.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LCplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    388
    74
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A Thousand Islands, gorgeous”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful day, sun shining, crisp air and spectacular scenery. Islands dot this scenic section of the St. Lawrence river, and atop the tiniest islands, holiday homes dot the landscape. Everything from a rustic shed to a castle. The commentary on the boat was a bit tedious- they carried it out with several languages. Not the fault of the company that the punters were such an international blend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank farpavilions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prince edward county, ontario
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Definitely take the Boldt Castle tour”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

First time taking a 1000 Island Tour- it was good but the highlight for us was the Boldt Castle stop over. The property was amazing and we fell in love with the beautiful setting. It was nice to get some history on the area but I probably wouldn't take just a regular tour...maybe next time I will try a dinner cruise or something.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank countygirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great Excursion”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was our second trip to 1000 Islands which we shared with some younger friends. It's a great wayspend 2-3 hours. The weather was kind to us which meant we had a perfect view of all the islands we passed and if you keep your eyes open four or five Osprey nests which were being used. The running commentary on the islands, including the one man made island is worth listening too as is the description of the dates and placements of earlier wrecks. There is plenty of room to move about and you can stand in the bow, however watch out when the boat is moving swiftly or you will end up with wet feet, all good fun. My only criticism is that we had a late afternoon trip and when we returned the giftshop was closed, not great timing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank phil52_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cruising on the St lawrence”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Well worth the time for a leisurely afternoon - only took the one hour cruise but to tell the truth - that is a great start for cruising. Very peaceful way to kick back and enjoy the moving view without having to drive a car!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gananoque Boat Line also viewed

 

Been to Gananoque Boat Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing